We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, but the decor is like that of a 1970's Library” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hawks Nest State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Hawks Nest State Park Lodge
49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, but the decor is like that of a 1970's Library”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lot's of folks seem to like this place, and it is very well maintained, but know that the building is concrete, and was constructed in 1970, and the decor strikes me as that of a 1970's Library or school. If you don't mind the "institutional-decor", this might be a decent place to stay as it is very close to very beautiful parks, and scenery.
Best of the best eateries are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Check that you get the room with the view you want.... All the view you can stand is just outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
37
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed at Hawk's Nest on several occasions in the past year. The lodge is an older, but interesting, building. There are several lounge areas throughout the lodge and its location is its greatest asset. Some updating of the rooms is gradually taking place. Most of the rooms are somewhat small, but the space is adequate. During all of our stays we had a flat screen TV. There is Wi-Fi available in some of the public areas but not in the rooms. We recommend a canyon view room. Some of the rooms do not have elevator access and you must carry your bags up or down the stairs. If this is an issue for you, be sure to inquire about accessibility. During one stay, we had room 320 which is a canyon view room on the walk-in level. Some rooms have in-room coffee pots; others do not. Coffee is available in the main lobby in the mornings. None of the rooms we have had had hairdryers, so bring your own. The contracted restaurant's continental breakfast is pretty sparse. It consists of oatmeal, grits, hard-boiled eggs, pastries and breads and two types of cereal. There is a hot breakfast available, but the one time we ordered it, it was a microwaved plate of breakfast foods, not freshly cooked. We did not eat any other meals at the restaurant. The current vendor is quite disappointing. In the past, the breakfast food at the lodge was quite good. Overall, for the money, Hawk's Nest is a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the West Virginia mountains. The park staff are always friendly and accommodating. All of the rooms we've had were spotlessly clean. It's a great area for hiking, rafting, rock climbing and sightseeing. Don't miss driving down the Fayette Station Road which you can access near the New River Gorge Bridge. What a treat!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have elevator access. If carrying your luggage up or down stairs is a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hawks Nest is a great lodge with some fantastic views. The rooms are clean and comfortable. the breakfast you get with the nights stay is o-k but were not to concern with that. We stayed here two nights and hope to make it back someday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have been going to Hawk's Nest every few years for the last 36 years. What you have to know up front is that this IS NOT a luxury hotel. It was built many years ago. It has been upgraded somewhat. This is a place you go to enjoy solitude, quiet and to get away from the bustling world. Use this lodge to catch up on your sleep & to spend quality time with your significant other. It is clean & acceptable for a week's stay. There is a price structure based on the time of year you desire to go. Be sure to check on that online. Contracted restaurant on-site that is fair to good. Light breakfast included with room..

Room Tip: Many of the rooms overlook the New River Gorge which is beautiful. There are regular rooms & sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Most hotels with low rates also have low ratings. What attracted me to Hawks Nest was the low rate and high ratings. The high ratings were well worth it.
The place was clean, the rooms not large, but up to date. Did I say it was clean? It sparkled. My room even had a flat screen TV.
It wasn't busy either. Really quiet and I slept well. It is a bit off the beaten path, but my Tom Tom took me right to the lodge. The drive past Beckley and Fayetteville was worth it, and besides, it was on the way north, so it really wasn't out of the way.
There was a continental breakfast of coffee, cereals, porridge, grits (if you like them), toast, & fruits included. A full breakfast of a 3 egg omelet, toast, bacon, sausage, ham selection, hash browns and coffee was available for only $5.00. There were some other selections too.
I arrived about 7:30pm and the dining room was closed. So have dinner before you arrive. There is a pizza place in Ansted a few miles away if that suits you.
I imagine the lodge would be much busier in the summer, but for this time of the year, it was ideal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ok, let's face it here. When you come to a place like the new river gorge, what you really want is someplace to sleep. Well you won't find that at the Hawks Nest Lodge! What you find is a great place to sleep. It's clean, staff is awesome and on it. The Park Rangers are as helpful as they come and the rooms have awesome views down the cliffs to the river.
We had an excellent room with good firm beds. When your at a place like the New River Gorge you spend all of the daylight hours out in the gorge! If you want a place to stay where there's millions of things to do on location, go to Disney.
Actually though, that's not the case here either. There are rail trails that start from the park, Lovers Leap overlook AND the tram that'll take you down to the river where the jet boat rides are! This lodge is a destination in and of itself.
You are centrally located to all the other attractions here in the gorge as well as being one. We came in they winter as we come in the summer a lot and camp out. The sun goes down early in the winter but no worries, they have Saturday dinner theatre at the (oh did I mention) restaurant that's right here on site serving 3 meals a day. Oh I also forgot to mention that your room includes breakfast!
The staff, as I mentioned, is excellent. Our drivers side window wouldn't go up on Saturday night on MLK weekend. They assisted us in finding a garage 1/4 mile down the road, called ahead and had the owner waiting out in front of his shop to fix the problem. If you have any problems auto wise in Ansted, WVa, go to Skaggs. They'll fix you up quick and good.
All in all, the stay you have here is worth the 5 stars on what you are looking for in a vacation to this area and more. Call ahead cause the rooms book quick and get a view of the valley. It's amazing!!!

Room Tip: Call way ahead and get a view of the gorge, the balconies are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the biggest surprise of the trip. Very walkable trails (at the main entrance and what I will call the historic entrance. Beautiful views. The tram was a ball to ride on also.

We rode the tram down and walked the railtrail which I believe the city owns to a old coal mine. It was a lot of fun and I wish that all the trails would have been opened as two trails were blocked by downed trees that had not been removed yet.

There was a restaurant and hotel which we did not visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Nest State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest State Park Lodge

Address: 49 Hawks Nest Park Road, Hawks Nest State Park, Ansted, WV 25812
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawks Nest State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest State Park Hotel Ansted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.