We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Ville

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Ville
Save
You added Hotel de Ville to your Saves list
305 North Main Street, Alma, WI 54610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here on an overnight roadtrip down the Mississippi - we called last minute and they were very obliging! The proprietor is fantastic - tons of energy and lots of great stories about the history of the hotel and the town. Our room was actually a suite, beautifully decorated, with a full kitchen and lovely sitting area. It was a great place to spend the night, and Alma is incredibly charming! The only detractor was the trains that come through at all hours of the night, but that's not the hotel's fault... and you can hear the trains from anywhere in town, so I have a feeling that any hotel would be like this. Just bring earplugs! :)
It really is a great place to stay - be sure to visit their coffee/ice cream shop with the gorgeous gardens in the back.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at Hotel de Ville for one night over Memorial Day weekend 2011, and loved it! Dan was an excellent host, who made us feel right at home. The hotel was cute, quaint and clean. We enjoyed all of the unique touches, and the garden was incredible. I felt like I was back in the Bavarian Alps! I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I LOVE this place. I had no idea there was such a charming and quaint little town so close to the Twin Cities. There is no doubt this town belongs in California - reminds me of some of the cute little towns in the Gold Country. It's an easy drive from Mpls/St. Paul - and the bonus is the beautiful drive along the river for at least half the trip (on the Wisconsin side). As you get closer, you'll see the striking bluffs teeming with wildlife. We saw a coyote and eagle along the way, and of course, lots of deer. We stopped at the Creamery in Nelson, 10 minutes from Alma. I'm from California and I just didn't expect such a high end place in the middle of nowhere. They have fabulous cheeses and a great wine selection. Be sure to splurge on some Sartori cheese. Love that stuff. Upon entering Alma, you feel like you are stepping back in time with all the fabulously renovated buildings. And as you come upon the Hotel Deville, you know immediately you've picked the right place. I've stayed in many B&Bs throughout the world, and I have to say this ranks right up there with the best of them. I like clean, and this place is immaculate. The proprietors obviously pay attention to every little detail - fine linens, scrumptious chocolates, and a terrific selection of teas. What really amazed us is how inexpensive it was for what we got. The room (or should I say suite) we stayed in had a couple of bedrooms, living room, refrigerator - it is the perfect place to share the cost with another couple. And then there are the gardens - they are lovely in the winter time - I can only imagine how beautiful they are in the summer. The owners are delightful, humorous, and kind - the kind of guys you want to go have a drink with at the local bar. They will make you feel special, and you'll wonder how you got so lucky to find this hidden gem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mounds, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Garden Suite is part of the Hotel de Ville's collection of unusual, wonderfully decorated rooms, suites; there's even a separate cottage! My favorite will always be the Garden Suite. It consists of 2 bedrooms, bathroom, a living room, dining area, full kitchen and sunroom. All are decorated in high Victorian style with gorgeous chandeliers, wallpaper and kick nacks in a restored 1860's building. The proprietors, Jeff and Dan are part of what makes your stay entertaining, enjoyable and relaxing. We'll be back, that's for certain!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We were suppose to go camping Friday - Sunday October 1-3, 2010. With the river flooding our campsite was flooded too. I called Thursday night and talked with Jeff at Hotel de Ville. He had the garden room available and we said yes. Walking through the most amazing garden up the stairs to our hotel room, I was not sure what to think. As we opened the door we were amazed the Garden Room was like having your own apartment in Europe. Full size kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms( great bed to sleep in felt like sleeping on a cloud), bathroom, and sunroom that you can view the Mississippi River. We also had a terrace to sit at that overlooks the garden of flowers, fountains, and old world charm. We had the best time, and Jeff and Dan the owners were so warm, friendly to make our stay feel like home. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. There are different rooms to stay. A must if you are planning to stay in Alma. We gave it beyond a 10. Thanks for a great weekend, we will be back. Debbie and Keith Mpls, MN

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Hotel de Ville in Alma, Wisconsin is nestled on the Main Street of a vibrant river town with a staff that offers strict privacy or open discussions of life and times on the river. This is my third stay at the hotel, and I should have written three years ago. Each experience has been completely fulfilling. A suite last year was newly decorated, as the owners have renovated several circa 1900 buildings. We thoroughly enjoyed an English garden outside our back door. This year, we stayed in the Eagle's Nest, across the street and right on the river. Yes, there are eagles. It's tough when the bedding is so luxurious you don't want to get up and look out the window!
We had oodles of options of things to do, from outdoor hiking, biking, swimming, etc . to a plethora of artisans and specialty shoppes. Fine restaurants and small town bars coexist and the food variety is welcome. Great getaway for anyone with teens or older. My teen enjoyed the DVDs available in room, and again, the bed was hard to give up in the morning! Kudos to the owners and we'll see them again soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Our stay at the Hotel de Ville was wonderful. Jeff was an excellent host and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He upgraded our room to accommodate an older traveler and gave us great restaurant and shopping tips. The hotel building has been beautifully renovated and the garden is magnificent. We were not at all bothered by the train which runs right through the town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Ville

Address: 305 North Main Street, Alma, WI 54610
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Alma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de Ville is located right in the town of Alma Wisconsin which is listed on the National Historical Register. The suites and rooms are appointed in period antiques with a french accent. They are the finest in this part of the State. Our guests love our French formal and Italianate gardens as much as they love our pillow top queen mattresses. All Suites have air conditioning which is not the norm in Alma. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.