We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful respite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
Long Island
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Restful respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After traveling many miles in the car, we were rejuvenated by the quiet atmosphere of the Hawks Nest State Park Lodge. The view over the river from the lodge's patio was calming as we watched a long train cross the river on the bridge below. We enjoyed walking down the nearby trail to get a better view of the cliffs and the river. Dinner in the restaurant was okay--we certainly didn't want to get back in the car to find another place! Our suite was large and the beds were very comfortable. There was a coffee maker to help us get started in the morning and a little balcony where we could have a quiet reading place. Continental breakfast was included--it was adequate but nothing special. For an extra fee, a cooked breakfast was available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
35
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This park is very pretty but the lodge is old and outdated. The rooms and bathrooms are small, no hairdryer or coffee maker in the room. The free breakfast is one of the worst I've had. Didn't even want to chance it for any other meal - go to Fayetteville - 15 to 20 minutes away to Pies and Pints or to Adventures on the Gorge resort - Chettys has good wings on Monday nights and burgers and sandwiches. Sit outside and enjoy the view. If you go west from Hawk's Nest entrance you will soon come to the overlook and park gift shop. Hwy. 60 that runs in front of the lodge is a scenic road and Hawk's Nest is at MM 104. Around MM 95 there is a lovely waterfall that you can walk up to and take photos. It's just past the sign that says welcome to Gauley Bridge (not a bridge but a town) on the right side. No signage about the waterfall, we almost passed it but were actually looking for it so we were able to slow down and get into the parking area. After visiting this waterfall, if you keep going west to about MM 92 you will be in the next town of Glen Ferris and there is a small, old power plant on the river. Park in the parking area for Kanawha Falls and there's another wide, short set of falls to view from the riverbank. The Scenic Hwy. 60 brochure I had picked up said there were 12 waterfalls in 5 miles but that they were seasonal. I guess we were there in the dry season.

Back to the lodge - functionally obsolete if you ask me - a true waste of design but, I guess they built things differently back then. Trails near the lodge weren't well maintained or marked. We're hikers so we appreciate signage, distances, etc. Not much of either and not many other great hikes in the area except for Kaymoor Mine Trail. Two nights here and we were gone.

Room Tip: Rooms have the old style metal key with the plastic fob. Even rooms with a "view" don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Personally, our family adores Hawk's Nest. It is old school, nothing fancy, ultra affordable - the views around Hawk's Nest are unbeatable, lots of beautiful places to walk, and a nice, basic outdoor pool. The Nest will not appeal to those seeking a lot of stimulation, fancy "stuff" or modern decorations - this is precisely what I love about it myself! Be sure to take the Air Tram down to the bottom, to the lake area and wide the boat! The couple who run the boat service are lovely characters and they have the cutest miniature schnauzer! The staff at Hawk's Nest are excellent and friendly people. In the general area (within about a 10 mile or so radius) I definitely recommend venturing out to Fayetteville - awesome, artsy little river town. Some of the best dining you will find in the country is right here. Diogi's is a MUST (dog lovers, head here asap!!) as is Pies& Pints. Tudor's Biscuit World is a WV breakfast staple. Also, check out Three Rivers Avian Center in the general vicinity - they do wonderful work in our state rescuing and rehabbing birds of prey.

Room Tip: All are relatively similar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Trip with family for Mom and Dad's 50th anniversary. Mom is in wheelchair, needed ADA room which many places in area don't have. Made reservations way in advance,had to get rooms on seperate floors. On checkin, were able to get rooms together. Enjoyed supper and the free breakfast in the third floor restauratn with awesom view of gorge and the bridge. Drove down the dirt road in Anisted to the jet boat dock because we couldn't get down the two flights of stairs to the tram ticket office or the full flight of stairs at the bottom platform. There are still twelve stairs from the nature center/gift shop to the boat dock, but they are wide enough to haul a wheelchiar down one at a time. One guy caught a good sized fish while waiting on the boat. To avoid missing the boat, be aware that the times on the signs at the lodge don't match the current boat times. Ticket office opens at 11 am and first boat departs at 11:30. Final trip times are also wrong on sign, so double check.

Room Tip: Get gorge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had a great time visiting Hawks Nest. The rooms were clean and well cared for. The pool isn't heated so we didn't swim. We didn't spend the extra for the gorge view and I wouldn't waste my money on it. The forest view was fantastic. I almost rated it it good because the breakfast was so bad. One of the worst continental breakfasts I've ever eaten. They had a raisin oatmeal bread that was rotten literally, and there was nothing healthy to eat except apples.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a gorge view room. The forest view is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McConnelsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

You have wonderful views from the dining room as well as the viewing platforms, the restaurant has a very good section of food at a very decent price, most of all the breakfast is very good, they have a morning breakfast that comes with your stay but you can also purchase the deluxe breakfast for an additional $5.99 that is a bargain, more that one person can eat, the staff was all very friendly and helpful in any way, would recommend to a friend

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and paid a bit more for a view of the gorge (definitely worth it). The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast, even the coffee was terrible. They did have a few apples that we took with us. They did not have a hairdryer in the room but one was available at the front desk. We took the tram to the river and then the boat trip up to see bridge (worth it). We also drove to the bottom and crossed the river on the old bridge at the bottom. It was a beautiful drive down and up and it allowed us to see the bridge from different heights and angles. Also we picked up meals in Fayetteville and ate them on our balcony. Enjoy

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.