We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albany House

Albany House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albany
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albany House
Save
You added Albany House to your Saves list
405 S. Mill St., Albany, WI 53502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Albany B&B and Inns
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

As backpackers on foot, we found Albany House convenient to the Ice Age trail, with several restaurants within walking distance for supper. Ken was a gracious host, and breakfast at 8:30 was very good, from fruit parfait to home made coffee cake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DEKALB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Albany House was the respite for our 25th anniversary getaway. We could not be more pleased. Ken and Margie are excellent hosts, and Margie's breakfast the first day was labelled the best she's ever had at a B&B by my wife: lemon poppy seed scones, fresh fruit cup, "egg blossom" (egg in puff pastry with some tomato sauce), fresh asparagus, roasted peppers stuffed with cream cheese, "candied"pepper bacon, juice, and coffee. Amazing, and the second day's breakfast was equally good. The Albany House is nicely decorated, has beautiful grounds, and our room ("Birdseye") was cozy, well appointed, and charmingly decorated. For $109 per night, I pronounce it a terrific value as well. Albany is on a the Sugar River Bike Trail, and Albany itself is close to several other cute towns: New Glarus, Monticello, Monroe, and Paoli. Great beer, great cheese, art/antiques, local history, brewery tours, cycling, walking, and water sports are all possible. If this sounds good to you, go, and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison,WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We recently spent 5 months at the Albany House River Cottage after selling our home before my husband retired. The cottage is a step back in time to simpler days. The furnishing are perfect, true to the era of cottages yet the cottage is full of luxury.
The charming master suite with gas fireplace and private bath was a wonderful retreat.
The first floor has a spa room with the largest whirlpool tube I have ever seen. The cottage has 2 bedrooms and a sofa sleeper, 2 baths a kitchen, dinning room, living room and a lovely sun porch. There is a small private patio with a grill and the large yard extends to the river.

We also had the good fortune to stay in the main house. It is equally charming as are the hosts Ken and Margie. Breakfast was a feast for the eyes as well as the body.

We loved our time at the Albany house and will consider it our home away whenever we return to Green County.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I were just looking to get away for the night and planned to visit the breweries in New Glarus and Monroe. While researching for things to do, dinner, etc. I stumbled across this B&B and thought it would be perfect. I was right! The house was beautiful and the accomodations cozy. Ken was a very gracious host and we truly enjoyed our stay. It was just the two of us that night and for a moment it felt as though we were transported back in time...you will not be disappointed. By the way, we stayed in the Joshua Wood Room with the fireplace. ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed 6 nights w/ Margie & Ken for the first time in late Sept.- early Oct. We stayed in the Eagle's Nest and loved it! It is so cozy and homey up there.....Margie's decorating style is unique, creative, and wonderful. There is a lot of room w/ 2 good-sized bedrooms,(quite comfortable beds), a very nice sitting area/living room,(a DVD player is available), decent sized bathroom w/ tub & shower, and a large table at one end,(it would be perfect for playing cards/games, or just visiting w/ another couple). Also, there is a small frig. which came in really handy for keeping our cheese and apple orchard purchases. The old historic home is very inviting......such a nice place to return to in the evening. The downstairs sitting room and front porch are just great. My husband so enjoyed having his coffee out on the porch each morning. I forgot to mention earlier the Eagle's Nest has its' own door and lock at the bottom of the stairs in case one wants to feel more private. From the B&B it is an easy scenic drive to New Glarus, Monticello, Brodhead, the little town of Paoli,(ask Margie about this one), & Mount Horeb. The whole area is so pretty w/ the barn quilts on some of the old barns, dairy cows & occasional horses, many trees, and rolling hills. Check out The Albany House B&B for special lodging in Green County, WI.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been staying with Margie and Ken for several years now. Their hospitality is unmatched and the property is lovely. The rooms are comfortable and furnished with Margie's exquisite taste in antiques, art, and whimsy. We initially went there to cycle the Sugar River Trail, but there is a wealth of interesting activities and places in this area of southern Wisconsin, and Margie is the go to person for advice on activities of interest. Margie's breakfasts are beyond compare. In addition to the wonderful food, she has a lovely touch in quietly facilitating extremely interesting breakfast conversations between the guests. We have watched local parades from the front porch, enjoyed the best Wisconsin Friday fish fry in the area, had the time of our lives for fun with the Monroe 4th of July celebration, we could go on and on......Great people, great place. John A.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I agree with John A. This is the Jewel of B& B's. My Husband and I stayed in the lovely river cottage to celebrate his birthday. It was beautifully decorated, maintained and a very relaxing setting. It was the perfect location to get to New Glarus, Little Norway, Mt Horeb, Monticello and Monroe. We loved exploring these and driving through the beautiful scenic farm roads that offered amazing picturesque backgrounds and beautiful foliage scenery. It was like we were back in Europe for a weekend. The locals are the most genuine, welcoming, and friendly in these towns. You will truly have a wonderful and welcoming experience. The local cheese artisans are the best and we brought back quite a selection of the fine artisan cheeses from Silver_Lewis Cheese Coop. Highly recommend the National Historic Cheesemaking Center in Monroe. Matt gaves us a great personal tour. We learned so much and have an even greater appreciation for the craft of cheesmaking. We look forward to revisiting soon!

Room Tip: Remember, the cottage doesn't include breakfast since it's a separate building so if you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Address: 405 S. Mill St., Albany, WI 53502
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.