We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Kangaroo Farm

Outback Kangaroo Farm
10030 State Route 530 NE, Arlington, WA 98223
(360) 403-7474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 attractions in Arlington
Type: Farms
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Washington Sate
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Educational and wonderful, run by a super nice couple too! A must see for the family or anyone and not that far from Seattle - an easy drive on I-5.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
koosh22
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We live about 20 minutes from the Kangaroo Farm and have been there about 4 times this past summer with our 3 year old. Don't go expecting the San Diego Zoo. This is a family owned farm in the country. There is dirt. There is poop. There are animals. My son loves the peacocks which are every where and he loves petting and feeding the kangaroos. I would not go there if it has rained within 2 or 3 days. Where shoes that you do not love because you will step in poop. Have an extra pair of shoes in the car. Have sanitizer. Have fun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our visit to the Outback Kangaroo Farm was an amazing, insightful, and hands-on exotic animal adventure. The morning was misty and rainy, but it was one of the best mornings spent in my memory. The owners have rescued some of these animals by people who didn't want them anymore (gotta love people)! The primary concern is the animal's welfare and it is asked of parents to control their children as running and screaming frighten the animals. The owner very tactfully enforced this request which made me glad to see the animals' welfare comes first. During our tour we fed and petted the kangaroos and wallabies ( our main reason for the visit), but the goats, pony and llama were also highlights.

The star attraction was the 6 month old wallaby (around 2 pounds and size of my hand) that was brought out and we all were able to hold the baby in it's little handmade pouch where it is kept warm. Again, children were very closely supervised and shown how to be gentle.

It was an absolutely wonderful experience and for the $9 admission, the farm about sharing and education - definitely not to get rich off of visitors. If anyone can afford to give more I'm sure it would be appreciated for the owners are truly doing a wonderful job. No, it's not fancy, yes it is a little muddy when wet - but c'mon people - it's a zoo and it is all about the animals! The animals and owners are fantastic! Thanks for a sharing your animals with us!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome farm and family (furry and human ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had some family members visiting from out of town and thought this place would be a great way to entertain all ages (we had babies to grandmas with us). It was awesome! It's very affordable, the farm is very clean, the owners are very nice, and getting to pet and see the animals up close was more than amazing. The kangaroos and wallabies were the highlights for sure, but they have donkeys, lemurs, llamas, and peacocks (who roam freely and when they're feathers are displayed, they are especially gorgeous). We were able to hand feed the kangaroos, wallabies, and llamas with no gates/barriers in between us - they let everyone stand in the same habitat as the animals. We highly recommend and plan to return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Exotic Animals Galore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've never seen this variety of exotic animals outside of a zoo and, unlike zoos, contact was up close and personal. A little too personal in some cases. Petting is fine for those who choose to do so, but the owner encouraged us to hold pellets in our mouths and feed the llamas mouth to mouth. Spare me. It was rainy and we slogged through our fair share of mud where pavement would have been nice. The gift shop was overly cutesy and really gloomy. The up side was the variety of animals, which was great. This is an interesting place to spend a comprehensive guided tour and the guy who hosts the tour really knows his business. The price was right and it was fun to see such tame exotic animals.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Kangaroo Farm also viewed

 

Been to Outback Kangaroo Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Kangaroo Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Outback Kangaroo Farm to your Saves list