We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vitoria-regia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Ecologico Januari

Parque Ecologico Januari
Rio Negro / Rio Solimoes | Salidas Marina David / Manaus Moderna, Manaus, State of Amazonas, Brazil
9281824793
Improve this listing
Visit Parque Ecologico Januari like an insider
Top Rated
$117*
and up
Rio Negro Cruise from Manaus to the Amazon River
Ranked #18 of 110 things to do in Manaus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Canoeing, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to this 9000-acre park is an Amazon-like experience, with dry and flooded forests and lowlands, and numerous examples of giant water lilies measuring as much as seven feet in diameter.
Brasil
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Vitoria-regia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We took a private tour with Amazon Explorers. Very expensive, but safe and worth it. Meeting of the waters, Lake January, Native village, diving with BOTOS and lunch at Pousada Jacaré. We left from Tropical Hotel pier at 8 am sharp and returned at arround 4 pm. A long speed boat trip, with a local guide and the most extraordinary boatman - Sr. Bida. He took us through some amazing igarapés, turned off the engine so we could hear the forest! great. We didn´t dive - only looked at the Botos beeing fed. Saw some vitorias-regias. Took photos with the Tatuyos - indians and ate a very honest lunch. Had to wait at the restaurant for a tropical storm to pass before returning to Manaus but even that was a thrill. The boat did "flap" a lot. Only acept tours certified by EMBRATUR - help protect our environement. Do not go for the cheap non certified ones!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    48
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Bring repellent when you go to this place if you dont want to be bitten alive by mosquito. It is a stunning and beautiful. A bit dissapointed that I did not see many animals, only 1 sloth and couple of birds

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Lillies and monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited the lake during our Amazon River cruises, and whilst we were a little disappointed that we didn't see a greater variety of birds and animals, the highlight was a large family of Capuchin monkeys on the elevated board walk close to the lake where the lilies are found.
Visiting in January enables a better viewing experience that near the end of the rain season in June when much of this area is under water.
There is a covered area near where the boats dock selling what we found to be expensive tourist items.
There is also a large restaurant that on the occasions we were there was not open.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Giant Victorian Lilies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We hired a boat guide to take us to the Meeting of the Rivers & Janauari Ecological Park. It was about $75/each & lasted two hours led by a friendly, informative guide. We found him across from the market above the AJATO terminal. The group had name tags & seemed legit & not pushy. We really enjoyed the tour. I imagine it's quite different in the rainy season but at the end of the dry season there wasn't much water & the lilies were fairly small at about 5'. It's a short but hot walk from the river & there were lots of birds, spider monkeys, & a few caiman. Not to mention one of the biggest trees we've ever seen. When the water is high, I'm pretty sure you boat through. There's a nice restaurant with knick-knacks at the beginning of the village. We didn't eat the food but the people seemed friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

You leave Manaus port to the other side of the river. There you will find a floating restaurant, handcraft shop and walkway to the beautiful lake where you will find the Vitória Régia pant which floats on the still water. The view is stunning. On the way back, you go through the handcraft shop again and stop at the restaurant for lunch, which is normally included with the ride. Lots of food is served, it does taste really good, fish is great. You will go back home with great pictures and a very unique experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Ecologico Januari also viewed

 
Manaus, Amazon River
Manaus, Amazon River
 

Been to Parque Ecologico Januari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Ecologico Januari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.