We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better food and people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse

Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse
600 North Main Street, Alma, WI 54610
608-685-4964
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Alma
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for better food and people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I couldn't tell you how many times I have been to Pier 4, but I do know I will continue to go there everytime I am near Alma. Nothing but delicious food and great people!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best smokehouse within 100 miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I visit Alma every month or so and I always make sure to stop in here for either breakfast or lunch. With this place it's the small things that make a difference. The hashbrowns and the french fries are alway cooked to a delicious and crunchy golden brown. The hamburgers are juicy and flavorful (why is it so hard to find a good burger anyways?!?). The ribs are smoked with a dry rub and they allow you to add your own BBQ sauce, which is the way ribs should be served. I believe they make 3 varities of sauces on site, but their tangy variation is my favorite. Hint: Try the turkey sandwich or the turkey omelet. They smoke their own turkey breasts and it is by far the best turkey I've ever tasted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World's Best Toast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I have been going to the Pier 4 Cafe since 2002 and have never been disappointed. Marietta and her staff are wonderful and service is top notch. They have the best whole wheat toast I have ever tasted and I love their potato pancakes! Try the place. I know you'll like it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“by the Dam 4 Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent smoked fish, beef pork. Try their smoked sausage omelet with their potatoe pancakes. Potatoe pancake mix and rib rub is available to purchase While you are there a barge may come through the lock and a train may fly by. Summertime eating on the porch is fun

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Mn.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“My favorite breakfast place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best restaurant by a damn site indeed. Watch barges lock through and hear trains rumble by while enjoying delicious home made food. Definitely my favorite breakfast place in the area. They serve lunch too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.