We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet gem in the New River Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairfax, Va.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A quiet gem in the New River Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

After spending a noisy night at Pipestem State Park (McKeever Lodge), we headed to Eagles Nest, which overlooks a 600’ gorge on the New River. The lodge is smallish (only around 35 rooms) and the amenities few (wifi, outdoor pool and tennis are about it). But what it lacks in amenities, it makes up in solitude. We were amazed on our August Friday night stay that the place was sold out – it was so quiet and peaceful. Unlike the noisy lodge at Pipestem, the staff at Eagles Nest “enforces” a 10 PM quiet time, but it had been so quiet all day that we hardly noticed. The dining room offers reasonable fare for dinner and a free continental breakfast. For $25,you can take a tramway down to the river and a boat ride to view the famous Route 19 New River Bridge, which is the “tallest suspension bridge in the western hemisphere.” The park itself is kinda scattered along the highway, so don’t miss the Eagles Nest overlook ¾ mile west of the lodge and the beautiful Cathedral waterfall about 6 miles west, just as you enter the town of Gauley Bridge.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    20
    8
    0
See reviews for
36
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Do not get a room on the 2 lower floors if you want to see the gorge from your room. The views are blocked by brush and there is no elevator to those floors.The restaurant had prices of a 4 star restaurant but the food was bland and thrown together.The staff was going through the motions of service but showed no real concern to help. The room was very nice and the surrounding area was beautiful. I wish that the state park department would sell it to some big name hotel chain that could make this diamond in the rough the hotel it could be.
Cons
No elevator to lower 2 floors. Wireless Internet was not working, Restaurant was overpriced for TV diner quality food, View of canyon view was blocked by overgrowth. Front desk personnel were polite but not helpful.
Pros
Location. Nice pool. Quality rooms

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Our two families (total of 7 young boys) just spent two (mid-week) magical days at this fine and unpretentious resort nestled (!) in the cliffs overlooking the New River Gorge. Our two quiet AAA-discounted modest-sized rooms (#217 and #218) had very thick walls and a lawn backyard that ends in a sturdy picket fence that looks right down on the gorge, There is also a tram that runs to the bottom of the gorge where you can visit a small nature center, buy snacks, and take speed boats rides up the river, hike across a train tressle bridge, or explore a small cave and splash in waterfalls along the Mill Creek trail. The hotel also has a nice pool and a tennis court (rackets available for free at the desk), and a few other great trails that lead out from the lodge. Their food there is generally quite good (outstanding except for the pork tenderloin), the snack shop at the bottom of the gorge is not a rip-off (e.g., only 65 cents for a can of soda), and there are a few great vista overlook points, all there on the property. We really enjoyed climbing down the stairs to Lover's Leap overlook after sunset and enjoy an owl's eye view of the fireflies come to life in the darkness of the Mill Creek and river banks a few hundred feet below us. You can also hike from the lodge to the river and have a friend drive a car to bring you back up. On Route 60 there are decent restaurants and the funky Mystery Hole optical illusion fun house (we missed it as they are closed on Tuesday). Sam's Market nearby has good laundry facilities and a few whitewater rafting companies are only 20 minutes away in nearby Hico (pronounced (HYE-ko) at State Route 19.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We chose this place for its proximity to the whitewater rafting trip we booked for the following morning. It's in a really pretty natural setting, high above the river. The room was just OK; nothing special. Like a motel. We used our private balcony to prepare and eat our dinner, since the restaurant's menu looked overpriced and uninteresting. A nearby ice machine made a fair bit of noise in our room. The price was pretty reasonable. Not a bad place to stay for rafting, but perhaps there are more interesting options elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

Impressive view from our room (214), a king corner suite. We paid $89 a night. After room taxes and fees it is closer to $99 a night. Our bed was soooo comfortable, it was hard to get out of... and room was fairly large. There is a 30 inch flat screen slim fit TV, we were not expecting a TV at all so we were very happy with that. We really enjoyed the food at the restaurant on site and ate there twice. It was very inexpensive and we loved the dessert!! :-) The tram (to nowhere) is $3. The pool was nice and there were not many children in it. I would suggest the "Mystery Hole" as a local attraction. ($5 Entrance Fee/ $3 For Children). Also, Cathedral Falls, the people working at the mystery hole will be able to tell you where that is.

Negatives - The room was not ready at check in time, so we had to wait outside the room. Cleaning Service did not make our bed or leave additional supplies (shampoo, coffee, etc.) I had to ask the front desk if that was normal, then when we returned it was ready. The floor was wet in our room in certain areas. The walls were so thin, you could hear everything.
If I stayed again, it would be in the fall or winter and I would request a room on a higher floor.

  • Liked — The Bed and The View
  • Disliked — The Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

Hawk's Nest Lodge at Hawk's Nest State Park has incredible views of the gorge. There is a tramway from the Lodge down to the bottom of the hill where you can take a jet boat, etc. However, after Labor Day, this only operates on the weekends. The (beautiful) pool is also closed after Labor Day.

Each room in the Lodge has two double beds. We had a gorge view room with a small balcony overlooking the gorge itself. Lovely views! The rooms are clean, but rather institutional looking. There is a television in the room. The doors to the rooms stick badly and it is impossible to close them without slamming them. Also, if you need shower pressure, these aren't the showers for you - especially if you need hot water, which seemed to be badly lacking.

The restaurant also enjoys beautiful views; however, the food is uninspiring, the service is pretty lack-luster, and the wine list contains all West Virginia wines. The entire Lodge has a depressing atmosphere - no one on staff looks happy.

The southwest of West Virginia has very little to offer in dining or accommodation choices, but the scenery is gorgeous - especially the New River Gorge and the New River Gorge Bridge. The white water rafting possibilities are endless.

But if you are a person who enjoys bed and breakfast or hotels with all the amenities, our suggestion would be to make reservations in Lewisburg or White Sulfur Springs.

  • Liked — the View
  • Disliked — dining room
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay one night and don't eat here
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.