We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Vucko

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jahorina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aparthotel Vucko
Save
You added Aparthotel Vucko to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Olimpijska 1, Jahorina 71420, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Jahorina B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

The apartment was spacious, beautifully designed and furnished. Plenty of space for three adults and two children.
Food was very good (all three meals included in the price), but very local. As a result, there were a couple of occasions where our kids could not find anything that would satisfy their typically British palettes. That did not seem to present too big a problem, as we could always order a pizza or something from the bar menu for a few extra euros.
Staff were friendly, but customer service is still work in progress (not just in this hotel, but generally in the region), so if you see a grumpy face at the Reception, don't take it personally. We had to check out three days earlier than planned, as one of the children got temperature, and we were not charged anything for the cancellation!
The hotel has good facilities, wellness spa, kids' club (free of charge, but not that well equipped, so only interesting for a short period).
The only thing that bothered me was smoking- bedrooms and the main restaurant are smoke free, but everywhere else is a smoking zone, so could get quite unpleasant.
Still, despite that, I would go back- the hotel is extremely good value for money; kids under 6 don't pay anything.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I am a very frequent traveler, and this reception staff was the worst I have ever encountered. Rude to the point of hostility. They spoiled a great weekend trip. They hadn't bothered to clean the room when we arrived at 3pm check-in (told 2pm arrival would be okay - glad we were late), so we had to wait 45 minutes. We were treated with true disdain by the staff.

Don't bother booking with expedia. Of course there was a "problem" with that. This hotel can't handle anything more than a pen and paper reservation.

Sadly, the room was gorgeous. Truly amazing apartment. Unfortunately, it was filthy. Chocolate (or something else dreadfully brown) was smeared all over the coffee table.

Recommendation - stay across the street at Termag.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is new and big, at a very good location at the mountain of Jahorina, which is a beaty in itself. I spent a weekend there in November 2011 and was delighted to see our "room", because I did not expect a suite, but a common two-bed room. Our suite was composed of a living-room (with a sitting set in front of a plasma TV), including a kitchenette (with a stove and a fridge, but with no dishes apart from two glasses, what is really inconvinient indeed if you stay longer there and plan to cook, especially with a kid, you probably have to take everything with you), a decent size bedroom with a wardrobe, a very nice and big bahtroom and pretty big antechamber.
The entire hotel is kept very warm all the time and very clean.
The wine-bar and the cafe at the entrance are really cosy and nice to spend time in. The hotel also has a fire-place room, which was not in use when we were there, the fire-place was not on and there was noone there. There is the Winter Olympic Games 1984 sign on one of the walls in that room (the name of the hotel is given after the cute wolf, the symbol of the WOG Sarajevo).
The food was excellent, tough might be a problem for someone who has to eat light. They offered even home-made coffee for breakfast, but juice, on the other hand, was not freshly sqeezed, but from the carton. Th breakfast offered yammie home-made pastrie and fresh cheese, plus a variety of food. We paid extra for dinner one night (the other night we had dinner in another hotel), which was served as a buffet and offered a good choice and was delicious as well.
There is a big spa in the hotel, with different saunas, jaccuzi, relax room etc. No swimming-pool, tough, but they have been building a huge annex to the hotel, which is going to have a big swimming-pool. The construction works were inconvinient, as they produced a lot of noise, even early in the morning on Saturday and Sunday and as they made an ugly view not only from the hotel room, but also from the wellness area.
I was very satisfied with the hotel and what it offered and I would gladly recommend it to everyone. The only downside is the staff, especially the waiters and the wellnes-personnel. The waiters do not behave professionally and treat you rather as their acquaintances than as the hotel guests. The lady in the spa was pretty unprofessional and even rude, having left us waiting to make an appointment. I guess the problem was that there were only two of them covering the entire spa and all the treatments, but still, her behaviour was not appropriate at all. We booked a spa package, which included a fruit basket and tea, which we did not get. The treatment (body peeling and mask) was not very good either. The massage was excellent tough.
However, the receptionists were extremely polite and helpful and were really happy to help us organize our trip back home.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Good points:

great location, great Paradiso bar, great wine bar, excellent Spa ( Nina was super), nice interier

Bad points:

windy and cold rooms!!!( it was warmer in toilets and halls than in room), missing kitchen(was told we will have one), bad suvenir shop and expensive sport shop. opening hours changing..garage not in a room rate, snow till half of window

Worst point: Restaurant

buffet very dirty tongs not changing, plates missing, bad choise, cold egg station (!), missing all kind of M&P, half hour before closing breakfast lunch or dinner buffet empty, dirty, no staff around..supervisor or manager in jeans, set up of table in very low rate..The worst experience!

FO good, Adrijana very nice, some people was passing behind- not sure if they are part of staff.

Ski school very good,thanks to Bojan and a gentelnam from Ski rent!!

Room Tip: Ask for kitchen and a fire place. Look for rooms above entrance, those in back are windy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Along with Termag and Board, Aparthotel Vucko is the most expensive accommodation on Jahorina mountain which is placed near Sarajevo in the heart of Bosnia. The hotel itself is relatively new, clean and placed on prominent location on Jahorina mountain. It's a kind of condo hotel (apart hotel) where the large majority of apartments are held privately. The hotel use to monetize the apartments during the year for their owners. If you book a reservation, you have to pay 30% in advance. However, if your are hindered to travel during this time, you could prolong this reservation for another period, at least they say it on their official website! At least we thought so, but there is a catch - if you are not able to travel due the terrible weather, or natural catastrophes such as huge snow storm or even cannot come through due snowdrifts, they don't want to accept it and don't want refund you the money you paid in advance. Even more, they are not willing to negotiate any other solution even if you ask to use this reservation in a month or two, or out of season.

We are domestics but had to travel 300 km's from the country inland and it should be the second time we booked there. Due the circumstances that all roads where in pretty bad shape because of current snowstorms, we needed more then 9 hours to get there. Two years ago, the first time we stayed at Vucko, was not that bad regarding the weather, but their service was pretty unprofessional, and the apartment we rent was on the first floor where all the cigarette smoke from the lobby came into our room all the time. The first floor is also not suited for families since they have some live music in the lobby mainly on weekends, which is pretty loud, where the bad acoustic isolation doesn't give you a chance for a holiday rest after a cool day on the snow, which you actually hoped for since you're on vacation.

The second time, was a few days ago. Actually, we had a reservation and prepared everything for a voyage but we gave up due dozen circumstances. The complete country, even complete Balkans was snow-and-ice-chained and the government recalled the natural disaster situation in most regions and alerted local citizens and all travelers to stay at home since the most of country roads are impassable. However, I travel with a family and a 2-year-old child and we want to make sure the weather is stabilizing in order to take a voyage. Additionally, I was already two days flu sick, but even with high fever I was willing to travel and have some fun on a family winter vacation. We called the local authorities for a snow report and situation on roads, and they told us the situation is not quite bright and they still have problems with high snowdrifts and breezing wind that is making them impossible to make roads passable. Due all these factors we decided not to travel, although we were fully packed. The main reason was the security which is the most important for all of us, so I called the hotel in order to shift the reservation, but they coldblooded refused any kind of cooperation or chance to negotiate. They say they paid already the owners right after we placed the reservation and they cannot shift or refund it at all, even due emergency circumstances which emerged during this time. My family were really keen to visit the Jahorina and its magnificent natural beauties, but the situation was just too risky, but the hotel staff just don't care about our security.

Other then that, they even use some other dirty tricks, like to lie travelers giving them the false information about room capacity. In case you want to make a booking they would tell you there is only one room available and it can be booked anytime, just to force you to book on earlier time, although they have dozen rooms available.

Next time you visit Jahorina, go to private accommodation or use Termag or Board which are a bit expensive but they offer more commodity in comparison to Vucko (poll, garage included in price, food is better, with more hospitable personnel).

For me, next time I would personally choose Austrian ski-centers since they provide more quality of service.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms on the first floor if you want to have quiet and smoke-free environment. Week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Vucko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Vucko

Address: Olimpijska 1, Jahorina 71420, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Republika Srpska > Jahorina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jahorina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Vucko 4*
Number of rooms: 45

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Vucko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.