We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant ... of another era.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Manaus Ecoresort to your Saves list
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil (Ponta Negra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Manaus
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Elegant ... of another era.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a hotel from the era of the grand railway hotels.....elegant in its day but suffers from lack of maintenance. The rack rates are staggering but rates through an on line travel site make a stay worthwhile and a must really.

The breakfast buffet is good and the general ambience of the hotel is very relaxing. The rooms are comfortable, the bars welcoming and the restaurants varied. The outstanding aspect of the hotel is the quiet environment of the grounds....this is a very relaxing hotel. Many tours are available at the concierge. We took the day boat trip to the 'meeting of the waters' where the two major rivers making up the Amazon join. The hotel is situated on the bank of the Amazon and tours leave from the dock at the hotel.

A note however.......the hotel is a distance from the city centre so unless you have friends in Manaus with vehicles like we did, be prepared to either rent a car or pay taxi fares. Having said that if you have previously been to Manaus and visited the cities sights you may just want to stay on the hotel grounds and enjoy the ambience. This hotel is indeed one of the cities sights

This hotel is an experience rather than a place to stay for a couple of nights. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Book through a travel agent or on line travel site
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    666
    369
    129
    98
See reviews for
502
412
133
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel:
Built to nestle against the surrounding landscape rather than to stick out, the hotel has only three floors and, consequently, very long corridors. There is only one tiny little elevator to get you up, and no elevator to get you down. It comes with its own small zoo and a boat landing plus a water plane hangar.
Facilities:
There are signs pointing to the pool and to the beauty parlor but when you get to the end of a corridor, there often is no further information. That doesn't really matter though, since both have been " under repair" (viz: closed) for quite a while. Would have been helpful to mention that in the information folder sitting on the desk in your room. They do have a " water plaza" however, where one can play water polo and volleyball. There is a nice array of shops (pricey), including a pharmacy.
Restaurants:
Was it not for the Karu restaurant (open for dinner, only) the verdict here would be a " terrible". The Tucano coffee shop (breakfast and lunch) has all the charm of a late Soviet era fast food place. The seats are worn and torn with the upholstery cracked open in many places. Service was abysmal. When we arrived for breakfast (until 10, weekends 10:30) at 9 AM half the tables were empty however, not even one of those empty tables had been cleaned (same situation the following day). It took quite a while to get somebody to set a table for us. Also, although there were coffee stations at both ends of the room, on the one side there was coffee, but no cups while at the opposite end there were cups, but no coffee (that's why in Soviet times sinners would prefer the communist hell over the capitalist hell - while the " menu" in both was the same, the communist hell would regularly run out of coal, tridents, furnaces, etc.). Breakfast itself was mediocre, certainly not what you would expect in a 5-star...
Dinner we had at the Karu, where the staff was really nice and the food was great. Staff in all other restaurants was inattentive and lazy. This holds true especially for the pool bar (where two staff were busy to read the horoscopes in the local newspaper) and in the lobby bar, where the art of not looking at customers has been taken to a new level (just as in the good old USSR).
Room
Not easy to find because when you step out of the tiny little elevator you find yourself right in the coffee shop with no signs pointing to the rooms. Many a guest rides down to the reception area again. If you have rooms in the 3001 - 3075 wing, the access to those is professionally camouflaged, meaning that the tables and chairs in that area block access so efficiently that you cannot pull your carry-on through as there is absolutely no corridor - so most people just miss it and get lost. The room itself was surprisingly spacious with a large bed and excellent cushions. It had river view (nice). A single cockroach in the bathroom should not come as a surprise that close to the jungle.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The hotel has a great layout and a pretty cool location. Its just a little neglected.

The rooms were average, but clean. The furnishings were sparse and dated. Bathroom was clean with a great shower.

The big pool and outdoor area were very nice. The zoo was amazing considering it is part of a hotel.

Breakfast was excellent. The bar was good but understaffed. The service was average.

A lot of reviewers complain about the distance to the rooms - yes, its a little hike, but it was not burdensome. Part of the allure of the hotel is the long, almost creepy looking, hallways.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGRTHM, General Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Mr. Tim,



Thanks for posting at TripAdvisor.com regarding the Tropical Hotel Manaus.



It´s a pleasure to had you as a guest and to know that you have liked our services, in special to our main pool, Praça das Aguas, the Zoo, and our breakfast. As for the average service of our staff we apologize, it´s not our standard to serve our guests that way. Regarding the rooms, we are already remodeling some of our apartments and social areas.



We appreciate your commentary, our guest´s opinions are very important to us.



Yours Truly,



TROPICAL HOTEL MANAUS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Front desk personel spoke such poor English, it made it difficult to find out anything or get any travel info. about Manaus. This looked like a hotel out of a horror movie-- it is gigantic, old & broken down, with never-ending hallways and I guarantee the carpet in our room has not been shampooed since the day they opened, who knows how many decades ago. The extra blanket for the bed looked like a giant dead rat and obviously also hasn't been cleaned probably ever and it stunk! There was no clock, and the room had such low light I could barely see what was in my suitcase-- but I still did see the colony of small ants attacking the food I had on the counter. And I still could make out all the rust on top of the mini-fridge. The air conditioning was freezing cold, with no way to adjust it. The maids were spotty leaving towels, kleenex, etc. The beds were low and uncomfortable. The hotel didn't have a fitness center, but said we could use the fitness center at the hotel down the road for a fee. We tried this and the other hotel wouldn't let us-- how could the front desk staff not know that? It was advertised they had stables and archery, etc. Archery was just on Thursdays for one hour. There were no stables to be found. I'm assuming the rusty bike rack hidden in the brush, with 2 crooked bikes from the 1960s was the big "bike rental" facility. When we requested an iron, they said the hotel did not have one we could use-- but they had a "great laundry service". I bet, and for goodness knows how much per article. At the pool bar, I requested a coke, which they gave me, but had no ice that day and no change for the US $10.00 I tried to pay with. At the lobby bar, they double-charged us for a drink, and it took ages to get it straightened out with the non-English-speaking staff at the bar who also had very slow, unfriendly service. I have read the other reviews where the management explains about all the refurbishing and carpet-replacing under way, but we had a very large business group there and not one person had clean carpeting, or was happy with this place. We saw no evidence of updates. One couple tried to get a late check-out since their plane wasn't departing until later in the evening and the management was giving them a hard time! If the management really is undertaking to make guests happy, that was the very least they could have done. This hotel is worse than any Motel 6 and they charge Ritz Carlton prices.

Room Tip: Put on your hiking shoes! The rooms are far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We recently stayed three nights here. We chose this hotel as an option of our Amazon River Cruise package. In that sense, the location cannot be beat. The boat crew picked us up in the lobby and the hotel staff was very accommodating, allowing us to check out a few hours late in order to meet the crew without having to wait without a room. 1/2-day stays are available at this hotel for oddly timed flights (many flights from Manaus to Sao Paulo or Rio leave about midnight).

The zoo was a wonderful unexpected surprise. They offer 3 zoo tours a week, one of which we happened to stumble into, complete with a guide who carried Feliz the Sloth with her the whole time. The zoo allows you to see many of the animals up close, which on the boat tours, you may only see from a distance, across the river, or up high in trees (monkeys, sloths, capybaras, parrots, macaws, a jaguar, and a few others).

The restaurant and bar service was very good, outstanding service across the board. The shopping center in the back is a nice touch as well. A little pricier than basic souvenir shops but you're paying for the convenience. Taxi to/from the airport takes about 20 minutes with no traffic and as of May costs 58 Brazilian reais (about $35).

The construction and design of the hotel is charming, lots of woodwork and old style personality. But like other reviewers have stated, the rooms could use some updating; in particular the mattresses, bedding and linens. We've attached a photo of our mattress to this review, the horrible condition of which we only discovered by accident. The hotel management would probably make huge strides forward with improved reviews by directing its attention toward the replacement of all mattresses and bedding at the earliest opportunity.

Other reviews have focused on mold smells or loud air conditioning, but this hotel is literally situated in the middle of a jungle environment, so potential guests would be wise to manage their expectations and remember this isn't the Strip in Las Vegas.

If the hotel is the focus of your trip as a resort, we would consider other options. However, for location and convenience in conjunction with an Amazon River tour, we would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing or w/out carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in April, with time to relax and experiece the facilities, and really it is not as bad as some unfortunate reviewers' experiences would lead you to believe.
The jungle location is hard to beat, at Punta Negra the "posh" suburb of Manaus with a riverside promenade and beach nearby (currently being refurbished). Walk through the foresyted gardens toi the pier at sunset, it's magnificent.
There is a running track (a bit scruffy), and several tennis and volley ball courts.The hotel is a typical 80s style Brazilian resort hotel, popular with Brazilian families, especially at weekends and bank holidays (we were there over easter). The outdoor pool is clean and pleasant, with lifeguard and ambiental music, though the bar service is slow. If it is sunny, you can enjoy a relaxing couple of hours here. The minizoo is fine - the animals and birds have large cages, though the jaguar looks a bit lonely, There's a selection of shops and the main restaurant is perfectly acceptable, with a good barbecue buffet when they are busy, The breakfast buffet is quite good.There are some good shops and a cybercafe.
The building sprawls oiver a large area it is true, being just 3 storeys high and built in a kind of ranch style, using plenty of beautiful tropical hardwood - that wouldn't be allowed nowadays. There are carpets on the corridors to mitigate the sound of wheelie luggage and the insect repellent smells not terribly pleasant. There are 2 ATMs but these are not always working, especially at night.
Maybe the reviewers who come down hard on the rooms stayed in "standard" accommodation on the ground floor. You'd be better off avoiding these rooms, it is worth paying for the "superior" and "deluxe" rooms most of which have been refurbished. There was no carpet in our (superior) rooms, instead the original beautiful original wooden floor had been exposed. The room was large, clean, bright and not smelly but yes the a/c is cold: you can turn it off.
Apparently the hotel is being gradually refurbished with new beds, bathrooms etc.
The service at reception is good but elsewhere can be rather slow - this is the Brazilian Amazon!
There is a modern plate glass tower hotel the Park Suites, next door but it doesn't have the same slightly dated but more characterful atmosphere. Take your choice...

Room Tip: Book superior/deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloiseNg, E-Commerce Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Dear Mr. Rumpel48,



We appreciate the commentary posted on TripAdvisor.com.

It ´s an honor to have achieved your expectations during your trip to the Amazon, and for staying at the Tropical Manaus.

We are running with a retrofit in the rooms along it bathrooms and changing the furniture to modernizing our product without losing it classical and tropical atmosphere. Our zoo is managed by the hotel and according to our biologist the jaguars have a period that can be mixed, but according to it natures they live apart.

Again thanks for the compliments to the Tropical Manaus, the opinion of our guests is very important.

Yours Truly,

Tropical Manaus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed at the Tropical Manaus only for 1 night, because our flight arrived late in Manaus and we continued our journey to the Amazonas the next morning.
I can only confirm all the other bad reviews. Unfortunately we had not seen them before we stayed at this place. This hotel obviously has not been looked after for decades, it is really run down. Our room was far away from the reception and ice cold when we entered it. There were two small beds and only one warm blanket. Even though we turned off the AC immediately, we were freezing the whole night. The lining had holes in it, so you could see the old matresses through. The next morning the mirrors were all fogged up and the whole room was extremely clammy. We suppose they run the AC 24/7 in all rooms to avoid mould.
We should have complained straight away but we arrived at 1.30 in the morning and were just too tired.
The next morning we spoke to the reception and at least they seemed concerned and wanted to come back to us on our issues via Email. So far (10 days ago) we have not heard from them.
See our fotos for more detail...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloiseNg, E-Commerce Manager at Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs. Travelling 20102011,


Thanks for the rewiew posted at TripAdvisor.com regarding the Tropical Manaus.

First, we would like to apologize for the bad impression of our hotel. The Tropical Hotel Chain has been through a corporative restructuring that is already taking care of a retrofit at our hotel. We started the retrofit in the rooms, changing the carpet for special vinyl floor and within the next months we are going to exchange our rooms outfits and mattresses along the social areas.

Our Maintenance Department is already working into the engineer of our air conditioner systems, the mirrors were fogged up due to the wether in our region which is clammy the entire year.

We sincerely apologize for not reaching your expectations but our guests opinion is very important so we can improve the quality of our services.

Yours Truly,

Tropical Manaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Manaus Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manaus Ecoresort

Address: Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320 | Ponta Negra, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69037-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus > Ponta Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Manaus
#4 Family Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Manaus Ecoresort 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tropical Manaus, a luxury Brazil vacation eco-resort located in the gateway to the majestic Amazon rainforest. An unforgettable experience, Tropical Manaus offers state of the art technology and luxurious accommodations with the magnificence of the rainforest as a backdrop. Experience the exoticism of the Amazon Jungle while enjoying total comfort. Tropical Manaus offers a world class guest experience for hotels in Brazil by placing you right in the Amazon rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropical Manaus Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manaus Hotel Manaus
Manaus Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel Manaus
Hotel Tropical Manaus
Tropical Manaus Ecoresort AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Manaus Ecoresort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.