We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio Los Volcanes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Samaipata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Refugio Los Volcanes
Save
You added Refugio Los Volcanes to your Saves list
Southern Part of Amboro National Park | East of Samaipata, Samaipata, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samaipata
Bromont, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What if you could drive two hours, stop, look through the branches and see a flat clearing in the jungle woods surrounded by high cliffs making it a natural fortress. And what if you could leave your luggage up there and walk to the clearing, going by waterfalls, while they drive your heavy stuff down there, directly to your room.

This is Refugio de los Volcanes, situated a two-hour drive from either Santa Cruz or Samaipata. We got there through Ben Verhoef Tours (Samaipata), but you may also try to directly contact Albert (the owner) on the web.

This place is actually as described and is unbelievably beautiful. Even if there were no guided activities (observation hikes mainly, you may also swim), just sitting on your room porch and look at the environment would justify the price. This is a good place to see condors, loros, oropendolas, monkeys even toucans. The nature walks are interesting and can be planned with your guide. This is chaco forest (not quite rain forest) with all kinds of curiosities, making for a good ecology review (mutualism, parasitism, adaptation, opportunity). There are beautiful orchids also. I felt like going there with kids would be a real treat for them.

Rooms are simple, but you just don't care. You will not stay in your room, except for sleeping. You'll be contemplating and watching outside all the time with your eyes, binoculars, cameras.
The building where all the rooms are is surrounded by a comfortable porch with chairs and hammocks. The other building along the river is where you eat. Good food in quality and quantity. There is a traditional oven outside where they cook bread. They made pizza one night in this oven and it was priceless.

Absolute highlight of our one month trip to Bolivia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend at the end of 5 weeks of travel in Peru and Bolivia. Unbelievable. The most beautiful jungle I've visited. The owner was there at the same time as us, (Albert, originally from Germany); he comes every weekend. Try to go on the weekend as meeting him really adds a lot to your stay. He's an amazing host, serving us delicious Bolvian red wine, funny stories and amazing insider info on Bolivia. Although it was not orchid season, we found about 12 different species in flower (there are at least a hundred species in the surrounding forest so I suspect some are always in flower). The terrain is interesting to hike and the vegetation varies a lot from one hill to another, depending on drainage, soil composition and position. Wonderful butterflies and birds and insects, but few mosquitoes. Accommodation quiet and clean. Food lovely. We paid $195 US each for two people for two nights, three days including transfers there and back (it's a bit remote, not really in Samaipata at all though it's listed on trip Advisor as being there). Don't pay more than this. Some travel agencies in Santa Cruz will quote you two or three times this price. Greedy. We used Ben Verhoef tours in Samaipata to book and he seems to have the most reasonable rates. If you love nature, dramatic natural settings, flowers, butterflies, hiking, treat yourself and stay here. It will be an unforgettable experience, even with all the expectations I've just created by praising it to the sky.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a piece of heaven in the middle of the Jungle. Best place to relax and feel the nature. Excellent for Hiking and Bird watching.

Room Tip: every room is the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Staying here is an amazing experience. This is a private reserve on the edge of Amboro National park, you can only vist with a guide and if you stay at the refugio. The lodge is at the bottom of a winding narrow road and there are only 6 comfortable , ensuite rooms in a pretty colonial style building that is set in the middle of a field surrounded by stunning red sand stone Masifs and tropical forest. You walk across a meadow to the dining room where you eat simple but hardy meals overlooking a river. many of the vegetables are grown on site. Birds are everywhere and during our visit most of the guests were avid bird watchers.Ben Verhoef tours of Samaipata arranged our stay and we were lucky that Ben himself was our guide , he has a keen eye and was constantly spotting and pointing out wildlife from the slightest movement. We did two 3 hour hikes during our stay and trekked thru the hills and saw dozens of varieties of birds, including parrots and parakeets, a monkey and we even spotted a coral snake scurrying away in the underbrush?There are hammocks and chairs placed to relax and enjoy the scenery, we would love to go back and certainly would recommend this lodge and the exoerience to anyone.

Room Tip: every room had an outrageous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refugio Los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Los Volcanes

Address: Southern Part of Amboro National Park | East of Samaipata, Samaipata, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Samaipata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samaipata
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Refugio Los Volcanes Bolivia/Samaipata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio Los Volcanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.