We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to kick back and relax :)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Ambaibo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel El Ambaibo to your Saves list
Hotel El Ambaibo
Av. Santa Cruz, Rurrenabaque, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rurrenabaque
Oslo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place to kick back and relax :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Cons: The bedroom was fairly run down. The sheets were thin, the towels had seen better days.
Pros: Clean and quiet at night. The pool entirely made up for whatever the bedroom was lacking. Hot shower.

My husband and I prolonged our trips to spend 2 days splashing in the pool. A few days in cold La Paz, then eaten by mosquitos in the jungle - it was extremely pleasant to arrive at this hotel and enjoy the cool water and relax in the sun.

Only the rooms on one side of the pool seemed to be in use. The other side had no front walls, and we got the impression that they were doing construction work of some sort (remodelling perhaps?). The restaurant was not open for dinner, but we did enjoy a nice breakfast. On our day of departure we had to leave before breakfast, but the hotel was nice and prepared a bag with some juice, fruit, crackers and yoghurt that we could have at the airport.

We had good service, and enjoyed our stay here - and highly recommend the pool :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
4
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolivia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

the travel agency (olympia travel) in La Paz said that their information was up to date, but not so. (incidentally, this Travel Agency offered no solutions when I told them today of our unfortunate experience.) we supposedly had included in our services airport pick-up and return at completion of our stay, welcome drinks, and the Ambaibo Hotel advertises having a great Italian-French cuisine based restaurant--which is not there. Nothing proved to be true of what the Hotel Advertizes. We found that nobody picked us up on arrival nor took us back to the airport on departure, nobody offered welcome drinks, and there was no restaurant on site. Worse, we found that someone had entered our room and mishandled video cameras and left them damaged. Somebody also left a red worm (lombriz de california) near the bed one morning, which is not native of the area. The hotel owner commented that he had brought worms from another region for fishing, so we assumed it must have been his daughter who was playing with our things and leaving the worm as a strange surprise for us to find on returning from breakfast. When we approached the owner and manager about this, they offered no solutions, just said we had to check-out early when our flight was scheduled for 5pm! Avoid this place; take care of your belongings elsewhere. Best case scenario pay 20 bolivianos to use the pool, but bring a towel because they are too cheap to provide one.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

The Swimming Pool and Hotel Ambaibo is a small hotel with a pool of 22 m. long by 10 and 15 m. wide.
The nice is the pool,that is surrounded by palm trees,there are fourteen varieties of palms Amazon in a large garden.
There are two Blue Parrots "Papagayos" and three toucans in full freedom.
The the drawback of having this open field is does there are not many rooms and these are small.
This Hotel is located in center of Rurrenabaque, and you can use only the pool, or going to eat in the restaurant Juliano´s, this restaurant with a Tunesian ! cook is a part of the Hotel Ambaibo and is a higly recommended restaurant with french and arabian cuisine.

  • Liked — restaurant, swimming pool,location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Ambaibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Ambaibo

Address: Av. Santa Cruz, Rurrenabaque, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Beni Department > Rurrenabaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rurrenabaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambaibo Backpacker Hostel has every comfort for travelers who like to experience an adventure in the jungle of Bolivia - Rurrenabaque and return to the comfort of a pool.You can take some delicious exotic drinks. Take a few moments at the bar and enjoy the delicious Mexican food, unique in Rurrenabaque. Having a wifi fast service to communicate with your friends and show your photos.Meet new people and spend unforgettable moments. Reminding the tours and adventures lived.We offer:- Swimming Pool- Exotic Garden with Birds- Restaurant- 2 Bars- Grill Station- Wifi InternetBreakfast included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel El Ambaibo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Ambaibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.