We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant I've ever been to!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banzeiro

Banzeiro
Street Libertador, 102 | Nossa Sra. Das Gracas, Manaus, State of Amazonas, Brazil
+55 92 3234-1621
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 943 Restaurants in Manaus
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant I've ever been to!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Wow...where to begin? The service is TOP NOTCH! You are treated like a Royal from the moment you enter this amazing establishment. We were referred to here by our Iguana tree climbing tours guys who would not stop talking about how amazing thus place was. I forgot what we ordered but it was the most amazing fish dish I've had my entire life!!! (And this is saying a lot because I eat a lot of exotic fish when I travel). The owner was a gent and talked us through the menu. I don't think anything on the menu was bad as we noticed the crowd in the restaurant seemed to truly enjoy their meals. You have to come here if you go to Manaus... the cab ride from our hotel (rei solomeu) was a bit long but oh em gee it was so worth it. You cant go to the famous amazon and not have fish!!! This place was very affordable (less than $40 per person and dessert was included). I cannot wait to go back to Manaus one day to visit this amazing restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    275
    50
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Manaus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent five full days in Manaus on either side of a jungle tour (which is more than most spend and more than necessary) and this was far-and-away our favorite meal. The service was superb: we accidentally arrived before the restaurant opened at 7 pm, but they let us in and seated us as soon as they could. Prompt but not rushed ordering, drink delivery, and food preparation. We had a brazil nut encrusted piracuru (fish) with banana and broccoli rice. It may sound simple, but it was *delicious* - one of the best meals I've ever had at a restaurant, and a particular delight in a town that is otherwise not very gastronomically noteworthy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I stay one week in manaus and tried diferents places for a good meal or dinner. Banzeiro is the place with good local food and great service, the menu in english help a lot, but the food was a great combination betwen fusion on local and international flavors. Definetly a place to visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Jule in Manaus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have visited several restaurants in Manaus over almost 5 years of going there on business. This has been "The Best" brazilian diner ever. Why. Well if you are in such a remote place like this one you want to experience different flavors, unique fish, only found in the Amazon river. Well you will find this here. The place is very nice and the service works. It is for sure not a Tourist place, so you will only find decent local people, from business men to families and couples.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A true Brazilian middle class experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Banzeiro on our last night in Manaos. It's the place the locals come to feel important and show off to their friends and business guests.

The service was good enough and they have a menu in English.

The food was nice too with a good combination of flavours and textures. We had a main course which was a dish for two.diners and shared a dessert. We also got a complimentary soup shot which was yummy and a nice touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banzeiro also viewed

 

Been to Banzeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banzeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.