We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner on the edge of the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Campo

Casa de Campo
Calle Comercio esquina Ballivian (frente al Hotel Lobo), Rurrenabaque, Bolivia
(03) 7199 3336
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Rurrenabaque
Restaurant details
Starkville, MS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner on the edge of the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had our Christmas day dinner at this delightful family restaurant in Rurrenabaque. The service is somewhat slow because the Mother who runs the place cooks everything after the order is placed (I think they even ran out for some ingredients while we were there). So be prepared to chat and have some drinks while you wait. We took the advice of the daughter (who was visitng for the holiday) and everyone had the fresh fish (prepared in several different ways). It was outstanding! Delicious and very well prepared. There were 8 in our party and everyone enjoyed the experience. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great homemade food in the jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Really good food, not very cheap but diferent of the rest we tried in town. Nice staff.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
“Poor service, worse food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I were eager to try this place based on the positive reviews. It is centrally located near most of the tour companies and some of the hotels. There is a romantic ambiance to it. However, this is were the positive points end. We ordered a soup and salad to start, followed by a pasta with marinara sauce and the catch of the day. Twenty minutes after our order was taken we were given bread. It was another thirty hot minutes until our soup, salad and the rest of our food was brought out, all at once! My husband had asked for the soup and salad to at least be brought ahead of the rest, obviously this was ignored. But worse of all, the food was unedibly salty. My marinara sauce burned my tongue with saltiness as well as my husband's mashed potatoes. We were so disappointed with both the service and food, my husband told the owner about both problems. She was somewhat sympathetic and offered to only charge for our drinks. We paid more than she asked for and left.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basse-Terre, Guadeloupe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“cosy & good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This restaurant is more like eating at a friends home. The friendly owner cooks everything fresh, which could take a while, but the food tastes delicious! The small restaurant is surrounded by a beautiful garden and the place makes you want to stay and relax there all day long!
The owner is also very friendly and provides helpful recommendations for trips in Rurrenabaque!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“F.a.n.t.a.s.t.i.c Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Last night we lived one of our best night ever. We saw casually this precious restaurant
The atmosphere was romantic and friendly

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Campo also viewed

Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
 
Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
Rurrenabaque, Beni Department
 

Been to Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.