We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair hotel, good central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura to your Saves list
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-2 Asano, Kokurakita-ku, Kitakyushu 802-0001, Fukuoka Prefecture (Kokura Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fair hotel, good central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I will admit that the hotel has perhaps been slightly smarter, and that in places it was slightly tired, but it was clean, the staff were helpful and the rooms, although small, were perfectly adequate.

Being a tall westerner I did find some aspects of the room somewhat short, but that was never a problem, more a feature of interest. The bed was perfectly big enough for me and I quite enjoyed the 'husk' pillow full of little plastic tubes, although more traditional pillows were also on the beds. The views from the rooms were great, a good bonus for a high rise building.

Breakfast was fine, the range wasn't great but it was more suited to a Japanese palette than a western one. Though there was more than enough for a westerner to eat and enjoy.

The central location of the hotel is what raises it from 3* to 4*, it is downtown near the train station and within walking distance of much of the more interesting bits of town including the castle and the maze of narrow lanes that lie between the hotel and the castle. Wander these for a real taste of Japan. I would also suggest eating in these lanes, although if you don't speak the language prepare for some surprises!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YBOD98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I chosse here because the location is good. Really good location from kokura station.
If i visit here, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soo_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel was chosen because of the proximity to the train station. For the traveler from North America, this place is somewhere between a Motel 6 and a really old Best Western (in disguise)! The lobby is quite impressive and the building is sleek and modern from the outside. It is the tallest building, so the views are wonderful. Rooms are large but seriously need updating. The bed was clean but uncomfortable. (The pillows were worse!) Minimum of amenities, hand soap dispenser by the sink, shampoo, soap, conditioner dispenser in the shower and very skimpy towels. There was a small sitting area in the room but the cushions were so worn that even plumping them did not fix the sagging. The bar did not open until 5:30 and since we had a business dinner, we missed trying it (as it closed by 9pm). We also missed breakfast because they didn't open until 6:30 and we had to leave before that. I found the front desk staff quite curt and not at all familiar with the customer service attitudes of the rest of Japan.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmomEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Neat, clean and comfortable. Spent a night here during a business trip. The hotel has a wonderful view as its the tallest building around. Night scene is lovely. Breakfast was quite a spread. Dinner went to one of the nearby restaurants. The internet service is quite fast, though that is common all over Japan. Being right next to the station also has its perks since most of the convenient stores are around the corner for any last minute shopping.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Pros:

- Best choice in town (allegedly)
- Excellent position, very central
- Nice view

Contras:

- Way too overpriced
- Old rooms with old furniture and mediocre room accessories
- Breakfast is often non included, please be careful with your booking
- Checkin staff were not friendly at all, despite my fluent japanese (checkout staff were very friendly though)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel location was great as it is near the train station; 5 mins walk & there were a lot of amenities nearby, such as bakeries, convenience stores, shopping centres, grocerry stores, etc. The building itself definitely looks elegant & once I stepped inside, I was awed by its finishings & warm cheerful lighting. The strange thing is, its reception is not located on the same floor as the skywalk. Speaking of Japanese hospitality, the hotel considers all the needs of its guests well, providing us with all the amenities we needed duing our 9 days stay there. One minus point was I found its pillow very uncomfortable. I woke up each morning with a sore neck & shoulder, and had to ask for an extra pillow at night. But the next morning, the cleaning staff would remove the "extra" pillow. Though the room rate was a bit steep, I would not mind staying there again.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harumi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

A rather soulless and overpriced hotel. A high price and no free Internet. It continues to amaze me that the more expensive hotels charge for Internet when it is free at less expensive hotels. Such gouging always leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtw30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitakyushu hotels
Kokura Station
Station Hotel Kokura
Station Hotel Kokura
#2 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Hotel Harmonie Cinq
#1 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Kokura Station
Comfort Hotel Kokura
Comfort Hotel Kokura
#7 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mojiko Hotel
#6 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Kokura Station
Apa Hotel Kokura Ekimae
Apa Hotel Kokura Ekimae
#24 of 63 in Kitakyushu
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Nishitetsu Inn Kokura
#8 of 63 in Kitakyushu
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura

Address: 2-14-2 Asano, Kokurakita-ku, Kitakyushu 802-0001, Fukuoka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Kitakyushu > Kokura Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kitakyushu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of JR Kokura Station in Kita-kyushu, this high-rise urban hotel ascends majestically 30 floors or 433ft. from the ground. It welcomes guests with top-quality services and with both convention and community functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Venere, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Kitakyushu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing