We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best smokehouse within 100 miles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse
600 North Main Street, Alma, WI 54610
608-685-4964
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 restaurants in Alma
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best smokehouse within 100 miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I visit Alma every month or so and I always make sure to stop in here for either breakfast or lunch. With this place it's the small things that make a difference. The hashbrowns and the french fries are alway cooked to a delicious and crunchy golden brown. The hamburgers are juicy and flavorful (why is it so hard to find a good burger anyways?!?). The ribs are smoked with a dry rub and they allow you to add your own BBQ sauce, which is the way ribs should be served. I believe they make 3 varities of sauces on site, but their tangy variation is my favorite. Hint: Try the turkey sandwich or the turkey omelet. They smoke their own turkey breasts and it is by far the best turkey I've ever tasted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    31
    9
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World's Best Toast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I have been going to the Pier 4 Cafe since 2002 and have never been disappointed. Marietta and her staff are wonderful and service is top notch. They have the best whole wheat toast I have ever tasted and I love their potato pancakes! Try the place. I know you'll like it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“by the Dam 4 Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent smoked fish, beef pork. Try their smoked sausage omelet with their potatoe pancakes. Potatoe pancake mix and rib rub is available to purchase While you are there a barge may come through the lock and a train may fly by. Summertime eating on the porch is fun

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Mn.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“My favorite breakfast place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best restaurant by a damn site indeed. Watch barges lock through and hear trains rumble by while enjoying delicious home made food. Definitely my favorite breakfast place in the area. They serve lunch too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went to Pier 4 for breakfast last Sunday. Really good quality food and service. The view was nice (of the river) and I enjoyed the atmosphere (small but quaint and clean). Standard breakfast menu with lunch options available. I want to try the house cured salmon next trip. Will go back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 4 Cafe & Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.