We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is everything here, very clean and functional, great location for the outdoor enthusiast, design is a blast from the past a” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest Lodge

Hawks Nest Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hawks Nest Lodge
Save Saved
You added Hawks Nest Lodge to your Saves list
177 West Main St, Ansted, WV   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ansted
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“View is everything here, very clean and functional, great location for the outdoor enthusiast, design is a blast from the past a”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you want great views and a convenient location to the air tram, jet boat ride and hiking trails, it is all right there. Sacrifice a little luxury but not cleanliness. Restaurant breakfast is horrible, the complementary one and the one that cost $5.99. Skip it and have make a different plan. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would love to go back in the fall for that gorge view!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here with family for whitewater rafting on the Gauley and
New Rivers. The lodge is definitely not up to par with hotels in other states, but this is in the mountain districts of one of the poorest states in the union, so you can't find too much fault with it. They do a great job with what they have. Rooms can be rough-looking but they are clean and liveable. The lodge staff does a great job cleaning, this is a place where sheets are actually washed every day! The beds are very nice, and if you can forgive appearances the room will serve you well for sleeping. Bathrooms were good, water temp. and pressure were faultless, but the bathrooms are rather small and look like they could do with some renovation. They have a restaurant but it isn't that good, so dine out somewhere. Breakfast is meager but acceptable.

Room Tip: The view is fantastic, get a room with one, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the view, loved the rooms......had a view of the Gorge and it was beautiful....went on a jet boat ride to view the bridge closer, awesome ride......lots of fun, would be a great place to just stay and ride all around to view everything....a great motorcycle trip, they are very motorcycle friendly...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you want a place absolutely silent and pitch dark of a night, with the sounds of the river and trails to lull you to sleep, this is it. The breeze coming in had a chill and was refreshing. The rooms are small but adequate for a night's sleep. The water pressure was great, no vent in the bathroom. Take drinks, the machines empty fast. Don't expect a night life unless you drive. There is a Gino's for excellent pizza and Tudor's for breakfast. The gas station closes but has all you might need if you get there before. Views are spectacular. The restaurant is convenient and the food is just fine, this isn't a big city restaurant folks, just real food that's edible. I'm from the area but had never stayed and for the price, loved it. I could love with that view and sounds. There are tennis courts and a kids playground, overlook, tram, boat rides, etc.

Room Tip: Choose a gorge view. Basement rooms are not wheelchair accessible, keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We chose this hotel because the cold weather forced us to abandon our camp grounds at Adventure on the Gorge. We had to drive back and forth from this lodge to Lansing and Adventure on the Gorge (20 minutes each way), but this hotel was just so cute. From the fireplace in the lobby to the the acceptable free breakfast with the amazing view, we were charmed and impressed.

This place is a jewel with wonderful service, clean, comfortable rooms complete with a balcony overlooking the Gorge, extra tables and couches on every floor so that our family could spread out and play Settlers of Catan. We did not use the pool or eat there, but we would highly recommend this lodge. Where else can anyone find a place like this for less than $70 a night?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andersonville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My parents and I stayed in a suite for our family reunion at Hawk's Nest and it was a lovely place to stay. The view is phenomenal, the price of the rooms was good, the staff was very helpful and accommodating, and the pool was relaxing. A couple of pieces of advice, though: 1. The restaurant is not good at all (although the free breakfast gets the job done). If the food were better, I would have given them 5 stars. 2. If you need a handicap-accessible room, let them know to put you in a room on the 3rd floor! We didn't know and wound up on the first floor. It was probably the hardest room to get to and it took my Mom a long time to get there. We'll be back in 3 years for our next reunion!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

When we checked in and went to our room, the temperature in the room was about 105 degrees, outside temp was around 70 degrees. We stayed in a corner suite so the sun was shinning on those windows all day. They shut the air off 1 October, seems a little odd since each roon has its own unit. We were able to open the sliding glass door and the entry door to cool it down a bit, still was very hot for sleeping. The lodge was built the the late 60s and hasn't been updated since. The screen on the balcony was torn and wouldn't stay on its track, bathroom fixtures leaked and the tile was cracked and poorly patched. Very pricey for the condition, view was excellent, overall we were highly dissappointed with this visit!!! Take the tram and jetboat ride. Oh, I almost forgot, skip the restautant, view is nice, but since there was no AC, it was about 105 degrees in there also. The food was just so-so and again pricey for what you get, and I do mean for what you get, they were out of most items.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest Lodge

Address: 177 West Main St, Ansted, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ansted
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Highway 19 outside of Beckley into the mountains and Hawks Nest State Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest Hotel Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.