We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Japanese History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mojiko Retro

Mojiko Retro
7-18 Minatomachi, Mojiku, Kitakyushu 801-0852 , Fukuoka Prefecture
+81 93-332-0106
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 73 Attractions in Kitakyushu
Type: Neighborhoods, Other
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting Japanese History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visited the place where Albert Einstein stayed during his first visit to Japan in 1943. The house is now a seaman's club/association. It did not matter whether Einstein stayed there or not because it did give a good glimpse of a typical visitors lodge during that era with antique looking furniture, wash basin and stand alone bathtub. It was a good walk into the past.

The town of Mojiko is called "retro" because it is now only a place of interest for visitors - the streets were fairly empty except for lots of tourist walking around. I am told that the locals do not live in the town center but in the outskirts. Mojiko was once a booming trading port for ships but now it is a relic of its past glories. Strolling through the streets give you a sense of past history.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    133
    43
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was daytime so it was fascinating view because I saw the place like in England. But it was only the few restaurant. I was with my Japanese friend and a Filipino woman. They tour me around. The place is cool and that time there was a lot of people because there were a summer break. There was a live band to see for free and it's medley songs that they played. There's a lobby for view the place, I mean at the top of the tallest building. We went there and had our drinks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place in modern Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

really unbelievable you could find this place in modern japan era, This was old harbour of Kita kyushu and now they renovating the place as tourist attraction, you will fine very delicious japanese cuisine, and they keep the harbour office, custom office, old train station, many interesting place to visit and many restaurant, One restaurant they serving noddle in hot roofing tile, and once you eat , you take soem and deep to special sauce, this is special menu for winter time.

I visit this place in winter 2012, and rain whole days, so I could visit much but is very interesting, if not in rain you could walk around old city.
You could reached the place easily by train from Hakata stotion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Lovely Port area for a stroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited in February 2013. The walk around Mojiko Retro was lovely. The afternoon was a bit crisp as it was winter, but we were rugged up and the sun came out to greet us. We visited some of the shops on the waterfront. One special place we stopped at was a shop that had aquariums where you sit on a bench, put your feet in the water and let the fish nibble away your dry skin! Especially good for rough heels. It was truly a new experience. This area is really lovely to relax and enjoy a drink or a meal. I would love to visit again for a longer time as we were only there one day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Charming Port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

All the attractive spots are within 10 mins walk from station.
An enjoyable excursion despite travelling time is 75 mins from Hakata.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojiko Retro also viewed

 
Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture
Kitakyushu, Fukuoka Prefecture
 

Been to Mojiko Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mojiko Retro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.