We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graet Gtreek family style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Islands

Greek Islands
2001 Commercial Ave, Anacortes, WA 98221
(360) 293-6911
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 restaurants in Anacortes
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Graet Gtreek family style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Comfortable family restaurant. Large portions.I enjoyed everything we had. They were busy and we still were served promptly and courteously.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    71
    23
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Greek food with friendly service in a characterful room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food at Greek Islands is really, really good. It's straightforward traditional Greek food - hummus, pita, souvlaki, moussaka - everything you'd expect on a Greek menu - but the key is that the ingredients are fresh and the dishes are cooked with care. The vegetables were al dente and delicious, the potatoes were lemon-y, the hummus was something to write home about, and the moussaka was aromatic and savoury. The service was excellent - attentive, polite, and very forgiving of our incomprehensible British accents and wriggly three-year-old.

The restaurant seems a little tacky at first glance - all those flowers and ornaments - but it makes it more informal (despite a lot of 'reserved' signs on tables and large groups of seniors who had clearly come for special occasions). It's obviously very popular with the locals, which has to be a good sign. I'm very glad we went.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tasting greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great greek food, I had the Chicken Souvlaki, the chicken was so succulent and very tasty. The houmous and pitta we had as an appetizer was very good too

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Greece in our backyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

On a rainy evening going to the ferry we stopped here for dinner.
It is a small family run restaurant, cozy inside.
We ordered Moussaka and a Roast Leg of Lamb. Both dishes came with soup or a Greek salad,
we chose the latter.
The salads were delicious.
The Moussaka was very good, I had a few bites from my partner,s meal. She commented on
how good it was.
My roast leg of lamb was fabulous. The portion was large, cooked to perfection, served with a special Au jus sauce, it was so good.
We will certainly eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We started with stuffed grape leaves and flaming cheese. They brought us warm homemade pitas. We both had lamb gyro meals. It was all so very good. I couldn't eat all of mine. It was so filling.

The service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands also viewed

 

Been to Greek Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.