We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“defiantly recommend this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk
Street.Edit Durham No.4 | street. Edit Durham No.4, Shkoder 1001, Albania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Shkoder B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“defiantly recommend this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall I defiantly recommend this hotel.

Amazing staff. Owner and his wife treated me like a king. Bar waiter and I talked like best friends. Owner arranged taxi from hotel to Budva, Montenegro on departure.
Fantastic traditional Albanian dinner. Waiter explained each item in detail.
Comfortable room. Double bed with cozy comforter. Portable space heater.
Plenty of hot water in the shower.
Good wifi. Speed 1mbps, but a little sketchy in the room.
Surprise live entertainment in the restaurant after dinner. Fantastic!
Although smoking was allowed it the restaurant, the air was kept relatively clean.
Unclear as to whether breakfast was included, but it was very good and very traditional.
Restaurant was beautifully restored in an original 17th century building.
Location was okay, but it's unclear where an optimum hotel location would be in this city.

No cable TV. Only over the air. No English language stations.
Difficult climb up the stairs to the second floor. Stairs partially blocked by scaffolding.
Unable to use credit card on checkout. Credit card machine was not working.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
22
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Amongst an urban sprawl of cement, hidden in a little pocket is Hotel Tradita. Authentically Medieval and welcoming, we were given a room probably dating back to the 1600's when the building was aparently built and subsequently adorned with antiques and memorabilia. The dining room and food is an experience as previous TA Reviews have said. In truth common, the room (106) we were allocated was a little cool, dark and undergoing refurbishment and it was next to the bar/dining room so we had to share in the Saturday night entertainment until midnight. The musical entertainment however on the night we stayed (Saturday) was of a high quality. All that said, the experience was worth it and the staff were more than helpful and we would recommend Hotel Tradita as a fun stop through Shkoder.

Room Tip: There are what looks like newer rooms out the back in another building.This may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

On a recent coach tour in Albania we were fortunate to have been booked into Hotel Tradita. The hotel was easily located on one of the main streets in town but the rooms were very quiet. The rooms are each a little different but quite comfortable. The hotel hosts a small museum of Albanian folk items and is worth the few minutes to look through the displays. The hotel also has a restaurant with some garden seating. The restaurant offers traditional Albanian items. I cannot strongly enough recommend the “Albanian Sampler” menu from their restaurant. The Albanian Sampler at Tradita was the finest meal we had on the entire tour. Add the homemade house wine to the Sampler menu and you have the finest meal available. Can’t praise it enough. If I am in Albania again, I would make a special trip to Shkoder to eat at Hotel Tradita.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After 6 weeks travel in the Balkans, this was my favorite guesthouse. Husband and wife really care about their guests. Facility has a lot of character and includes a small museum upstairs. Part of your evening meal in the restaurant is cooked on an open fire. If you cannot stay here, you must a least go there for dinner.
Western style bathrooms and showers. Short walk from the main bus stop in front of the main theatre. Bicycles available for hire/rent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were absolutely gutted when we turned up and realised we hadn't confirmed our reservation for the night, which meant we had to find accommodation elsewhere. The owner and his wife were incredibly hospitable though and showed us around the hotel, offering us a complimentary drink and giving us directions to another hotel around the corner. So although we didn't spend the night at Tradita, we came back in the evening for dinner.

The evening felt like an authentic taste of Albania with traditional food and entertainment. We particularly enjoyed the lamb, which was grilled on the open fireplace and the warm, oven-baked feta cheese. We were even whisked off our feet during our meal for a dance to traditional live music. The atmosphere was absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Someren, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Really nice (looking) hotel near to the center of Shkoder. Very friendly personnel. They were very helpfull in arranging trips nearby Shkoder and the linguistic skills of the owner are incredible. You feel like being in a museum, but that doesn't bother you of having a nice and clean room and eating in a very nice, traditional restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I spent 2 days and one overnight in the Resort, being positively surprised with its uniqueness and location, at the central part of Shkodra city in Albania. At the entrance of the Museum Hotel, I met the owner, Mr. Gjergj and her charming and very polite lady, Manager of the Resort. As a very busy businessman, the first thing I asked was if they have internet access. Fortunately I learned immediately that the internet access covered the whole Resort. Normally, at the further stage of my first "survey" was to check their rooms and to tell you frankly I was impressed with the authenticity and comfort in their rooms. After the booking, sitting on their veranda, I felt hungry and wanted to ask for their menu. Immediately, besides the garcon, the owner appeared and proposed a set of freshly prepared traditional food. Besides the excellent service and hospitality, I loved their food, starting with the hot starter, in olive oil baked cows cheese, following with fresh mixed salad and main dish, a mixture of fresh baked beef meet with mixed vegetables. At the evening I joined a special dinner with my VIP guest from USA, and both of us could not stop enjoying a wonderful atmosphere and excellent service. In the next day, the early morning after the good breakfast, the marvelous lady, Manager of the Resort offered us a fresh Shkodra Macchiato, with her charming kindness. We paid the bill, being completely satisfied with the ratio value-for-money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk

Address: Street.Edit Durham No.4 | street. Edit Durham No.4, Shkoder 1001, Albania
Location: Albania > Shkoder County > Shkoder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Shkoder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradita Geg & Tosk Hotel and Restaurant, is located in Shkodra city. It is an old traditional house dating 1694, a nice traditional place, surrounded by an ethnography which Mr. Gjon Dukgilaj successfully transformed into a restaurant and hotel. Built with typical elements such as stones and wood, the interior is furnished, decorated with the old authentic objects and traditional costumes from the area. Seasonally the owner transforms the complex into a museum in order for the clients to enjoy the Albanian culture atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tradita Geg & Tosk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.