We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Service Are Key” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura

Save Saved
You added RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-2 Asano, Kokurakita-ku, Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture 802-0001, Japan (Kokura Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 54 hotels in Kitakyushu
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Location & Service Are Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here for a conference, which was located at the nearby Kitakyushu International Conference Center. The cost for a room-night was amazingly low, close to $110/night including breakfast (estern and Japanese style).The staff were as helpful as possible and the usual Japanese over-service was evident. I did not dine in Naniwa, the main restaurant just off the lobby, but I did test both the Sky Lounge (beautiful views of the city) and The Cellar Bar (an excellent selection of whiskeys from around the world).

The best part, of course, is that the hotel is just across the street from Kokura Station--the main station for Kitakyushu City, which also is the final destination for express buses from Fukuoka Airport (about $12 one way compared to a two-leg rail trip that is $21). On just the other side of the station is the heart of the City's commercial district where shops and restaurants abound. Kokura Castle and Riverwalk Kitakyūshū (an upscale shopping mall) are just blocks away too,

The only downside of the hotel, which I could observe, is it is clearly a prime wedding venue for locals. The hotels even has its own bridal shop,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    74
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
14
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel for the pool. However, no swimming before 11 AM. One day I took off an hour from business for a dip. I had to pay 21$, even though I am a long term guest. The rooms are good. The breakfast has a choice between Japanese and Western, good. There are three bars and lounges, but ALL overwhelmingly smoking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is great, being attached to the train station by a covered walkway, and just steps away from the shopping/eating area on the other side of the eki. The rooms are huge by Japanese standards, especially the bathrooms. The view is great. If you have plenty of room in your budget, it's the best hotel in town...and the hotel bar has some excellent single malts. But is it really worth 3-4 times the rent in a regular hotel? I don't think so. Maybe if the rooms themselves were nicer, as opposed to merely being bigger...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I will admit that the hotel has perhaps been slightly smarter, and that in places it was slightly tired, but it was clean, the staff were helpful and the rooms, although small, were perfectly adequate.

Being a tall westerner I did find some aspects of the room somewhat short, but that was never a problem, more a feature of interest. The bed was perfectly big enough for me and I quite enjoyed the 'husk' pillow full of little plastic tubes, although more traditional pillows were also on the beds. The views from the rooms were great, a good bonus for a high rise building.

Breakfast was fine, the range wasn't great but it was more suited to a Japanese palette than a western one. Though there was more than enough for a westerner to eat and enjoy.

The central location of the hotel is what raises it from 3* to 4*, it is downtown near the train station and within walking distance of much of the more interesting bits of town including the castle and the maze of narrow lanes that lie between the hotel and the castle. Wander these for a real taste of Japan. I would also suggest eating in these lanes, although if you don't speak the language prepare for some surprises!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I chosse here because the location is good. Really good location from kokura station.
If i visit here, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel was chosen because of the proximity to the train station. For the traveler from North America, this place is somewhere between a Motel 6 and a really old Best Western (in disguise)! The lobby is quite impressive and the building is sleek and modern from the outside. It is the tallest building, so the views are wonderful. Rooms are large but seriously need updating. The bed was clean but uncomfortable. (The pillows were worse!) Minimum of amenities, hand soap dispenser by the sink, shampoo, soap, conditioner dispenser in the shower and very skimpy towels. There was a small sitting area in the room but the cushions were so worn that even plumping them did not fix the sagging. The bar did not open until 5:30 and since we had a business dinner, we missed trying it (as it closed by 9pm). We also missed breakfast because they didn't open until 6:30 and we had to leave before that. I found the front desk staff quite curt and not at all familiar with the customer service attitudes of the rest of Japan.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Neat, clean and comfortable. Spent a night here during a business trip. The hotel has a wonderful view as its the tallest building around. Night scene is lovely. Breakfast was quite a spread. Dinner went to one of the nearby restaurants. The internet service is quite fast, though that is common all over Japan. Being right next to the station also has its perks since most of the convenient stores are around the corner for any last minute shopping.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura

Address: 2-14-2 Asano, Kokurakita-ku, Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture 802-0001, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Kitakyushu > Kokura Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kitakyushu
#3 Business Hotel in Kitakyushu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of JR Kokura Station in Kita-kyushu, this high-rise urban hotel ascends majestically 30 floors or 433ft. from the ground. It welcomes guests with top-quality services and with both convention and community functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, BookingOdigeoWL, JAPANiCAN and Venere so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Kitakyushu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.