We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Jeannette
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our stay at Hawks Nest Lodge was wonderful. Yes, the lodge is dated, but it was comfortable and clean. The views from our room #435 was spectacular. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They could use a few more vending machines. We wanted bottled water at night and the 2 machines they had were empty and the gift shop closes at 4:30. Just a little helpful hint to the lodge. We did have a great time!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful state park lodge on a motorcycle trip with friends. The rooms were clean and mine had a terrific view of the gorge and the New River Bridge in the distance. The staff were very helpful. The surprising part was the excellent restaurant with delightful cooked to order selections. Best restaurant in all the WV State Parks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Ohio
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just spent the weekend at Hawk's Nest Lodge and had a wonderful experience. Our family is from that part of WV and we have since all scattered. I, along with 3 sisters, took our mother there for a "Girl's Weekend" and the lodge exceeded our expectations. Being in a state park, we did not expect to have a glamorous hotel. What we got was a very clean place to stay, very friendly staff and a view that would knock your socks off. Us sisters stayed in a canyon view suite which was on a corner and had two glass walls. One view was of the forest which was wonderful. The other view was on the gorge side and the view was stunning. The suite was spacious enough for all of us. We got Mama a single room with the gorge view. We sat on the balcony of either room and were entertained by Rocky Raccoon as he/she begged for us to throw food.
The tram took us to the gorge bottom. From there we took the boat ride to view the Hawk's Nest Dam and then to view the New River Bridge from the underside. A word of caution here - you cannot step directly onto the boat. You have to step on a seat and lower yourself into the boat. This concerned us for Mama who is a very young 89. Everyone on the boat was ready to grab her hand and offer help. She made it in and out safely.
We had one dinner at the lodge restaurant and again were pleasantly surprised. The menu is very limited, but the food was very good. And - was very reasonably priced. Five of us had dinner with a 20% tip and the account did not quite total $100.00.
Before I left, I checked a couple of weekend when I could go back with my husband. They are pretty well booked in the summer, so make your reservations early.
I highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerfunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNVILLE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This lodge has the most beautiful view from the balcony sliding glass doors. Our view was a stunning view of the New River gorge from about 800 feet above the river surface. We sat on our small balcony in the morning watching hawks and turkey vultures soaring over the gorge - absolutely peaceful and amazing location. The lodge room is on par with a medium type motel, very clean and functional, tv reception is good, standard channel selection, bathroom clean, good water pressure. A free, hot breakfast is included, and the view from the restaurant takes advantage of the absolutely perfect location of the lodge. The lodge even includes an outdoor pool - since it only opened for the season a few days before our stay, let me tell you the water was cold, but refreshing after a hike that included 800 wooden steps! If you are planning a trip to the New River gorge area, don't miss at least one night here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river gorge view. Note, there is a racoon that shows up every day (in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnvilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I have had the lodge on my bucket list since traveling to UVA in 1983. This is a lovely setting overlooking the New River gorge area. Very clean. Peaceful. Rooms are smallish, but a great place for enjoying all the area has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoiaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lot's of folks seem to like this place, and it is very well maintained, but know that the building is concrete, and was constructed in 1970, and the decor strikes me as that of a 1970's Library or school. If you don't mind the "institutional-decor", this might be a decent place to stay as it is very close to very beautiful parks, and scenery.
Best of the best eateries are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Check that you get the room with the view you want.... All the view you can stand is just outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AverageNiceGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed at Hawk's Nest on several occasions in the past year. The lodge is an older, but interesting, building. There are several lounge areas throughout the lodge and its location is its greatest asset. Some updating of the rooms is gradually taking place. Most of the rooms are somewhat small, but the space is adequate. During all of our stays we had a flat screen TV. There is Wi-Fi available in some of the public areas but not in the rooms. We recommend a canyon view room. Some of the rooms do not have elevator access and you must carry your bags up or down the stairs. If this is an issue for you, be sure to inquire about accessibility. During one stay, we had room 320 which is a canyon view room on the walk-in level. Some rooms have in-room coffee pots; others do not. Coffee is available in the main lobby in the mornings. None of the rooms we have had had hairdryers, so bring your own. The contracted restaurant's continental breakfast is pretty sparse. It consists of oatmeal, grits, hard-boiled eggs, pastries and breads and two types of cereal. There is a hot breakfast available, but the one time we ordered it, it was a microwaved plate of breakfast foods, not freshly cooked. We did not eat any other meals at the restaurant. The current vendor is quite disappointing. In the past, the breakfast food at the lodge was quite good. Overall, for the money, Hawk's Nest is a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the West Virginia mountains. The park staff are always friendly and accommodating. All of the rooms we've had were spotlessly clean. It's a great area for hiking, rafting, rock climbing and sightseeing. Don't miss driving down the Fayette Station Road which you can access near the New River Gorge Bridge. What a treat!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have elevator access. If carrying your luggage up or down stairs is a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingfoolGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ansted
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
23.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
19.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
20.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawks Nest State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing