We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Nomadico Bar Restaurant

El Nomadico Bar Restaurant
Calle Avaroa Entre Aniceto Arce y Junin | Zona Norte, Rurrenabaque 591, Bolivia
+591 67151792
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Rurrenabaque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: International, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tribute to global nomadic culture in elegant surroundings, Enjoy the night at El Nomadico with a selection of coctails, ice cold beer, or dine to national or international selections from our homestyle cooked delights. Come and appreciate the beauty of our kuta timber furnishings, Watch a host of international sports, enjoy and share the latin american passion game, all to the background tunes of music from all around the globe. We invite you to be a part of the el nomadico culture in appreciation of peoples from all around the world.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Eventually found El Nomadico after a 10 minute search. Well worth looking for. The Aussie guy Paul (who owns the restaurant with his Bolivian wife)was a superb host. Took time to go over certain meals listed on menu and also chatted away in general. Food was top notch and definitely at the higher end in terms of quality and all cooked by his lovely Bolivian wife. My only complaint is that we never went here on our first night in Rurrenabaque!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not that easy to find but worth looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is on Calle Avaroa but down a small alley and just a bit further away from several of the main tour companies to be easily missed. The food is really good, a little pricier than several of the other restaurants though. There's a nice atmosphere and the service was excellent; really friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in Bolivia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a delicious, nutritious meal! I just had the house special, fish cooked in banana leaf with steamed vegetables and mashed potato. It was a fantastic dish cooked to perfection. The watermelon juice was also very refreshing. Excellent, attentive service which is hard to find in South America. We will be back after our jungle and pampas trip! YUM!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Bolivia!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this gem the night before our pampas trip. Its just slightly away from the main road so it makes for a nice relaxed atmosphere. To our surprise the owner is a fellow Australian and his lovely Bolivian wife cooks up a storm in the kitchen. The service was great and the food was hands down the best meal I've had in South America so far. I ordered the fish wrapped in a Banana leaf, it's their house specialty. So yum! We loved it so much that we went back there after our tour and invited our new friends from the tour. They loved it just as much. The second time I had the fish curry wrapped in a Banana leaf and it was even better. So fresh and so many flavors. It came with mash and veggies and was served piping hot (all a rare occurrence in South America. You have to go here!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good decent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Good decent meal, reasonable portions if not slightly over priced - I would eat here again.. Good host

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Nomadico Bar Restaurant also viewed

Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
 
Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
 

Been to El Nomadico Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nomadico Bar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.