We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel~~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura to your Saves list
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-14-2 Asano, Kokurakita-ku, Kitakyushu 802-0001, Fukuoka Prefecture (Kokura Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel~~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I chosse here because the location is good. Really good location from kokura station.
If i visit here, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    90
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
15
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel was chosen because of the proximity to the train station. For the traveler from North America, this place is somewhere between a Motel 6 and a really old Best Western (in disguise)! The lobby is quite impressive and the building is sleek and modern from the outside. It is the tallest building, so the views are wonderful. Rooms are large but seriously need updating. The bed was clean but uncomfortable. (The pillows were worse!) Minimum of amenities, hand soap dispenser by the sink, shampoo, soap, conditioner dispenser in the shower and very skimpy towels. There was a small sitting area in the room but the cushions were so worn that even plumping them did not fix the sagging. The bar did not open until 5:30 and since we had a business dinner, we missed trying it (as it closed by 9pm). We also missed breakfast because they didn't open until 6:30 and we had to leave before that. I found the front desk staff quite curt and not at all familiar with the customer service attitudes of the rest of Japan.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Neat, clean and comfortable. Spent a night here during a business trip. The hotel has a wonderful view as its the tallest building around. Night scene is lovely. Breakfast was quite a spread. Dinner went to one of the nearby restaurants. The internet service is quite fast, though that is common all over Japan. Being right next to the station also has its perks since most of the convenient stores are around the corner for any last minute shopping.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Pros:

- Best choice in town (allegedly)
- Excellent position, very central
- Nice view

Contras:

- Way too overpriced
- Old rooms with old furniture and mediocre room accessories
- Breakfast is often non included, please be careful with your booking
- Checkin staff were not friendly at all, despite my fluent japanese (checkout staff were very friendly though)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel location was great as it is near the train station; 5 mins walk & there were a lot of amenities nearby, such as bakeries, convenience stores, shopping centres, grocerry stores, etc. The building itself definitely looks elegant & once I stepped inside, I was awed by its finishings & warm cheerful lighting. The strange thing is, its reception is not located on the same floor as the skywalk. Speaking of Japanese hospitality, the hotel considers all the needs of its guests well, providing us with all the amenities we needed duing our 9 days stay there. One minus point was I found its pillow very uncomfortable. I woke up each morning with a sore neck & shoulder, and had to ask for an extra pillow at night. But the next morning, the cleaning staff would remove the "extra" pillow. Though the room rate was a bit steep, I would not mind staying there again.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

A rather soulless and overpriced hotel. A high price and no free Internet. It continues to amaze me that the more expensive hotels charge for Internet when it is free at less expensive hotels. Such gouging always leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Over the last 4 years I have stayed at the Rihga Royal Hotel Kokura Kyushu 4 times. The hotel is very convenient to the Kokura train station in Kyushu. The rooms are very clean, but nothing fancy. The service is very good and the food is okay. I would rate the hotel at 3 ¾ stars.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura

Address: 2-14-2 Asano, Kokurakita-ku, Kitakyushu 802-0001, Fukuoka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Kitakyushu > Kokura Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kitakyushu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of JR Kokura Station in Kita-kyushu, this high-rise urban hotel ascends majestically 30 floors or 433ft. from the ground. It welcomes guests with top-quality services and with both convention and community functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Kitakyushu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIHGA Royal Hotel Kokura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.