We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tritsch House in Alma, Wi - A Must Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tritsch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tritsch House
Save
You added The Tritsch House to your Saves list
601 South 2nd Street, Alma, WI 54610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Alma B&B and Inns
Northfield, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tritsch House in Alma, Wi - A Must Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

A last minute plan for the weekend, a quick internet search and we found The Tritsch House in Alma, Wi and we were elated with our choice. We were greated with a warm welcome by the owner and given a tour of the beautifully refurbished 1902 house. He even added a wine refrigerator in the kitchen for guests use. The original woodwork is all refinished and is gorgeous. The place is immaculately clean. The evening was spent on the front 2nd story porch watching the river go by and enjoying the sunset. It was difficult to concentrate on reading my book because the views of the river are phenominal! The bed, pillows and sheets are luxurious. Johnny is the ultimate host!

Room Tip: Loved the Belle of Alma room. Faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waunakee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Tritsch House is perfect for all types of stays, ours happened to be for shopping and antiquing along the scenic River Road. The Inn was clean, warm, and decorated beautifully. Johnny met us to carry our luggage upstairs and we were off to a great start. There is a porch on the second level that overlooks the Mississippi where we watched the eagles. The porch was perfect for a glass of wine and a sunset. The breakfast was delicious with home made jam and a hot breakfast. Every detail was attended to right down to the beautiful lilac bouquets in the dining room. Also, the pool table in one of the parlors was a lot of fun. For a relaxing weekend stay, I would highly recommend the Tritsch House. Alma is a great little town and dinner at Kate and Gracie's was excellent. Don't forget to take an early morning hike down Second Street and on to Main Street and don't miss the Danzinger Vineyard wine tastings too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

we stayed at the Tritsch house on a beautiful fall weekend. The house is very comfortable felt like we were visiting a friend. john the owner is very friendly and gave us great recommendations. We sampled some wine at the local winery and enjoyed the view from the Beuna Vista park. We ate at kate and Gracies which we enjoyed very much. after a dissapointing Badger loss that we watched at Tony's bar we were able to relax in the jaccuzzi and slept soundly in a nice cozy bed. we woke to the smell of bacon which was delicious. It was a much needed break would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Don't let the plain exterior of the home (or the fact that it is run by a twenty-something single guy) fool you. The inside of this B&B is fabulous! The full-size pool table in the front room gives you a hint that this is no ordinary Victorian B&B. Although not as filled with knicky-knacks as most Victorian era homes, this home has beautifully restored woodwork and comfy, cozy rooms. As someone who thinks less is more, I appreciated the clutter-free feel which allows you to see the beauty of the house itself. Our room had a high, soft (artificial?) feather bed, flat-screen TV, and a completely but tastefully updated bathroom. The gorgeous kitchen where the owner's dad cooked us eggs to order and bacon, combined w/yogurt, fruit, toast, and juice, was beautifully remodeled and huge! The breakfast was the most filling "continental" breakfast I've ever had. All in all, the Tritsch House feels like a Victorian B&B brought into the 21st century. We would love to have been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We loved tihs place and will stay again..John is great and we had a relaxing time, sitting in the living room in the evenings and reading....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

A very relaxing B & B stay with a great view of the Mississippi. Even if your room is not one with a river view, the front porch and balconey provide a great place to relax and watch the river roll by in the evening. This was also the roomiest B&B that I can recall staying in and the breakfast was made to order.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I looked at a lot of different options for staying in Alma, Pepin, Wabasha, Lake City, Red Wing, etc... and ended up at the Tritsch House partly because of the photos and the information on the website, www.thetritschhouse.com.

Extremely pleased with this place. The house is beautifully restored and tastefully decorated with gorgeous period-appropriate furniture, but minimally so - not a lot of knick-knacks and crap around cluttering the experience. Very clean.

The Innkeeper said that the Belle of Alma room is rented most frequently, but we looked at all the rooms and were so glad that we were in the Gessel Room - I loved the huge bathroom (probably a converted bedroom). This room actually feels a lot bigger than how it looks in the pictures on the website - very spacious. Bed was fantastic - had a great sleep.

I liked that there was a wine fridge in the kitchen and glasses & corkscrew in each room. Breakfast was great - made to order eggs & bacon, and with 2 kinds of homemade jam (made by the innkeeper's mother) to go on the toast/muffins. Very nice touch! Free wi-fi, too.

Service: friendly and welcoming, but not overly in your business - great.

Room Tip: river view = Belle of Alma; beautiful room=Gessel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tritsch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tritsch House

Address: 601 South 2nd Street, Alma, WI 54610
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Alma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tritsch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.