We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auburn GuestHouse Inn

Save Saved
You added Auburn GuestHouse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auburn GuestHouse Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 - 14th Street NW, Auburn, WA 98001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Auburn
BTM
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice place at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We're kind of basic in our lodging needs. Everything was clean. The room temperature was fine. The beds were comfortable. The plumbing worked. There was hot water for showers. It was surprisingly quiet for its location alongside a busy artery from the freeway to the main drag. Breakfast was one of the best we'd had. The staff was friendly and efficient. It is the best kind of accomodation, there was nothing that we'd improve upon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south may be quieter, but ours on the north side was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, General Manager at Auburn GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Greetings, pcsdpo! We pride ourselves on simplicity. No foo-foo frills or overdone, expensive amenities that add to our room rate. We are glad you can appreciate that here you get what you pay for. A clean room, a happy staff and a deluxe breakfast that we can brag about. Thanks so much for staying with us and taking time to let us know we're doing something right! Happy Spring! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
21
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was in town on business and have been staying in another Hotel close by. I had been quite happy staying there and had planned to make that my regular monthly stay. Only issue I would have is the internet NEVER works. Well this last visit I wasn't certain how long I would stay, 2 days maybe 4. (in a nut shell) I was told I would be okay through Thursday night but not Friday. Wednesday afternoon I was told I had no place to stay as they rented my room out from under me. SERIOUSLY, obsolutely blew me away. And on top of thsat my family had sent me Valentine gifts that for some reason I almost didn't receive even though they were tagged for me from my family and even had my room # on them.

Okay enough history, bottom line is I was upset, hours were being wasted when I should have been working. I had no idea where I was going to set up fot the next day or so. Then my wife looked on Trip Advisor and found The Guesthouse. We explained to "Ashley" what happened and she started hitting the keyboard to find a room to meet my specifications. She was able to make it happen even though they were booking pretty heavy for a ton of high school wrestling kids and families that were in town.

She got exactly what I needed and even had time to bake some awesome cookies! Yes people!!! they bake cookies for you in the lobby. My room was clean, warm, plenty of towels and even extra soap. Oh and guess what else..........they were almost $10 a night less than the other place been staying at. AND did I mention that THEY BAKE COOKIES IN THE LOBBY!


Clean towels, soap, better pice and cookies. yup I found a new home!

Room Tip: It's all pretty good, sweet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, General Manager at Auburn GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Greetings, Tizmyn! I am thrilled to hear that we were able to accommodate you during a very busy weekend! Ashlee has been with us almost 5 years and if there is a way, Ashlee will find it to accommodate you. I'm so happy that she was able to do so. Sporatically, we also serve brownies in the evening in addition to our scrumptious cookies. I hope you get the opportunity to try them on your next stay with us. I am delighted that you will be returning! Thanks so much from the entire staff here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman Lake, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and every staff member from the desk clerk to the maids were very friendly and hospitable I will stay there again next time I'm in Auburn. I never met the manager but They must have a great manager also to have all there staff be so hospitable and helpful. Hotel was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, General Manager at Auburn GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for the kudos, Clay R! We try our very best to treat all of our guests with the kind of respect that you would expect from a 4-star establishment. I'm so happy that you were able to experience this firsthand! Hopefully you will return in the future and I may make your acquaintance. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We really enjoy staying at the Guest House Inn located in Auburn, Washington. The people there are very nice and always willing to make your stay a memorable one. Not to mention, the cookies keep bringing us back, too.

Auburn Guesthouse Inn is the one that we book with regularly and they have also been the reason that Guest House Inn is where we usually book any and all of our stays out on the road. No one else compares to the great service and comfortable rooms that we get here. They are a pet-friendly place, too, and that is very important to us when we choose a place to stay.

They have a great Wi-Fi signal and it's free. Their hot tub is very comfortable. Continental breakfast will fill you up to start the day with plenty of choices from biscuits and gravy. eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, bagels, toast, coffee and juice. The south side rooms have a fantastic view of Mt. Rainier. Restaurants are close enough to walk to. Shopping is only a couple of blocks away and plenty of banking choices nearby. Auburn Guesthouse Inn is truly in an excellent location with plenty of ammenities.

Thanks you guys and thanks to the crew at the Auburn, Washington Guest House. We love being your guests for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, General Manager at Auburn GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello, GizmoPup. It's been a complete joy for all of us to welcome you each time you stay. We very much appreciate all the praise you have given us. You are the reason that it's fun to come to work and attempt to make people happy and cozy. THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week while working in nearby Maple Valley. I found my room to be clean and comfortable, and all the members of the staff I interacted with were very nice to me. The complimentary breakfast is open until 10AM, which I really appreciated - I've stayed in many hotels which close their breakfast at 9 or earlier, and I'm not always an early riser. I recommend the biscuits- they were soft and sweet, if not warm.

The amenities are not much to speak of- the "spa" is really just a small hot tub- but the hotel is a solid, comforting, well priced place to stay. The beds were very comfortable and my room was a good size for just one person. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, General Manager at Auburn GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you, Hannah B! We love to hear from our guests and the fact that your stay was so enjoyable makes us that much more tickled! Please tell your friends about us! We love to hear stories such as yours and hope to please many more people! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had occasion to stay in this hotel on Saturday Dec 1st. The girl that checked us in was worth mentioning. She was so helpful and cheerful that it made us feel good just entering the lobby. As others have said, it was generally a good experience only dampened by a couple of things. The room cooled off in the early morning hours and the one blanket on the bed was insufficient to keep us warm. There were no extra blankets in the room. I tried turning on on the heat and found that it didn't work.so at about 12:30am I went down to the desk and night clerk immediately got us another blanket.
One thing we noted when we entered the room was a distinctly tobacco smell. It was a non smoking room. it was not overpowering but there just the same. but also there was a distinct sewer smell coming from the bathroom. In the am it became very strong and unpleasant. When we checked out, I mentioned it to the girl at the counter and she appeared to be totally disinterested.
All in all this was a very pleasant place to stay, very clean and the morning breakfast was great. The stay was only marred by the sewer smell incident and the feeling that the clerk really wasn't going to do anything about it.
I would definitely stay again.Dollar for dollar it is about as good as it gets for what you pay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, General Manager at Auburn GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you, Brian D, for your feedback! I appreciate your acknowledgement of your check-in Front Desk Agent. We do our best to be on top of our game in the customer service department and I'm happy she hit the mark. As for the chilliness of your room, we now have a least one extra blanket in the dresser drawer of each guestroom. Excellent observation! You will also be happy to know that after much labor, we are proud to call ourselves 100% non-smoking. We are in the middle of a 18-room conversion which includes all new carpet, wall coverings, paint, drapes and pillow-top beds! We are very excited about this change. As for the sewer smell, I am terribly sorry and I am unsure of the source as I haven't heard this before, but I will have my maintenance engineer look into it's cause. I'm sorry that your check-out clerk was not as engaged as she should have been, I like to think that is very atypical of our property. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was a nice place to stay. Wonderful bed, non smoking hotel that did not smell like smoke. Very nice breakfast with wonderful waffles, strawberries and whipped cream. Easy to park, friendly staff. Spotless breakfast room. Older furniture and TV in our room, but for 80 bucks including room, tax and breakfast, it rocked !!

Room Tip: Room 202 on the end was bigger than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorthtoto, General Manager at Auburn GuestHouse Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Greetings, Denelle K! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are proud of our staff and the fact that guests like you appreciate all the hard work we put into making your stay memorable. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auburn GuestHouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn GuestHouse Inn

Address: 9 - 14th Street NW, Auburn, WA 98001
Location: United States > Washington > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auburn GuestHouse Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red-carpet service at Auburn's hometown hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Auburn GuestHouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auburn GuestHouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.