We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not rude just French!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Cafetal

Hostal El Cafetal
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coroico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal El Cafetal
Save
You added Hostal El Cafetal to your Saves list
Miranda, Coroico, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not rude just French!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Well, they're just French, it's not rudeness really but if your an American with those kind of standards then yes you'll probabley think that. The food is great, accomodations I'm line with what you pay and a lot better for us than sol y Luna which was rates so high on TA...

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We made reservations from La Paz and the woman that we spoke in the phone, told us that they had double rooms for us so we went straight to the Hotel from the bus terminal. Once we got there, two bolivian employees received us and told us that they had doubles. After that, a french guy showed up and started to spoke very bad to the two bolivian employees (all in front of us!!). Then he told us that he couldn´t give us the room because his wife (manager and co owner) wasn´t there. We told him that we had reservations. He didn´t care. So we left. Few days after, we mentioned this bad experience to a woman from Coroico. She told us that te reason for not getting the room is because the french guy doesn´t want Latinamericans at the hotel (we are from Argentina). Considering the way that he treated us, I believe her. The only bad experience that We have had in Bolivia was that moment with the co owner - chef from El Cafetal.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I agree with the past couple of reviews. The french owners are not interested in being friendly to the travelers. We stayed two nights and although they were not full, they were turning people away because they didn't want to bother. It was a Tuesday which is the day their restaurant is closed, so I think they just wanted a day off from dealing with a full house. It was bizarre.

Stay somewhere else and just come here for dinner is my recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainburg an der Donau, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I didn't like this place! The French owners were soooo rude and unfriendly! I would never come back! We stayed just one night in Coroico but if we did longer we would have definitely change the place. View is gorgeous but it's no because of the location, you get gorgeous views almost everywhere in Coroico. Food was nice but you can still get there just to eat so I really don't recommend this hostel. They didn't even response to my final reservation. I had to call them from La Paz. No english spoken even a little bit. And the swimming pool was so dirty I doubt they ever clean it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed only one night because we were very disappointed. Our main complaint was that the French owners were very unfriendly. They acted like they were doing us a favor in renting us a room! It may be okay for backpackers on a limited budget, but if you have any luggage, forget it. From the road down a steep hill to your room is quite difficult to manage. There is no driveway, or anyone to help get you to your room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough for one night. The view is good, but the Hotel Gloria has a much nicer view. The restaurant was quite good, as other reviewers have mentioned. I would come here to eat dinner, but find another hotel to spend the night.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Really really incredible food, the best we had in 3 months in South America by far. Good views as well from nice rooms and good hosts, pretty crazy at times but good intentions. Would recommend this to anyone! We stayed 5 days after a disappointing 2 nights at Sol Y Luna down the road...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

http://www.elcafetal.co.cc

the hotel is run by a french couple, so you will find a lot of french tourists there, but not only.

The room "matrimonial" with private bathroom was 70 bol per person. Ours was on the other side of the swimming pool so it was quite with a great view (take your flashlight for the night as the path with stairs is quite dark).

The hotel is a bit outside of the town, which can be good on week-end when Coroico is full of people and music in the street. However, the "noise" of the various birds woke me up a lot, but I guess it is better than drunk people shouting in the street ;)

The swimming pool is off decent size and good to have after a hiking day around the town.
The best for us was the restaurant ! Finally some decent and even good food in Bolivia. Best caipirinha ever only for 15 bol. We had delicious lama steaks, risotto with roquefort cheese (french bleue cheese) and lamb curry. Was always really good. Unfortunatly we never made it to try their "crepes".

If you can't stay there, at least go there for diner.

After diner we came to the pub where was live music and the hotel owners were there as well, we danced together, we had a good time. I highly recommand it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal El Cafetal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Cafetal

Address: Miranda, Coroico, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Coroico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Coroico
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Cafetal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.