We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Taj.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus to your Saves list
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Getulio Vargas, No 741 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020010, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
1 review
“My stay at the Taj.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Enjoyed my stay excellent location view from the revolving restaurant incredible breakfast good, the only let down was the loss of my two tickets that i was keeping as a reminder of attending the soccer world cup, they were removed i`m sure by the cleaner who might not have known they were already used. I discovered this when i got back to Canada.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    38
    20
    26
See reviews for
22
16
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boa Vista, RR
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a well-located hotel, but if you don't like old furniture and prefer cleaner/clearer rooms it might not be the right choice for you. It looks and feels old, and service was not good enough, even for my short stay. You can find better deals in Manaus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I didn't stay in the hotel, I only went to its restaurant, wich ia a rooftop rotating restaurant. The waiter was really nice and friendly, the food was the best I had in Manaus and the view is just breath taking. From there you can see the theatre, Rio Negeo and Rio Solimões

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

First of all , you do not need to be staying at the Taj Mahal to make reservation at the restaurant. I work on a cruise ship and we stopped for the night. I celebrated my birthday there and had a great time!
Food : excellent, international cuisine and local products… fish with Amazonian fruit sauce.. delicious.. Acai Ice cream…

Drinks: nice wine , caipirinhia … delicious cocktails

Service: we were a group and the waiters were excellent. thank you Roberto very a lovely evening.

1st the views: Amazing.. opera house, the ships, the bridge with changing color lighting .. really beautiful


Taxi from ship terminal 10 us $ or 15 BRL


Little Downside: not suitable for walking difficulties or wheel chair…. very steep narrow stair case to the last floor (14 )..

I recommand it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayenne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed there for 2 days during the recent New Year season and was overall disappointed. The rooms are quite spacious, nicely decorated and offer a splendid view of Manaus. The breakfast lounge however would do with some renovations (the breakfast itself is good, though) as well as the hotel halls and corridors. There's a pleasant revolving restaurant at the top of the hotel building and the food can be pleasant though maybe somewhat overpriced compared to similar restaurants in Manaus. A very pleasant and reliable hotel for a short stay if you wish to stay in central Manaus is the Lider. Also a new hotel, the Go Inn, recently opened and it is also conveniently situated near the Amazonas theatre. Also very close is a superb local cuisine restaurant with live local music entertainment called the Samauma. DG

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Friendly staff, but not 5 stars, in fact a long way below 5 star!! Had dinner in he revolving restaurant on the top floor, which resulted in a bad case of food poisoning for both of us...................so up all night running to the bathroom, not able to sample breakfast as feeling really bad in the morning. Only getting back to normal after 6 days!!! Nothing good to say as 6 days of my holiday have been badly effected by staying one night in this place. Beware!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATUZALEM P, Gerente geral at Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are in the process of updating and renovation. We hope to host you in our hotel with all the changes done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I must say that the hotel is really bad and it would deserve 2 stars on 5. It is old, noisy, it smells bad. The rooms are old and the bed too soft because of the springs.
Even the breakfast is just decent, the juices are not fresh.
I really would recommend to find another place, it doesn't worth the money it costs.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATUZALEM P, Gerente geral at Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are in the process of updating and renovation. We hope to host you in our hotel with all the changes done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus

Address: Av. Getulio Vargas, No 741 | Centro, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69020010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Continental Manaus
Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Hotel Manaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.