We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, comfortable, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiyoshigekan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kiyoshigekan to your Saves list
Kiyoshigekan
Ryokan
  |   280-4 Kusatsu, Agatsuma-gun, Kusatsu-machi 377-1711, Gunma Prefecture (Kusatsu Onsen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
4.0 of 5 stars 42 Reviews
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quiet, comfortable, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went in the end of October, a good time to see the red leaves. We were able to reserve the private baths without any conflicts. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast and dinner was pretty good. Good customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

So sorry that I just remember that I did not write my review for my stay on 20 Feb 2013 in Kiyoshigekan.

A one night stay in Kiyoshigekan is really good experience but regret that we went there in mid Feb which is really too cold for us (-11 degree). The location is a bit too far for us during winter as all the roads are covered with snow and quite slippery but normal day will be very nice for a slow walk. Shigeta-san is very friendly and can speak a bit English which really make it more easy, comfortable and convenient for us to communicate by email or when we are there. We have a 6 tatami mat size room and also added their wonderful IRORI dinner. Very nice room but we forgotten to take the room picture before we mess up the room with our belonging so no photos. Our room is with good winter view of the main road and also the mountain, we have a great snow view by the window. Toilet in the room is a bit small for those that is big size and tall. I did not try the outdoor bath as the weather is really too cold. The indoor bath is nice and warm. Don't miss the IRORI dinner in winter, it is very nice and worth for money. The dinner served with hot pot, IRORI fish, sashimi, etc. We both really cannot finish all the dishes.

Kusatsu Onsen is a very beautiful town with cozy little town center. The main attraction Yubatake locate at the middle of the town center and surrounding with nice little shops and restaurants. It will be nice to go again not during winter and Kiyoshigekan will be a good choice for friends or couple trip that do not mind a brief walk together.

Room Tip: Room facing the main road as you will have a great view of nice mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Kusatsu. The Ryokan was a little tricky to find at first and was a short 10 minute walk into town. The separate baths for ladies and gents were excellent with a lovely outside tub as well. (sulphur was the first thing I smelt in the morning).The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Two of us stayed 3 nights in mid April. Location is not in the town centre but can be reached by foot. Pick up service was not included but the owner was very kind to pick us from the Bus Terminal and as our departure was early in the morning he also drove us to the Bus Terminal.
We find the room, futons, covers to be very clean. The only improvement we would recommend is that they instal hot tap at the sink in the room as it was still cold when we were there.
There were several onsens (including one leg onsen at the entrance) and as it was low season, we could use it as private onsen.
The owner speaks English and this is helpful for getting directions and sights to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

well worth the trip out to the mountains of Gunma prefecture. Kusatsu is a beatiful onsen town with a lot to offer; yumomi dances, shrines, temples, the hot water field, eating, shopping, skiing etc. Kiyoshigekan is, in my opinion, the best Ryokan in the area. It's a little older and less lavish than some establishments, but you can't beat the value of the room prices. The food is spectacular and the baths sublime. Theres a private rooftop rotenburo (outdoor bath) which can be reserved at pretty much anytime for mixed bathing, and the two sex segregated rotenburo can be used for the same after 9pm. There's also an indoor family bath and, on the lower floor, a semi-outdoor foot bath. Service is friendly and personal. My all time favourite place in Japan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location is bit too far from the town center compare to those with similar price level. The food arrange by the ryokan is decent but don't expect much, it's quite plain not fit to a strong taste preference of mine. Bath place is good though, especially they provide private area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I chose this ryokan off the Kusatsu website because they seemed to be able to handle business in English. The man who runs the place (Naoto Shigeta) is very friendly and can speak a little English. All instructions for use of the facility are in English and are very easy to understand. The place offers free wifi which is great for out of country customers.

The food offering is very good and the IRORI dinner is quite a treat if you've never had that style before. The dinner offering is quite large, so don't spoil your dinner by eating a big or late lunch. Breakfast and dinner are served promptly (8 and 6 respectively) as is expected in Japan, so being a bit late to any meal will only mean you get to eat it cold.

The baths are well maintained and are also 24 hour and turn into private use during off hours (I believe 9pm - 6am) for people who want them. I've stayed at ryokans that do not have 24 hour baths sometimes, so this was a definite plus.

If I were go to go to Kusatsu again, I would consider staying here again. It is a brief walk from the center of town and can give you a real taste of Japanese culture and cuisine!

Room Tip: I stayed in the main building so that is where I can share my experiences from. The 6 tatami mat is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiyoshigekan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiyoshigekan

Address: 280-4 Kusatsu, Agatsuma-gun, Kusatsu-machi 377-1711, Gunma Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Gunma Prefecture > Agatsuma-gun > Kusatsu-machi > Kusatsu Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Kusatsu-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Rakuten so you can book your Kiyoshigekan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiyoshigekan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.