We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth higher rating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krystal Hotel Manaus

Save Saved
You added Krystal Hotel Manaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Krystal Hotel Manaus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Barroso, 54, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69010-050, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
Gothenburg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth higher rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

It is a clean cosy hotel with exceptionally service-minded staff. The Amazonas Opera Theatre is at the end of the street: you see it from the entrance. The rooms are old-fashioned but comfortable and clean. Room with double bed was a small one, room with twin beds was the same price, but considerably bigger. A/C was loud, but there was no noise from the street despite many activities there. There was a well-functioning hair dryer, TV. However, there was no games-room, as we had found stated in some description of the hotel. Wi-fi functioned well.
Breakfast was neatly arranged and good: warm sausages, bread, butter, porridge, papaya, pine-apple and several other things.
The staff was very helpful. Ladies at the reception spoke English and helped us find restaurant serving the dish we wanted to taste, booked the table and ordered taxi. Taxi was actually waiting for us when we had to leave for the airport, which is quite unusual according to our Brazilian experience. When it appeared that taxi was too small for the 4 of us with our 4 big luggage pieces, it took just a couple minutes for the staff and the driver of the small car to arrange a bigger one.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
3
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Two friends and I stayed in this hotel for a couple days while visiting Manaus to attend a World Cup game. The hotel itself was acceptable, but management was horrible. We had reserved a room for two people because there was no option to reserve a room for three people when we booked online. When we arrived, we told them that there would be an extra person and asked if this would be a problem. They offered to give us a bigger room for some extra money, but we declined. Two days later the lady working at the desk (who I later learned is the owner's wife) told us that they were going to charge us an extra R$100 per night for the extra guest in our room and threatened to call the police if we didn't pay it immediately. We protested and said this was unfair but she went so far to pick up the phone to call the police. I finally gave her my credit card to avoid problems, but I let her know that I was unhappy. To me this was a pretty shameless attempt to shake down some "rich" American tourists during the World Cup. And I warned the other guests in the hotel that they would try to rip them off after telling them that it was okay to have an extra person in the room.

The worst, however, was yet to come. When we arrived back at our hotel that night, our room key no longer worked. The owner told us that he was kicking us out of the hotel for "causing problems." Yep, at 10pm at night he dumped us out on the street in a foreign city. He wouldn't even let us stay in the hotel to use the Internet to find a new place to stay. And since this was the World Cup, every hotel in the city was booked. We were terrified that we were going to have to spend the night one the street. We finally found an airbnb place to stay, but the whole experience was pretty terrifying.

In short, it looks to me like the owner of the hotel and his wife don't care if their guests are happy or even safe. Nor do they care about the reputation of the hotel. (I told the manager that I would describe this entire incident in a TripAdvisor review, and he said that he didn't care.) All they care about is getting as much money from their guests as possible. They will ambush you with exorbitant charges without warning, and if you complain, they will threaten to call the police or just throw you out on the street. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is centrally located, down the street from the theatre.
The street is buzzing with people on weekdays, Sunday is quiet.
Breakfast was very good, quantity & quality.
The cost was USD70/night for single.
They cancelled 2 nights of my stay w/o charge or fee when I arrived 2 days late.
Checked baggage service was helpful.
The hotel rooms unfortunately do not have a safe.
The staff spoke english as needed to help tourists such as me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Admittedly, we were just looking for an affordable hotel option as our flight arrived at midnight and we were in our room for a total of 7 hours before getting picked up for a van ride to a jungle lodge the next morning. On the plus side, there was breakfast provided and AC in the room, but everything else about the room was very small and old. This would not have been a comfortable stay if we had spent any longer in Manaus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krystal Hotel Manaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Hotel Manaus

Address: Rua Barroso, 54, Manaus, State of Amazonas 69010-050, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Hotel Manaus 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Krystal Hotel Manaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Hotel Manaus AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krystal Hotel Manaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.