We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and pretty grounds worthy of a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shrine of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu

Shrine of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu
2-1-31 Yukinoshita, Kamakura 248-0005, Kanagawa Prefecture
+81 467-22-0315
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$102*
and up
Kamakura, Yokohama and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from...
Ranked #5 of 80 Attractions in Kamakura
4.0 of 5 stars 383 Reviews
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Zoos, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This important shrine, dating back to 1063, is a popular site for weddings and other events during the year, and is particularly beautiful during cherry blossom or azalea season.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pretty grounds worthy of a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I visited this shrine with my son and his wife during the week prior to their wedding in Japan. They had visited the shrine on their last holiday to Japan and wanted us to see it. We had walked to the shrine towards the end of the day after first visiting the Great Buddha (after taking the train and then a short bus ride to get there from Tokyo) and then walking through Kamakura and it's vendor & cafe lined streets (so all three can be done easily together in one afternoon). The pathway leading to the shrine is so peaceful. After walking up the big staircase leading to the entrance to the shrine, we went inside to take a moment to reflect. There is a large building adjacent to the shrine where souvenirs can be purchased at a reasonable cost. Many have specific meanings and/or are tokens of good luck. The grounds around the shrine are lovely and there are clean public washrooms available for use. It was dusk as we were leaving and the premises was lit up with pretty lighting throughout. There is absolutely no cost to visit the shrine or the lovely property it is located on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    227
    51
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a nice walk from Kotokuin Temple where the Great Buddha is located. I walked up the center of the street. I could only imagine when the trees would be covered in cherry blossoms. While visiting the shrine, I witnessed a wedding ceremony. It was pretty cool. Also take about 30 minutes and visit the museum on site. Great idols and works of art.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setagaya, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful shrine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Been to many shrines, but this place is beautiful. During the cherry blossom season the main road that leads to the shrine is filled with cherry blossoms. They had an event with food vendors and surrounding shop area is great as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Temple, lake, koi, lotus flowers & free admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Lovely to start your visit to Kamakura with a walk fom the station along a tree lined pedestrian lane and visit the beautiful gardens and temple. It is refreshing that this temple opens its doors without admission charge and is just a nice as others on route in our opinion. The pigeons and koi are very tame.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pigeons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went today and desided to to feed the pigeons they will go all over you!! Although they climb on you they don't bite or anything they were very tamed as if some one trained them.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrine of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu also viewed

Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
 
Kamakura, Kanagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Shrine of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrine of Tsurugaoka Hachimangu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.