We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all good (but the grub)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawks Nest Lodge

Hawks Nest Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawks Nest Lodge
Save
You added Hawks Nest Lodge to your Saves list
177 West Main St, Ansted, WV   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ansted
Andersonville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's all good (but the grub)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My parents and I stayed in a suite for our family reunion at Hawk's Nest and it was a lovely place to stay. The view is phenomenal, the price of the rooms was good, the staff was very helpful and accommodating, and the pool was relaxing. A couple of pieces of advice, though: 1. The restaurant is not good at all (although the free breakfast gets the job done). If the food were better, I would have given them 5 stars. 2. If you need a handicap-accessible room, let them know to put you in a room on the 3rd floor! We didn't know and wound up on the first floor. It was probably the hardest room to get to and it took my Mom a long time to get there. We'll be back in 3 years for our next reunion!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

When we checked in and went to our room, the temperature in the room was about 105 degrees, outside temp was around 70 degrees. We stayed in a corner suite so the sun was shinning on those windows all day. They shut the air off 1 October, seems a little odd since each roon has its own unit. We were able to open the sliding glass door and the entry door to cool it down a bit, still was very hot for sleeping. The lodge was built the the late 60s and hasn't been updated since. The screen on the balcony was torn and wouldn't stay on its track, bathroom fixtures leaked and the tile was cracked and poorly patched. Very pricey for the condition, view was excellent, overall we were highly dissappointed with this visit!!! Take the tram and jetboat ride. Oh, I almost forgot, skip the restautant, view is nice, but since there was no AC, it was about 105 degrees in there also. The food was just so-so and again pricey for what you get, and I do mean for what you get, they were out of most items.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

For years we have thought of West Virginia as the state that you zip through on I-77 as we went somewhere else. This year, we finally discovered this magical gem.

We were in WV in January (-6 degrees!) but knew we had to come back. We found Hawk's Nest SP on the internet and the minute we walked in the front door we were like children going from window to window saying "look at this! look at that!"

The views are spectacular, you overlook the river and those beautiful WV mountains. The people? They don't get any friendlier, whether Steven at the front desk or any of the other guests - I have never been anywhere with friendlier people.

The room was great, immaculate, large bath, very comfy bed, of course the views! When you go (not "if" but "when") you must take the aerial tram and the jetboat. We are already planning to return in the fall. What a gem!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

The good people of WV could not be nicer; at the lodge or any surrounding venue. The lodge must have been one hoppin joint in the early 70's. By today's, just average standards, these rooms are small, bathrooms tiny, and all very tired. Some may find this quaint, some may find this a dump. All in what one expects for $85 a night.

Cannot argue with the location, views are fantastic. Tram is small and again, either quaint or down right scary. Restaurant is the greatest disappointment. Breakfast buffet might be half of what you might get at a Fairfield or a Hampton. Poor quality and no service whatsoever. Dinner... same... could have sworn they microwaved up Stoffer's and put it on a plate. Some may find perfectly acceptable, we thought exceptionally poor quality and worse value. Great restaurants 20 minutes away over in Fayatteville.

We travel extensively on business and for pleasure, therefore, we stay at a variety of hotels from the Ritz to the Days Inn. Value for dollar is correct measure. This place was not expensive by most measures, but not high on value either. We wanted it to be so much more... unfortunately it was not.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We traveled to the Hawk's Nest Lodge in June with a seniors group. We had no time to explore the area, but was intrigued with the many things we saw from the window of the motorcoach. I wrote down points of interest with the intention to return again someday. We came back in Dec. and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and fell in love with the lodge and the area. We had a heating problem our first night but the staff was VERY accomodating and made sure the rest of our stay was fabulous. The staff at this lodge are spectacular. They made us feel right at home and told us places to check out in the area that only locals would know about. We stayed 3 days and did not want to leave. I am looking forward to returning again, perhaps in the fall. We have seen the area now in the summer and the winter and find it to be so picture perfect for either season. We had the priviledge of having snow the 3 days in the winter and felt it was there just for us. We will be back!!!

  • Liked — The rustic atmosphere and the wonderful staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay here. The corner suite had great views, plenty of space, and was clean and presentable. Groundhogs and raccoons on the grass outside the room offered free entertainment! There some noise intrusion from hotel equipment, but nothing serious.
Access to many of the rooms is via an ugly, large, concrete staircase that looks like it’s escaped from a 1960s tenement block. It’s an obstacle to disabled folk, or anyone with a large suitcase. There are, however, disabled access rooms elsewhere in the lodge.
The restaurant is spaciously laid out, has an excellent view, and provided good food and service.
The actual State Park is strung out along the main road and has little to offer except a couple of good views. Indeed, to get from one end to the other you have to risk either walking on the main road or taking the long, slightly arduous and poorly maintained “Cliff Side Trail”.
Folks of any age should go upriver on The Miss M Rocks jetboat, which leaves from the bottom of the Aerial Tramway (not Wednesdays).

  • Liked — The views and the restaurant
  • Disliked — That awful staircase!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2006

My family and I truly enjoyed our three-day stay at the Hawks Nest State Park Lodge. We had a 2 bedrm suite whiched faced the forest and pool area. The room was very simple, but comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and we would rate their customer service on the high end of the spectrum. The view from the upper deck (tram area) of the lodge was beautiful and very picturesque. We had breakfast in their dining room and were pleased with the service, food, and view. Overall, we would stay at Hawks Nest again and feel comfortable recommending since the price was reasonable. Overall, our experience was restful, clean, and a happy one.

Our family spent most of the daytime hours at the ACE Adventure Center in Oak Hill (approx. 45 minutes from the lodge) enjoying rafting, horseback riding, etc.) and came back to the lodge at night to rest around the pool, refresh ourselves, and get a good nights sleep. ACE would also be another great place to stay if you are going to be going rafting while you're in the area. Watch your speed on highway 19 around the Gauley Bridge area, there is a major speed trap there and they will ticket you for just going a couple miles over the speed limit. Eat at Dirty Ernies too if you get a chance. The bldg. looks bad from the road but once inside, you will like the atmosphere, staff, and food.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawks Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawks Nest Lodge

Address: 177 West Main St, Ansted, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Ansted
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ansted
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Highway 19 outside of Beckley into the mountains and Hawks Nest State Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawks Nest Hotel Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawks Nest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.