We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Breakfast, Good Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medallion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Medallion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medallion Hotel
16710 Smokey Point Blvd, Arlington, WA 98223 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites Arlington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Arlington
Port Angeles, Wa.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Breakfast, Good Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although the Hotel is located along I-5, I found my room to be nice and quiet.
Big Hotel with something for everyone, pool, spa, restaurant, etc.
Close to the mountains, Tulip fields, and the Factory outlet stores Mall.
Older Hotel that shows it age in places.
When I pointed out a maintenance problem to the front desk it was quickly take care of.

Room Tip: 4 stories with elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
45
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was clean however it's age is showing and it looks and feels old and rundown. The rooms are very expensive for what you get. Breakfast was good however the cooks could not keep up and you had to wait to get food. The hotel staff was pleasant. There was an open office being utilized by a hotel employee. It was a mess and an eye sore. The meeting rooms were poorly light and were old and rundown. The room was very clean and had some updating recently. The bed was comfortable but the bath tub was so small that at 5'4" I didnt fit. I would not recommed this hotel. You can get much more for $150 per night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Medallion Hotel in March; 2013. We love the free shuttle to Angel of the Winds or Tulalip casinos, love that we have a fridge and microwave and love the happy hour appies in the lounge. The 'full moon' of shrimp was enough for dinner and I saved half for a midnite snack! The breakfast could use some work, liked the yoghurt and fresh fruit but the eggs were undoubtably powdered or sure had the texture of something not fresh. The sausage hockey puck was also terrible, I took one bite and did not touch these for the rest of our stay. No ham, as the sign indicated. You can make your own waffles but I passed. Great staff; very helpful with directions and we were moved quickly when some rambunctious 20 somethings moved next to us. Will definitely stay there again but will go to Denny's for breakfast.

Room Tip: All the rooms have soft beds but 315 has one soft bed and one firm bed; perfect for us! Most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my second stay here - last time it was under different ownership. I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit my family in Arlington. The staff is helpful and friendly and the hotel is clean and comfy.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations! The staff was very friendly, the room was spacious, clean & comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel, The Cellar, was AMAZING! Best meal we had on our whole trip! The complimentary buffet breakfast in the morning was great with hot and cold items. The pool was very small but adequate size although we didn't have time to use. Very good value for your money! We wouldn't stay anywhere else next time we are in the Arlington area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

From calling and reserving to check-in everything went very smoothly. Front desk staff highly accommodating and very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean and quite spacious for a family with two teenagers and the masses of shopping bags from the outlet malls. The bathroom was small - one person at a time but we managed. We stayed right beside the elevator and it was still exceptionally quiet (although the hotel was full) TV was good (flatscreen). The beds were amazingly comfy and there were masses of pillows (we usually have to ask for more yet here we had more than we needed). Workout room was nice and the machines were in good running order. Pool and hot tub were small but clean. Wi-fi was free and fast. Loved that the coffeepot in the bathroom was stainless steel and didn't smell of coffee. I was able to make my tea in the pot and it tasted like tea. Breakfast was an extension of the usual continental breakfast with eggs, bacon and sausages offered. No real juice but juice cocktails which is no biggie considering breakfast was free. The lady in charge of the breakfast area kept the area clean and tables were cleared quickly for other diners. Was VERY impressed that they used porcelain plates and real knives and forks - no plastic or styrofoam added to the landfills. Did not try the restaurant next door. Was only 7 minutes from the outlet mall and the Tulalip Casino. Checkout was a breeze. Considering the hotel was fully booked (Easter weekend) it certainly didn't have that feel to it although it was a bit busy at breakfast but that is to be expected. Overall it was a great stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great location, close to lots of shopping. Check in was quick with very friendly clerk. Room was bigger than expected and very clean. Loved that there were two sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside, and each had their own hairdryer. Great for two women travelling together as you can both get ready at the same time! Really big tv. Bed and linens were very comfortable. And they have DVDs that you can borrow at the front desk which is really nice. And we also loved the early check in and the late check out-those were really appreciated!

Overall we really liked the Medallion and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Medallion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medallion Hotel

Address: 16710 Smokey Point Blvd, Arlington, WA 98223 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites Arlington)
Location: United States > Washington > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Medallion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medallion Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medallion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.