We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge nice restaurant service poor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CALDWELL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lodge nice restaurant service poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I was at the lodge with a group using the conference room. All was well until we went to the restaurant for supper. The food was gooe when we finally got it. There was only 1 waitress for more then 10 tables. She was expected to wait on tables bus tables and collect the money. She was working her butt off. The restaurant management said not one would come in to help her. Then hire new help! I am sure in the whole county of Fayette County there must be someone who would like to earn extra money before Christmas. I feel very sorry for the waitress! The management needs to get their act together!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
37
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC/ Nothern VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in August 2009. Even though it was raining and misty for most of our stay (only stayed one night), the view was gorgeous and our room was lovely. We loved being on the lower level and sitting outside under the balcony. Unfortunely, the tram was closed when we were theere but we drove to the overlooks and hiked around and just enjoyed the quiet. When we came back, we decided to brave the lodge restaurant. It was the only time my husband has ever complained about his food. It was simply horrible and way overproced. It was basically microwave diiners. My husbands chicken was as hard as a hockey puck. Simply awful food and no apologies from the waiitress.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

The lodge has great views of the gourge, the rooms a little dated but were clean, the resturante was nice and prices were moderate. The hic-cups were as follows: from the balcony, each room has a great view unitl your try and sit in a chair. Then all you see is top 10 inch wide railing, the ironey of this has us laughing for several times during the trip. The second issue is the non-smoking policy. The entire lodge (including the room balconies) is non-smoking not just rooms. This fact is not well publicised. No liquore licence at the lodge so BYOB

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineralwells WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We absolutely loved the area, not much to do but enjoy the outdoors. It was very peaceful, none of the workers at the lodge were bothering us. The View from our upper room was spectacular!! Had some rain, but still had a wonderful time. However, only one complaint about the lodge was, it had no water pressure for the showers...probaly because the place was a little outdated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

After spending a noisy night at Pipestem State Park (McKeever Lodge), we headed to Eagles Nest, which overlooks a 600’ gorge on the New River. The lodge is smallish (only around 35 rooms) and the amenities few (wifi, outdoor pool and tennis are about it). But what it lacks in amenities, it makes up in solitude. We were amazed on our August Friday night stay that the place was sold out – it was so quiet and peaceful. Unlike the noisy lodge at Pipestem, the staff at Eagles Nest “enforces” a 10 PM quiet time, but it had been so quiet all day that we hardly noticed. The dining room offers reasonable fare for dinner and a free continental breakfast. For $25,you can take a tramway down to the river and a boat ride to view the famous Route 19 New River Bridge, which is the “tallest suspension bridge in the western hemisphere.” The park itself is kinda scattered along the highway, so don’t miss the Eagles Nest overlook ¾ mile west of the lodge and the beautiful Cathedral waterfall about 6 miles west, just as you enter the town of Gauley Bridge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Do not get a room on the 2 lower floors if you want to see the gorge from your room. The views are blocked by brush and there is no elevator to those floors.The restaurant had prices of a 4 star restaurant but the food was bland and thrown together.The staff was going through the motions of service but showed no real concern to help. The room was very nice and the surrounding area was beautiful. I wish that the state park department would sell it to some big name hotel chain that could make this diamond in the rough the hotel it could be.
Cons
No elevator to lower 2 floors. Wireless Internet was not working, Restaurant was overpriced for TV diner quality food, View of canyon view was blocked by overgrowth. Front desk personnel were polite but not helpful.
Pros
Location. Nice pool. Quality rooms

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Our two families (total of 7 young boys) just spent two (mid-week) magical days at this fine and unpretentious resort nestled (!) in the cliffs overlooking the New River Gorge. Our two quiet AAA-discounted modest-sized rooms (#217 and #218) had very thick walls and a lawn backyard that ends in a sturdy picket fence that looks right down on the gorge, There is also a tram that runs to the bottom of the gorge where you can visit a small nature center, buy snacks, and take speed boats rides up the river, hike across a train tressle bridge, or explore a small cave and splash in waterfalls along the Mill Creek trail. The hotel also has a nice pool and a tennis court (rackets available for free at the desk), and a few other great trails that lead out from the lodge. Their food there is generally quite good (outstanding except for the pork tenderloin), the snack shop at the bottom of the gorge is not a rip-off (e.g., only 65 cents for a can of soda), and there are a few great vista overlook points, all there on the property. We really enjoyed climbing down the stairs to Lover's Leap overlook after sunset and enjoy an owl's eye view of the fireflies come to life in the darkness of the Mill Creek and river banks a few hundred feet below us. You can also hike from the lodge to the river and have a friend drive a car to bring you back up. On Route 60 there are decent restaurants and the funky Mystery Hole optical illusion fun house (we missed it as they are closed on Tuesday). Sam's Market nearby has good laundry facilities and a few whitewater rafting companies are only 20 minutes away in nearby Hico (pronounced (HYE-ko) at State Route 19.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.