We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavernous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Manaus Ecoresort to your Saves list
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Cavernous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Huge "spooky" Hotel had seen better days. Surrounded by a deserted shopping plaza and featuring a small "Zoo",the Hotel was not bad as our room was spotless and comfortable and the breakfast buffet had a good choice. Dinner in the featureless dining room was edible but dull. A good choice if you are leaving on a cruise from the Hotel Jetty and would like to leave some luggage while you are away. Desk staff were helpful but waiters in the Restaurant rather surly and slow. On reflection we probably could have made a better choice and stayed centrally in Manaus .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    582
    319
    112
    86
See reviews for
432
371
110
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Perhaps the grand dame, but faded glory. giant hotel with many empty unused ballrooms and meeting areas. Carpets dusty, new wing lacks atmosphere. Halls are endlessly long as hotel is huge. Hoards of tourists for breakfast and in lobby for tours. room big barny. Bathrooms quite good. Just fine for stopover but look elsewhere if you are staying in Manaus for more than one night. Needs some captal investment to upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'm not sure I can say enough bad things about this hotel. I booked what was supposed to be a kuxury Brazil vacation which included two nights at the Tropical - one before the Amazon cruise (don't miss the wonderful Iberostar Grand Amazon!) - and one after. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left - we were assaulted by one problem after another. Despite a request for king rooms, we were placed in rooms with two beds. A protracted conversation at the front desk with a clerk who barely spoke English and kept pushing the original room keys at me yielded a room with a king - in the old, unremodeled section of the hotel. The furniture, the floors, the bedding, the TV, NOTHING was on par with the purported five stars. I have stayed at Ramada Inns in the US which were far superior to this place. Even the shampoo comes in a little plastic bag - no bottle. Our second encounter, despire repeated assurances from the front desk manager that we would be placed in proper rooms, yielded exactly the same result. Old, unremodeled rooms, terrible conditions, and no improvement. We were finally moved to a remodeled room after furiously complaining, only to find that the ongoing construction in the hotel meant jakhammer noises all day.

This hotel could be an absolute palace - with its ornate woodwork, "mini zoo," wonderful (but OH so dirty - see picture) pool, and incredible architecture. Instead, it looks more like the Bates motel. Do yourself a real favor and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerpinnes
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We ended up there as a night of transition between our stay in Pantanal and our stay at a lodge in Amazonia. I can see why the agency put us there as it makes logistical sense but an unpleasant stay anyway.
Our room was at the end of the world. The long old corridors leading to it were a mixture of 1900 palace, 1920 hospital and soviet style hotel.
The room itself was good enough with all the required comfort, yet it was unpleasant, hard to say why.
We had no problem with english speaking staff.
We went for the evening buffet that was OK but the restaurant looks and feels like a factory canteen. And we lost all the calories hiking it back to the room from the restaurant (a few miles away).
Actually I see no reason why anybody would choose to stay there.
It's in an area that's to become the beach area for Manaus but there's nothing there now but a few high rise buildings, looks promising for the future :((
Strange experience. Although we can't really fault the hotel, we hated it.

Room Tip: ask for one that's not miles away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Room was very musty smelling, overpriced and it was a huge walk to the room from the front desk. There was limited English speaking staff.
Certainly not 5 star- 3 star at the most. Staff were friendly. Breakfast is ordinary, just continental, and I couldn't even buy a bottle of water. Its disgusting about the zoo, it's just cruel. Nice Foyer and entrance, maybe a renovation could help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you value your life - do not stay here. The place smelt terrible & the food was inedible. This hotel is a 5 star yet I had to wear flip flops in the shower because of the thick mold growing around the bath tub. I saw a ghost upstairs as well. I didn't catch her name, but she wasn't human.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Back to Manaus, Amazonas (Brazil), while attempting to compensate for the ugly experience at Go Inn Manaus two years ago, this time we spent two nights on a noble suite at the notorious Tropical Manaus Resort.

Not far from the city airport, the first thing you will notice is the fixed fare taxis will charge you whenever the ride departs or arrives from/to either the airport or the Tropical Resort: a magical R$ 58 (yes, so that a R$ 2 tip rounds it up to R$ 60 and makes cash payment easier…). The same ride on the taximeter would cost much less, but that is not an option. Some will make it for R$ 50 if you ask, though. There use to be no extra charge for the luggage. I just do not recommend, when leaving the resort, walking to the Ponta Negra shore and hailing a taxi from there in order to avoid the exorbitant fixed fare – you might wait too long to get one.

The resort looked clean, beautiful and huge. Long, long corridor wings take you to the rooms, and you might feel disoriented at first finding your way to your room/suite and to other facilities.
Upon check-in, the front desk seemed courteous, albeit somewhat bored. Oh, and one thing is very common in Manaus in general: whenever you are first in line, take the initiative, or you might well be ignored. They arranged us an advance check-in as we arrived at about noon, two hours before the regular 2:00pm check-in time. Quick instructions about the door cards and we were on our way to our suite on the first (ground) floor. Avoid the elevator (lift), unless you really need it – let the bellhop take care of your luggage. The only elevator we could find was the ugliest and dirtiest thing we have ever seen in a hotel.

The suite matched our expectations: large, uncarpeted (a must in humid and hot cities like Manaus), decently decorated, comprising a living room (and toilet), a bedroom, a spacious closet and a bathroom. Just make sure you stay in one of the newly reformed wings – apparently, rooms in the traditional wing are still carpeted, and that you open the windows/balcony doors for an hour or two, leaving the air-conditioning on.

A quick check inside the mini-bar and, for our surprise, it had only bottled water and no beverages. Next to it, we found a minimal assortment of chocolates and snacks too. At first, we thought they had forgotten to replenish it, since a price card comprised a whole lot of extra and very pricey stuff, and we definitely did not want to be charged for what we have not consumed. A call to the front desk confirmed that water was all there was supposed to be inside the fridge… My advice, then, is to go to a convenience store at another hotel nearby called Park Suites – a four or five-minute walk from the Tropical main entrance. When you leave the resort, take your left and you will already spot a tall hotel building really close. It might be hot outside, but the effort is worthwhile. You can buy large bottles of water and many other refreshment drinks at much lower prices. Just do not leave them inside the fridge during housekeeping, even though we opted-out from housekeeping due to our short stay.

The safety box inside the closet, in turn, was not electronic and seemed tight (ok for a small notebook and that’s it). You have to ask the front desk for its key for an R$ 7 daily charge. So do that upon check-in (remember, take the initiative, or staff boredom will prevail and they will not mention a word about the safety box).

As for the included breakfast, hats off to the main restaurant buffet. Breakfast had several regional tastes and drinks, especially my favorite cupuaçu juice (pronounced “coo-poo-a-soo”). Give it a try on the tapioca cake too and avoid the açaí cream in general. We cannot say about the grill restaurant next to one of the pools.

Talking about the pools, the main one was under reform. We had a great time at the second pool, the one with cascades, where we ordered a couple of drinks, ice creams and appetizers. It is ok to find some tree leaves and small insects at the pool water. Just relax. From time to time, they turn on artificial waves, for the fun of the kids.

Regarding the tour agency located inside the resort, called FonTur, I would suggest you research other options and compare tour prices and conditions. We cannot say whether they provide a good service or not, but Google-up one called Amazon Explorers, for comparison. They charge a bit less and can pick you up at Tropical.

The resort also carries a mini-zoo, which is worth visiting, and a mini shopping center. Leave the souvenir shopping to somewhere else or, for last minute shopping, to the airport, and you will save extra bucks.

Maybe because of the low season, we could not find entertainment activities or events inside the resort, even though they were being publicized. At one night, the entertainment staff announced a card-playing event at the billiards room, but no one showed up. Entertainment and sports events at the pool were also nil.

Wrapping things up, our experience at Tropical Manaus Resort was positive, for our main purpose of getting to know one of the most recognized symbols of Manaus. I recommend it if you are visiting Manaus for the first time. For returning visits, a hotel closer to the city center (except Go Inn) or in the neighborhood of Adrianópolis might be a better choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in one of the newly reformed wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Address: Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manaus
#4 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.