We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location with good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Station Hotel Kokura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Station Hotel Kokura to your Saves list
Station Hotel Kokura
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-1-1 Asano, Kitakyushu 802-0001, Fukuoka Prefecture (Kokura Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Top location with good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wonderfully located as it's the hotel nearest to the JR Station so the tired traveller only has to walk a few steps before getting into the hotel. Rooms are plain, small but adequate and the most memorable thing about the hotel is the very good breakfast of both local and international items. There was the excellent kurobuta bacon (ran out due to its popularity and replenished with sausages later) and maitako, a morning curry and potato salad , yoghurt, fruit and a lovely walnut bread. Coffee was good too. It would have cost 1,500 yen on its own but included in the roomrate, it's great value.
Also near to the Shopping Streets but it being a Sunday we found it difficult to get lunch there as many of the restaurants there were full. Finally managed to get a place at The Family Restaurant in one of the malls but service was haphazard and the food quality nothing to shout about. Hotel near to places of interest in the central area including Kokura Castle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    82
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
6
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
La Paz
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Small room with a strong smell to cigarette smoke. Clean but not extremely clean. It is right in the Station of Kokura, that's great if you are a newbie in Japan travelling by train and you have a long trip like I do when I get there. There are a lot of places to go eating around the station and two blocks away you can eat a great dish of Fugu for 60 US$... Nevertheless, if I come back to Kitakyushu, I would look for other options

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I just spent 10 days in this Hotel. Very conveniently located hotel near many restaurants and has several itself. Very quiet and really clean and really helpful staff. As an airline pilot I wish my company would use hotels of this standard.24 hr cafe and bar a bonus.

Room Tip: north side to get city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Kitakyushu Kokura was my first stop of my 12 days Kyushu trip.I arrived at Kansai Airport early in the morning.After a few transfers( via limited express train and Shinkansan),I managed to arrive Kokura before 3pm.
The hotel was directly link to JR and monorail station.I booked in advance of 30 days at the rate of 11000Yen Twin room with breakfast for 1 night stay.My room was located at 8 floor, facing the main road (view of the monorail).Room was big,clean and comfortable,bath room was supplied with all necessary toiletries.Room was bright, big enough and supplied with 2 sofa chair and a coffee table which I hardly found for JP hotel
The buffet breakfast was okay,not much variety but still acceptable.There are few restaurants located inside JR station shopping plaza.
This hotel have a great locatioas as it conveniently located at Shinkansen station.

Room Tip: Book early with Station Hotel Kokura own website to get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed here for a night only. Small rooms, overlooking the rail lines. The buffet menu for the breakfast was small and food was okay. Conveniently located at the station. Not many restaurants around and the cafe at the ground floor was not bad for a quick bite, but not enough for a full dinner. Its fine for a nights halt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The hotel is new and rooms are clean. I stayed with my 1.5 year old son and neither me nor him could stop looking out of window - just below us was a shinkansen station with constant arrivals and departures (the windows are noise proof so it was quiet inside), cars a bit further and a very busy strait with lots of cargo ships going back and forth. To the right there was a beautiful coastline and industrial panorama to the left (sumitomo metals or something like that).

I haven't tried their breakfast unfortunately as there are plenty of shops downstairs in the station itself and in nearby streets.
I stayed in a few various hotels in Japan in different regions and cities and this one was one of the best -so I'm giving it 5 dots.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitakyushu hotels
Kokura Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura
#3 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Hotel Harmonie Cinq
#1 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Nishitetsu Inn Kokura
#8 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mojiko Hotel
#4 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Kokura Station
Apa Hotel Kokura Ekimae
Apa Hotel Kokura Ekimae
#19 of 63 in Kitakyushu
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Kokura Station
Comfort Hotel Kokura
Comfort Hotel Kokura
#9 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel Kokura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel Kokura

Address: 1-1-1 Asano, Kitakyushu 802-0001, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Kitakyushu > Kokura Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kitakyushu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Station Hotel Kokura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Rakuten and Agoda so you can book your Station Hotel Kokura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Kitakyushu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station Hotel Kokura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.