We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
culby
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great view, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our room overlooked the gorge, cable car, railroad, and river (the trains go very slowly and don't blow their horn so they don't disturb guests). The lodge is very clean and well-maintained; I would go back in a heartbeat. They have an outdoor pool and several hiking/biking trails. We truly enjoyed the cable car and jet boat. The restaurant overlooks the gorge and they have a basic menu...I had excellent whitefish with a tasty salsa and steamed vegetables. The drive to the lodge on Route 60 is beautiful; don't miss the overlook with views of the hydroelectric dam and river. The bike trail to Ansted is excellent and crosses a beautiful creek.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the gorge side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    20
    8
    0
See reviews for
36
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeannette
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our stay at Hawks Nest Lodge was wonderful. Yes, the lodge is dated, but it was comfortable and clean. The views from our room #435 was spectacular. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They could use a few more vending machines. We wanted bottled water at night and the 2 machines they had were empty and the gift shop closes at 4:30. Just a little helpful hint to the lodge. We did have a great time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful state park lodge on a motorcycle trip with friends. The rooms were clean and mine had a terrific view of the gorge and the New River Bridge in the distance. The staff were very helpful. The surprising part was the excellent restaurant with delightful cooked to order selections. Best restaurant in all the WV State Parks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Ohio
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just spent the weekend at Hawk's Nest Lodge and had a wonderful experience. Our family is from that part of WV and we have since all scattered. I, along with 3 sisters, took our mother there for a "Girl's Weekend" and the lodge exceeded our expectations. Being in a state park, we did not expect to have a glamorous hotel. What we got was a very clean place to stay, very friendly staff and a view that would knock your socks off. Us sisters stayed in a canyon view suite which was on a corner and had two glass walls. One view was of the forest which was wonderful. The other view was on the gorge side and the view was stunning. The suite was spacious enough for all of us. We got Mama a single room with the gorge view. We sat on the balcony of either room and were entertained by Rocky Raccoon as he/she begged for us to throw food.
The tram took us to the gorge bottom. From there we took the boat ride to view the Hawk's Nest Dam and then to view the New River Bridge from the underside. A word of caution here - you cannot step directly onto the boat. You have to step on a seat and lower yourself into the boat. This concerned us for Mama who is a very young 89. Everyone on the boat was ready to grab her hand and offer help. She made it in and out safely.
We had one dinner at the lodge restaurant and again were pleasantly surprised. The menu is very limited, but the food was very good. And - was very reasonably priced. Five of us had dinner with a 20% tip and the account did not quite total $100.00.
Before I left, I checked a couple of weekend when I could go back with my husband. They are pretty well booked in the summer, so make your reservations early.
I highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNVILLE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This lodge has the most beautiful view from the balcony sliding glass doors. Our view was a stunning view of the New River gorge from about 800 feet above the river surface. We sat on our small balcony in the morning watching hawks and turkey vultures soaring over the gorge - absolutely peaceful and amazing location. The lodge room is on par with a medium type motel, very clean and functional, tv reception is good, standard channel selection, bathroom clean, good water pressure. A free, hot breakfast is included, and the view from the restaurant takes advantage of the absolutely perfect location of the lodge. The lodge even includes an outdoor pool - since it only opened for the season a few days before our stay, let me tell you the water was cold, but refreshing after a hike that included 800 wooden steps! If you are planning a trip to the New River gorge area, don't miss at least one night here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river gorge view. Note, there is a racoon that shows up every day (in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have had the lodge on my bucket list since traveling to UVA in 1983. This is a lovely setting overlooking the New River gorge area. Very clean. Peaceful. Rooms are smallish, but a great place for enjoying all the area has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lot's of folks seem to like this place, and it is very well maintained, but know that the building is concrete, and was constructed in 1970, and the decor strikes me as that of a 1970's Library or school. If you don't mind the "institutional-decor", this might be a decent place to stay as it is very close to very beautiful parks, and scenery.
Best of the best eateries are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Check that you get the room with the view you want.... All the view you can stand is just outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.