We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful manager, Jessica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez les Rois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chez les Rois to your Saves list
Chez les Rois
Travessa dos Cristais, Quadra G, N0 1 | Conj. Manauense - Bairro Nossa Senhora Das Graças, Manaus, State of Amazonas, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Manaus
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful manager, Jessica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a charming hotel in a residential area in Manaus. Jessica was so helpful to us. She spoke English and paid attention to many details that helped make our stay so much better. She was flexible and accommodating about our arrival/departure times. The hotel seemed understaffed during the World Cup. I think they are not use to that many visitors. Nice pool area. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    48
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
40
21
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just returned from Brazil where I stayed at Chez Les Rois on a 2 night then 3 night trip (with a jungle stay inbetween) during the World Cup.

Firstly, I arranged the trip around 8 months in advance, price was agreed and card down to secure (not charged, just as a deposit). Around 2 weeks before check-in I received a mail suggesting they would now charge my card (which was fine) but the amount was the amount we agreed + an additional charge for 5 days x 2 people breakfast. I went back and highlighted a previous email (from the first communication) where they suggested breakfast is included to which they replied "Over the World Cup the manager now decided he wants to charge extra for breakfast" - only in Brazil!

Otherwise, apart from this I had an excellent stay at the hotel. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, a real credit to the place. They allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we visited the jungle, they also had a service to clean our clothes at a very reasonable price.

The rooms were fairly spacious (we stayed upstairs, I do not remember the room number) a double bed and a single, air conditioned (which you need in Manaus). Good shower, they were also cleaned every day.

Ended up having breakfast in the end, it was very good with fresh juices, fruit and freshly cooked eggs which is ideal in the Sun when you wake up.

The pool was small but big enough to relax in to get out of the hot Manaus sun. Due to the place not having too many rooms it was always pretty quiet.

With me being at the hotel over the time of the World Cup, I did not walk too far from the hotel to see the area (tended to get a taxi to the center or the stadium), however I did once and found a really good Churrascaria called Buffalo, worth checking out and only a 5 minute walk away

All in all, other than their change of mind on the agreed pricing...I had a really good stay at Chez Les Rois and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at Chez Le Rois for 5 days and 4 nights in room #3 with two beds at the top of the stairs. The room was large, simple, clean, and comfortable – especially for the price. The air conditioner kept the room cool (and too cold at times). The HD TV was large and suitable for watching World Cup matches, though it was a little difficult to operate without any instructions in English. However, the Chez Le Rois staff was happy to help us figure it out.

The staff was always very helpful and kind -- especially during the breakfast service. The breakfast is worth mentioning as it was probably the best that I have seen during my two stays in Brazil and they seemingly take a lot of pride in it. There are plenty of breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, and yogurt. But the staff will also ask you if you would like them to prepare eggs and fresh juices for you. And the breakfast area by the pool is very relaxing and a good place to meet and talk to other guests. Watch for the family of iguanas living in the nearby trees.

When I first arrived at Chez Le Rois, I was a little uncertain about the safety of the surrounding area, but we did a significant amount of walking in the area without any problems (…though it should be noted that as a pedestrian anywhere in Manaus you should take extra precautions with respect to the car traffic). The hotel also felt very secure with the security gate and full time monitoring by the staff. There are also some great restaurants, pubs (Jack’s Snooker Pub and House 22), and a samba room (Lappa) within a 7 block radius.

One problem we did encounter is that cab drivers did not know Chez Le Rois by name (not unusual in a city of 2 million people) and the taxi drivers had a great deal of difficulty identifying the exact location by the street address. When venturing out of the area and returning by cab, you should keep the names of the cross streets at the nearby intersection to provide the driver for your return trip.

Room Tip: Room #3 is a good room with 2 beds (a single and a double) at the top of the stairs -- though there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I recommend everyone who goes to Manaus to check out Chez Les Rois because it's an oasis from the heat and chaos of the jungle-city. You will find a tranquil place with a beautiful pool, excellent and kind staff, and accommodating quarters. I know in some reviews people have complained about the beds but if you tell the staff, they will work to solve any issues you may have because they want you to be comfortable and satisfied. The breakfast is excellent -- I loved it! I stayed for nearly 3 months and really felt at home. My advice: stop looking and just stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We loved the people, hospitality, help and guidance, extra meals and this was our first Brazilian experience . Thank you Mauro, Jessica and all friends there.
A few small changes to the rooms could make a big difference. However we had the best Internet and air con and fridge space of the whole trip!!!!
We loved it. Remember it's B&B, a pousada any future guests.
Love Norma and David from N Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The public areas were tired but acceptable and we thought that this would be ok for the one night before we set off for the Rainforest. However, the room was appalling. I'm no Alex Polizi but I like a bit more than a grubby, old, thin sheet between me and a thirty year old mattress. The pillows were stained and the curtains were rubber. My daughter described the room as Dexteresque.
After insisting further bottom sheets were added, we left to find a restaurant. Uncomfortable area for two women and felt uneasy. On return to the room one of the beds was now home to a parade of ants - we should have checked out but we were being collected early and it was too late to get hold of the agent who was collecting us. We slept with our towels over the pillows and as a bottom sheet!
The English speaking receptionist was dismissive although she did have the good grace to apologise for the ants! The night receptionist did her best but seemed completely baffled - our lack of a common language didn't help although we used google translator which was a real help.
The only redeeming feature was the breakfast which was available early and perfectly adaquate.

Room Tip: I saw alternative rooms which looked equally grim - ours was the biggest. Top of the stairs above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Simple, clean, comfortable with a smiling and helpful staff and great breakfast included in the price. They can organize a fixed price taxi Rs$ 60 in march 2014 airport pick up.
Tranquil area. Staff can help with tours if requested.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez les Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez les Rois

Address: Travessa dos Cristais, Quadra G, N0 1 | Conj. Manauense - Bairro Nossa Senhora Das Graças, Manaus, State of Amazonas, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Manaus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manaus
#13 Business Hotel in Manaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individual (SGL) - R$ 105,00 Duplo (DBL) - R$ 140,00 Triplo (TRL) - R$ 170,00 Quádruplo - R$ 195,00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Chez les Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Les Rois Manaus, AM, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez les Rois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.