We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palas to your Saves list
Hotel Palas
Kralja Petra I Karadjordjevica 60, Banja Luka 78000, Bosnia and Herzegovina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Banja Luka
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The few we saw of the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great - very central with several cafes along side of it. It looks as though it's been done up recently or at least the public areas have. The actual room was spacious enough (three single beds) and reasonably clean, but the bathroom was definitely past its prime! The cracked tiles in the shower and dirty grouting was off putting and it was difficult to slide the shower door shut as the plastic panels were loose and very worn.

We stayed on a Friday night and our room over looked the car park which was full of locals revving their car engines and partying until late. The disco too pounds through every floor until very late as well. I certainly didn't feel as though I'd had a good night's sleep.

The breakfast was nice enough and the service reasonably good.

I think I'd be inclined to try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: I suggest you ask for a room that doesn't over look the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
1
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I have to say my first impression was that this was a hotel on the point of closing down - many of the facilities the guidebooks say it's supposed to have didn't seem to be working any more (e.g. no restaurant; if there was a fitness centre I have no idea where it is). Looking at it further it might just be being renovated - the other half of the same block on the street was covered with scaffolding advertising a 'Hotel Plaza' in the same design as the Hotel Palas logo.

Top floor rooms are very small indeed and you also have the low attic roof to cope with so there isn't much space to move around in. The windows had old wooden blinds which I struggled to roll down without snapping something off - in the end I just gave up - light sleepers will want to pack an eye mask. Bathroom was quite small and the grouting and shower stall probably needed to have been replaced at some point.

nb some foreign laptops may not accept the hotel wireless internet connection although I was never able to find out what the problem was. This is irritating although there's an internet cafe on the first floor of a shopping centre across the road if you get really stuck.

On the plus side you're well in the centre of town, the staff do their best to help and the rooms are very good value. I have to say I didn't notice any noise from the nearby disco at all - possibly it's closed? - or from the plumbing.

Not sure I'd stay here again though - Hotel Bosna 5 minutes' walk up the road seems to be in much better shape although does cost slightly more.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajevo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in.
The rooms are very small, beds tiny, heating almost not existing, and the water is running all night long, so it is impossible to sleep.
The only good thing about it is its location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I agree with the other review warning about the 'thump thump' of the disco below. And I stayed there on a Monday! Another issue was that the room was cold.

I've stayed here before and there seem to be two types of room. The ones on the top floor are small and in some parts of the room you have to crouch to avoid banging your head on the ceiling. The other parts of the hotel are noisy.

On the plus side it's pretty cheap and very central. The rooms are clean enough and the free wireless internet connections isn't bad. There is free parking in a secure (albeit grotty) car park.

In summary I'd say that the hotel is fine if you want to save money and are going out until late and won't be affected by the disco..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This oldfashion Hotel in citycentre of Banja Luka was very pleasent superise for me and my colleagues. Very clean rooms service like in five star hotels and very low level of prices, what you can espected in Banja Luka. Thay hav a free of charge fitness and sauna....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

Very pleasant hotel - perfectly situated. Clean and tidy with restaurants nearby.

However I could not give this more than 1 star because our room was above a disco (not part of the hotel). The disco goes on until 3pm on Thursdays and 4pm on Fridays and Saturdays. We got about four hours sleep. The hotel was not full at all so why we were placed in this area I do not know.

If you do decide to stay here I would strongly advise that you insist on a room away from the car park or you will first be entertained by the thump, thump, thump of the disco until the early hours and then by the slamming of car doors and shouting when the disco finally finishes.

A real shame as apart from this the hotel is perfectly OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palas

Address: Kralja Petra I Karadjordjevica 60, Banja Luka 78000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Republika Srpska > Banja Luka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Banja Luka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.