We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay in the lodge, but loved the park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Didn't stay in the lodge, but loved the park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous views, friendly staff. The jet boat ride was amazing and the cutest little couple run it. We had a blast. We didn't stay in the lodge, so I can't speak for it, but everything else was great! I highly recommend stopping here and the boat ride is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
25
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The lodge is a typical 1950's structure but is very well kept. The room (forest view) was nice size and the two queen beds very comfortable. The bathroom is tiny and has no counter but the shower was hot and strong. The staff is very pleasant. The free breakfast is mediocre but then we are spoiled by the free breakfasts at Hilton and Holiday Inn. You can order a large breakfast for $5.99. We did not try lunch or dinner but the menu looked good. There really is nothing to do in Ansted, but the surrounding areas a gorgeous and you are just a short drive away from lots of beauty and history. I would definitely return to the lodge as it is a good value and a nice base to explore the surrounding areas. One other thing, do not trust your GPS is you use the lodge address as it will take you down a dead end 2 mile dirt road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was a bit startling to drive up to the lodge, as the exterior of the building appeared to be covered in something black, and looked like it had not been tended to in many years. We went inside to have lunch, where we were told they had a buffet lunch for $15. Yikes. The server pointed out that this was a good price since it included both beverage and dessert. So we agreed. We ordered tea, only to learn that they were out of tea. I don't know why they couldn't make some, but perhaps that wasn't possible. So we asked if we could have coffee, and were told yes. Then the coffee appeared on our bill for several extra dollars. When we questioned this (since the big benefit of the buffet was that it included beverage), we were told that it doesn't usually include coffee. So you're out of tea, coffee isn't included; what drink is included with the $15 buffet lunch? "Pop" we were told. It was just a curious lunch experience.

Although the rooms appeared to have been updated recently with new cabinets to hold new flat screen TVs, we were disappointed that the state park we came to enjoy appeared to have fallen into disrepair. In the room itself, there was no stopper in the tub, so that the tub could not be used for a bath, and there was a problem with the shower. We commented to one another that we would much prefer to be able to bathe, than to have a new flat screen TV, and we wish the renovation dollars would have been spent on facility and park updates, instead of new TVs. We recognize this is a personal preference, and perhaps the decision makers knew that more people prefer new TVs to nice showers, attractive facilities, good meals and maintained hiking trails. For us, though, this was very disappointing, and left us wondering if the new TVs might have been in preparation for the Boy Scout Jamboree visitors, and the facility is going to be let go afterwards, since everything else appeared to be untended or in a state of disrepair.

We thought the room rate was very high for the quality, although breakfast was included, but was disappointing with very few healthy choices (sugared cereals, donuts, a beverage very reminiscent of tang. There was some oatmeal, but it was so watery that it was difficult to pull up actual oatmeal from the bin.), and all served on Styrofoam, even though it was in the full service restaurant that serves other meals on plates with silverware.

We tried to hike on two different trails, neither of which was well marked and both difficult to find, only to have to abandon each attempt when we realized the trails had not been maintained and were unsafe (wood steps crumbling, eroding, slippery, etc., and this is coming from hikers, not from folks unaccustomed to trails). AWe then tried to find a third trail that was advertised as the newest trail along a railroad bed, but we learned it was available only when the lift car was running, which was very limited hours, as this was the only way to reach the trail. Although we had intended to spend a couple of days hiking and exploring, we shortly realized there was nothing we could do in what was once a wonderful and inviting state park, so we checked out after one night and moved on, really disappointed.

Part of the disappointment for us is that we had just commented with other family that WV had the nicest state parks of any states we knew, and had reminisced about the wonderful parks we used to enjoy years ago. It was against this backdrop that we excitedly planned our visit, so seeing the current state of disrepair, and finding it not possible to enjoy the once inviting amenities was sad to us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the lodge in a King Suite with a forest view. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the pillows were perfect. The towels were brand new. My only complaint is the restaurant. The food was lackluster to say the least. It is worth a drive into Fayetteville for some great dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wonderful place to visit the room was one queen and a balcony view everything was super clean the pillows were really flat mattress could stand to be replaced but its a state park I guess you will have that. very impressed with all the things to do at the park. If you hike or fish it would be great fun. The shower heads in shower need replaced. Though the bathroom was very clean as was the room the staff is great and helpful very beautiful hikes and cool tram to ride.. There was a wedding downstairs it was quiet and all cleaned up by ten. No problems there. Not so happy it was so expensive but we had a great time. With a few updates would be worth every penny they ask. I wonder if the suites are nicer? I love the retro look but could use a few updates the towels in bathrooms need replaced they were ragged . I would consider coming for a family trip, but I felt like there wasn't,t much privacy in the room for a quiet time.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a gourge view and a room on the end of the hall it was noisy being in the room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culby
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our room overlooked the gorge, cable car, railroad, and river (the trains go very slowly and don't blow their horn so they don't disturb guests). The lodge is very clean and well-maintained; I would go back in a heartbeat. They have an outdoor pool and several hiking/biking trails. We truly enjoyed the cable car and jet boat. The restaurant overlooks the gorge and they have a basic menu...I had excellent whitefish with a tasty salsa and steamed vegetables. The drive to the lodge on Route 60 is beautiful; don't miss the overlook with views of the hydroelectric dam and river. The bike trail to Ansted is excellent and crosses a beautiful creek.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the gorge side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our stay at Hawks Nest Lodge was wonderful. Yes, the lodge is dated, but it was comfortable and clean. The views from our room #435 was spectacular. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They could use a few more vending machines. We wanted bottled water at night and the 2 machines they had were empty and the gift shop closes at 4:30. Just a little helpful hint to the lodge. We did have a great time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted
Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.