We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for before/after the jungle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Manaus Ecoresort to your Saves list
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for before/after the jungle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights before we went to the amazon jungle. It was a huge hotel with ton of rooms. The hotel has a small zoo in the back. That was kind of cool. The hotel surrounding didn't really have much and we only stayed in at night. It was about a 30 min taxi ride to get to downtown.

The room itself was ok, nothing special with two twin beds. The bathroom was huge with both shower and bath tub.

There were a lot of tour groups when we were there. The place was packed. We did enjoy the pool and it was relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Gabriel L,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve the quality of our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    583
    319
    112
    86
See reviews for
433
371
110
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aracaju, SE
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a great example of how maintenance can make something good for a long time. We are talking about a almost 40 year-old hotel. Built inside the forest and close to the city. Big hotel, big bedrooms with long (and a I mean it, long!!!) halls to walk to get to your room. From reception to my room we had to walk almost 200 meters, but through very beautiful hallways and stairs with wood handrails as pretty as new ones. Breakfast should be better with some more innovations, but fair enough. Will return for sure.

Room Tip: My room began its number with 35, so far form reception. Try another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Dear Mr. GULIVER2000,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve the quality of our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Tropical Hotel seems popular for tour groups from the States: we saw bass fisherman galore, and the place is convenient to the Tucano (which is popular for multi-day trips up the Rio Negro). And it has a small zoo, where one can actually see some peccaries, capybara, a jaguar and an ocelot. All these are hard to see in the dense Amazon. But the front desk was ultra-slow. Registration is laborious. Check out is laborious. My wife and I have been on all the continents and these guys take the cake. I would almost advise arriving a day early in order to check in, and to schedule a late departure to manage the check out. Also, pray you do not have airline problems requiring a call to Orbitz. The front desk charges close to $10 per minute, and since Orbitz is slow, it is easily $200 in phone bills for them to tell you to do your best out at the airport. The hotel is in a nice area of town along the river, near a nice beach, but there is a location problem in that it is isolated from any shopping. So when American Airlines does not get your luggage to you in time for the Tucano cruise, you have to rely on the small shopping arcade, which had no underwear, and a limited selection of most anything else in popular sizes (at least for the ladies), and what was available was pricey. In keeping with the pricey concept, the souvenir shlock in the arcade is about 2-1/2 times the price downtown, let alone outside Manaus. And the coffee at the restaurant tasted like Nescafe, not brewed Brazilian. The bass fishermen I spoke with at the hotel thought it very slow too, but they generally liked the fishing, as we did the Tucano.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Mr. aikido4d,

We thank you for your comments and are very sorry for any inconveniences. We highlight that our guest’s observations allow us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures, and due to your comments we have reinforced training in the Reception area.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I’ve always thought it was a shame that being a Brazilian citizen I had never been to this amazing part of my country, a place full of legends, that inspires fascination and curiosity on people from many parts of the world.
My husband and I decided to spend the New Year’s holiday in Manaus and explore it the best we could, considering we had only a few days.
We chose to stay at this traditional hotel, one of the most famous in Brazil.
Tropical Hotel is a touristic complex that offers many facilities.
It is located inside a nice park, surrounded by the luxuriant tropical vegetation, by the side of the River Negro, one of the two rivers that contribute to the formation of the legendary Amazon River.
The Hotel offers three restaurants, where the guests can try many dishes of the local gastronomy; two swimming pools, a spa, a mini shopping full of stores where tourists can buy typical objects of the region, local art, jewels made of Brazilian stones (there are two jewlery shops at the lobby); a night club; a bar; a mini zoo presenting animals and birds typical of the region, not to mention a harbour from which one can take boat trips as well as flights by hydroplane.
The staff is friendly, ready to help with suggestions and tips for the guests to get the best of their stay.
Breakfast is very good, offering a good variety of products, such as local fruit and typical dishes.
Check in and check out could be made more quickly.
I suggest visitors not to judge the hotel for the state of the elevators, that are not in their best appearance. The hotel would certainly benefit from a renewal.
The rooms are spacious and confortable. We’ve stayed in a noble suite that was very nice, but I assure it is not necessary to take one of these to have a nice stay.
As the hotel is a bit far from the city center, one can dispose of taxis and tourist buses to go to the city.
The hotel is very close to a charming neighborhood, called Ponta Negra, with nice residential buildings facing the beach of the River Negro, with nice places from which to explore the beautiful view. It is also possible to swim in this river beach.
There are other options, such as more modern hotels, located in the city and some famous hotels in the jungle, where the king and queen of Sweden have already stayed.
It will depend on the style and temperament of the tourists.

Room Tip: the hotel has only three floors and very long corridors. If you don't like to walk long distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Mrs. Celestefaisk,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve the quality of our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Tropical before going on a cruise on the Rio Negro. At the door the hotel posts five stars. That might apply to the impressive physical plant, but the service is sorely lacking. A hotel that claims status as an international resort needs staff that speak a variety of languages, especially when the local language is a relatively little-used one like Portuguese. Once we left the front desk, English was impossible.

The tap water in Manaus--and at the Tropical-- is not drinkable. We have been all over the world and when the water has to be avoided, even ordinary hotels provide bottled water at no charge. Not the Tropical. Want to brush your teeth? That'll be $2.50 US for 350 ml of water from the mini-bar, thank you very much.

We have never stayed at a hotel anywhere that charged departing guests a fee for storing luggage while they took a tour or cruise. At the Tropical, it was $4.00 US a bag.

When my wife told a desk clerk "This is no five-star hotel" another guest standing nearby volunteered, "That's for sure."

At breakfast and lunch buffets, cards identifying the foods were either in Portuguese only or had translations that were so odd that they were useless. No one in the food service area except the lobby bartender spoke English, or at least we didn't find anyone.

The building and the facilities are extensive and handsome, if a little run down. The location is wonderful for a resort, although inconvenient for sightseeing in town. But the level of service and guest relations is so mediocre that even the rating of three out of five is unenthusiastic on our part.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Mr. nedrow,

We thank you for your comments and are very sorry for any inconveniences. We highlight that our guest’s observations allow us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I was more than a little disappointed in my recent stay at this hotel. Only one night was enough. Lacking in cleanliness, impersonal staff, old and damaged furniture, poor lighting, horrible workout, algae in the pool and whole hotel had an overall musty odor. Other than that....

This fits my definition of tourist trap.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Ken H,

We thank you for your comments and are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We highlight that our guests observations allows us to improve our positive aspects and to correct our operational failures.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We know that we can not erase the negative perception occurred, and we can only thank your kindness to allow us to present our considerations and reinforce our apologies.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Tropical has an air of nostalgia and glamour that it is still there. The rooms we got were spacious and antique in a nice kind of way, breakfast was very good, infrastructure very large with nice swimming pools. The hotel is clearly making an effort to return to its past glories but there are still management issues to address - reception is very burocratic and lacks supervision, it took us a lot of time to check in - and some of services are not well taken care of (e.g. the towel boot in the very nice swimming pool did not always had towels to provide to guests!!). The price is excellent for what the hotel offers and overall I believe it is still the best option in Manaus for those visiting the forest, fishing or simply getting to know the city. With some investment in infrastructure and management shake up it could turn up to be a star hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room that have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa D, Guest Relations Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Dear Mr(s). Southtraveller_12,

We thank you very much for your comments. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients so we can constantly improve the quality of our services.

The Tropical Manaus Ecoresort is considered touristic patrimony of the Amazonas State. Built in colonial style and inserted in the forest, it counts with rustic decoration made of Jacarandá wood. The hot and humid climate of the rainforest imposes special care, and our Hotel is in a process of gradual restauration of its installations. This process occurs in a slow speed so that our guests do not feel disturbed.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon in your next visit to Manaus.

Kind regards,
Antonio Maglione
General Manager
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Address: Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manaus
#4 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.