We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Door Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Door Inn
Save
You added Blue Door Inn to your Saves list
331 S Main Street, Alma, WI 54610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Richland Center, Wisconsin
1 review
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Blue Door Inn was a perfect stay! We planned a weekend girlfriend getaway to attend the Great River Road Wine Trail and stayed here. Aside from the fascinating history of this building , we found the owner, Kathy to be a terrific hostess. The rooms were beautifully decorated maintaining the integrity the history of the building, the rooms were cozy and the beds were comfortable. Looking forward to planning my next stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place was absolutely amazing!!! My girlfriends and I stayed as our halfway point for the June Bloom wine tour and Kathy, the owner, was so wonderful and so hospitable. She made our trip that much more special. The beds were perfect, the rooms spotless and the kitchenette suite was a great place to gather. I would recommend The Blue Door Inn over and over again. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

WoW! We have stayed here a couple times and each time has been wonderful! The owner, Kathy is so sweet and will tell you the history of the place if you want and will leave you to quiet time if you want. We stayed in the Stone house apartment this time! It is beathtaking! The old charm of this apartment is simply amazing. So romantic we ended up playing hooking on monday and spent the night to extend our weekend. The pictures don't do it justice. Alma is such a wonderful little town and it is topped off with this great little place. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, South Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our Stay at the Blue Door Inn was from the 16th thru 19th of May, we stayed on the 2nd floor of the Inn. The Accommodations were very Clean and the Hospitality was out standing
Thank you for a great weekend, we will be coming back, Highly recommended.
Thank you Kathie

Room Tip: Both first floor and Second Floor they are both great. We loved the Atmosphere was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our stay at the Blue Door ended too soon! We had the entire main floor for the weekend and had a wonderful time. The accommodation were clean and charming and location was great (if only the train would wait until 8am to start running. Make sure you understand the front rooms can hear the trains and they are loud trains). We enjoyed the patio and watching the eagles soaring overhead. We utilized the grill and full kitchen one night. Rooms are large and Kathy has done an amazing job at restoring this property. Coffee, juice, yogurt, fresh bakery items and fruit were delivered outside the door each morning and they were tasty.

We visited Stockholm and Pepin this visit which is a must. The art and shops and Gelly's in Stockholm and Harbor View Cafe in Pepin. The weather was beautiful! It was a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corofin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Kathie was a gracious hostess. The Blue Door Inn is well appointed and is exceptionally comfortable. The bed was excellent and the room very nicely furnished, warm and inviting.
Breakfast was delivered outside the door in the morning and was quite pleasant - muffins, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and tea.
HIghly recommended!

  • Liked — The charm, comfort and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Our room was the one closest to the street and railroad tracks - if thats a bother for you, be sure to ask Kathie for a room further back in the building.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We rented the entire Inn to house our extended family when our daughter got married this past weekend. The Inn is a delightful mix of old and very up to date lighting, plumbing, kitchen areas, etc. We explored the shops in Alma, Fountain City, and ate a delicious dinner at Blue Harbor Inn at Pepin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Inn

Address: 331 S Main Street, Alma, WI 54610
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Alma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the 19th Century & small rivertown atmosphere of Alma, Wisconsin on the Mississippi River. Blue Door Inn is housed in one of Alma's oldest buildings, circa 1853 to 1875. 4-year restoration project of a 19th century single-family home with a blacksmith shop below and later a hardware store. Blue Door Inn has gone through a massive transformation. Today your lodging options range from a choice of suites to full apartments. All rooms have access to two 65-foot outdoor porches, a patio with barbecue gas grill & fire pit, Mississippi River views and great gardens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Door Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.