We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Well worth the trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kawachi Fujien

Kawachi Fujien
2-2-48 Kawachi, Yawatahigashi-ku, Kitakyushu 805-0045, Fukuoka Prefecture
+81 93-652-0334
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 73 Attractions in Kitakyushu
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing! Well worth the trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Really beautiful. I was here in May 2013, and the pictures on the internet don't do the garden justice - the smell was incredible, and they have the biggest bees I've possibly ever seen! Very highly recommended. Not the easiest place to get to, but here's how to do it: First, take a train to JR Yahata station. Then you have two options: 1. take local bus* no.56 and get off at Kawachi Elementary School, then walk west (the bus will drop you in the middle of nowhere, but a short walk up a slight incline brings you to Kawachi reservoir, which has some really nice views - the garden is perhaps 20 minutes' walk from there), or 2. Take the free shuttle bus from the station to ajisai no yu onsen (the shuttle bus stop is not signposted - to find it walk out of Yahata station and go left toward the bus stops, the shuttle bus stops by the little patch of grass just past where the no.56 bus stops) - the journey takes 10-15 minutes; once you've reached the onsen, cross over the road and walk up the hill - the garden is 2 minutes away (if that). Entrance fee was in the region of 1,000 yen per person. Perhaps a little steep, but well worth it.

(* Bus company beginning with 'Nishi' and ending 'tetsu' (にしてつ). Believe it or not, the profanity filter wouldn't let that through...!)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It exist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went here after May golden week, also lured by the photos on the internet I decided to find out if this place exist.

I went on May 7,2013. In theory it should be early, but most of the wisteria were actually full bloom!
This place is pretty much impossible to go without a car / bike. Public transit doesn't take you all the way to the place, the closest stop will get you to the dam while the garden is on the other side of it :S


Entrance fee is 1000 during full bloom, price changes according to the flower condition.

There are 3 tunnels, first two is ones we see online, the upper part has a dorm (kind of like a igloo) so you can get stand under the wisteria. The wisteria there are quite spread so didn't stay there too long. The top part is a large flat ground with lots of long wisteria hanging down. Last one is a slop down to the entrance, I personally love this part most as they put many different types in the same area, from afar they become descending colour: purple (blue) pink, white and so on (see photos)

According to the pamphlet that I receive, this place is also awesome for Maple too! Not to mention the maple part is block during the wisteria season.

And BEES! Lots of them!
If you are scare of bees, you may want to give a second thought about this place.
It's packed with bees and the wisteria here are long and drapes down very low, so you can expect tons of bees fly around you.

There's a hotspring nearby, otherwise I don't recall seeing any other facility around.
no lockers but you can ask the admission people to take care of the heavy bag, but they are not responsible for any lost item of course.

I recommend to have someone speaks the language to go with you if you don't speak any Japanese, this place is filled with locals and old people.

There was a website on this place, but they took it down.
I put down the phone number from the pamphlet.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soo, Japan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went here for Golden Week, lured by photos I found on the internet and spurred by the fact that it was going to be somewhat near where I was already going. I was not disappointed! The drive out there was pretty, and the park itself, although not in full bloom, was fragrant and beautiful.
Worth it. Even in "peak" season it was big enough that I got some good photos without crowds of other people in them. There is also a large area where you could have a picnic and sit under the flowing flowers. We didn't know there was an area like this so we didn't really take advantage of it. Oh well, maybe next time!
Be aware that Wysteria is blooming on early May to mid-May and so it is a seasonal thing.
The park also boasts a Momiji (Japanese Maple) forest, although I have not seen it in autumn. Judging by the walk and the amount of trees it may be worth a second visit in the fall just to see the changing leaves.
There was a lot of parking here, and I am not sure about public transport as it is very rural and in the mountains.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawachi Fujien also viewed

Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture
 
Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture
Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture
 

Been to Kawachi Fujien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawachi Fujien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.