We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stopped here for the night on our way home. The lodge is nice and quiet. At first when i was trying to find our room, we were way down at the bottom. We walked down 4 flights of stairs and finally found our room. The room was modest but was clean. Had a balcony to look at the view, which was nice. There is no hair dryer or refrigerator. Breakfast was a drag. They were out of everything. I thought $95/night was a little much for a state park. Overall breathtaking views. Make sure to visit The Mystery Hole. My kids enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    20
    8
    0
See reviews for
36
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stop in for a visit and tram ride, was a raining day but we were still able to ride the tram and at $4.00 totally worth it. The nature center is very well put together for children. We also walked down to "lovers leap" don't be it intimidated by 100 steps down it's really not that bad and the view is worth hike. We didnt realize we could've taken our picnic to the bottom so we stopped and the covered shelters just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Made Hawks Nest home base for a few days of hiking and rafting. Good location and incredible views. Room was on small side but balcony views of river compensated for size. Breakfast wasn't much and restaurant was expensive for dinner so plan accordingly. Definitely check on suite availability if plan to spend much time in room with family of four.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Where else can you walk out the back door and ride a tram down to the river for a boat trip to the New River Gorge bridge? Where else can you book a room with a gorgeous view of the tram, river, boat, and hills of WV? The room came with a fantastic view and a balcony for relaxing. The room was clean and quiet. It reminded me of the vintage rooms on Route 66 - older, but well maintained. I had a lot of questions and the desk persons were helpful and cheerful. BYO hairdryer and iron. I was so relaxed staying here, I didn't even miss those amenities. The property (same building) has a gift shop and restaurant. The restaurant food is just ok; it is lacking in flavor and in some cases, adequate heating. Eat there for the convenience, not the quality of the food. Very convenient to have everything in one place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, KY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was first trip to Hawks Nest SP in 30 years. We stayed in lodge which was ultra clean and room had beautiful view of the Gorge. This lodge was built in the 1960's or so but remains a nice property. If you're in Eastern time zone and looking for a calm getaway, give this some consideration. It is in a very rural area which we found attractive rather than the busy activity of a city setting or a beach. Mountain views of area are wonderful. Food was okay and view from dining room may be worth the one hour trip east of Charleston on US 60. Bottom line, if you're looking for a calm getaway from hustle and bustle, consider this property. We'll likely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hawks nest had pretty views but we were expecting a little more from this park.It is a lot smaller than Babcock S.P. but does have some good activities.There are lot's of steps but it is worth it.The view of the bridge was hard to see.We chose to hike down to the bottom which was very steep & a little slippery.One of our family members fell & I came close.I would still recommend it if you are able but watch out for the poison ivy it is everywhere! We took the tram back up (4$ round trip or 2$ one way).The Tram was scary!!If you are afraid of heights I would skip this!They also have Jet boats at the bottom.There are lot's of trails to hike.Overall we liked Hawks Nest & would recommend it if you are in the area but did prefer Babcock S.P.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After traveling many miles in the car, we were rejuvenated by the quiet atmosphere of the Hawks Nest State Park Lodge. The view over the river from the lodge's patio was calming as we watched a long train cross the river on the bridge below. We enjoyed walking down the nearby trail to get a better view of the cliffs and the river. Dinner in the restaurant was okay--we certainly didn't want to get back in the car to find another place! Our suite was large and the beds were very comfortable. There was a coffee maker to help us get started in the morning and a little balcony where we could have a quiet reading place. Continental breakfast was included--it was adequate but nothing special. For an extra fee, a cooked breakfast was available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.