We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadside Route 60 WV attraction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mystery Hole

The Mystery Hole
16724 Midland Trail, Ansted, WV 25812
(304) 658-9101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 attractions in Ansted
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Roadside Route 60 WV attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Roadside attractions like The Mystery Hole used to define family vacations, even if you were like me and now only remember them as the places your father refused to stop. Now that we're in the front seat. I make it a point to say "yes" to number of classic tourist attractions remaining. The Mystery Hole is one of those that made us glad we did. From the crap-stuffed gift-shop entrance to the "hole" itself, it's all cheesy goodness. Even our kid appreciated it. Cheap Grizwold's would love this!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Can't believe how much I enjoyed this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

So incredibly cheesy, so incredibly entertaining. I feel embarrassed to have enjoyed this as much as I did. This is classic. Part of me wants to say it's so bad it's good, but that doesn't do it justice. The people who work here are so passionate about making sure you have a good time. Simple, inexpensive, old-school fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Time Warp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved this place!.... The tour guide was awesome. A handsome, young guy, about 18 - 20 - very charismatic and funny; He set the tone for a fun and lighthearted tour - I could see this being a boring or uneventful attraction with someone with less personality.
If you get a chance - DEFINITELY go see! For 40 somethings and older, take the kids or grandkids..these old, whimsical, nostalgic places are far and few between.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappearing classics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Roadside attractions like The Mystery Hole used to define family vacations, even if you were like me and now only remember them as the places your father refused to stop. Now that we're in the front seat, my husband and I make it a point to say "yes" to the ever-dwindling number of classic tourist attractions remaining. The Mystery Hole is one of those that made us glad we did. From the crap-stuffed gift-shop entrance to the "hole" itself, it's all cheesy goodness. Even our kids, who are in high school and college, appreciated it. Cheap, tacky fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culby
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very fun tourist trap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is Route 66 stuff for sure. Pay the $6.50 for adults to see the Mystery Hole and see if you can explain why it does what it does. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone with a sense of adventure and humor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mystery Hole also viewed

 

Been to The Mystery Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mystery Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mystery Hole to your Saves list