We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic retreat on an Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guemes Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anacortes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guemes Island Resort
4268 Guemes Island Road, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rustic retreat on an Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family has been visiting Guemes Island Resort every summer for years. Views of Mt. Baker and the San Juan Islands from the cabins near the water are spectacular. These cabins are generally run down, and although the owners have recently done a good job with minor renovations and new landscaping, at some point they should probably be replaced. Furnishings in Cabin #2 were worn and the cabin seemed overpriced. The newer cabins, although lacking the view and more expensive, are wonderful. My husband and I stayed in the Matia cabin, which was quiet, pleasantly furnished and has a steam shower and hot tub. It sleeps 4, but is small and perfect for 2. The Yurts are good for the experience of camping in the woods with the comforts of a bed, lighting and small heater. Our favorite activities include cycling around the island (scenic, with very few cars) with a stop at the General Store for ice cream or a cold drink, kayaking to Jack Island (free kayaks available at the resort), walking on the beach and relaxing around the campfire in the evenings. A game room with a ping pong table and a sauna are available for guest use. Dogs are welcomed, which can be a plus or minus depending on your point of view. Holly does a great job of helping with anything you might need. The resort has a small store with some good wines. There is a larger selection of groceries at the General Store if you forget something; they also serve food. Guemes Island is a nice getaway from Seattle without the long ferry lines and long ferry rides.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The resort is really great with spectacular views and very quaint! I went there last weekend and stayed in the Matia. This cabin was fairly new had a 2 person hot tub. It was small but nice. The scenery is really great and we lucked out with perfect weather all weekend!
This weekend we decided to go back and stay at the Baker House for some more room and we were right on the beach. Well, the place needs some MAJOR updating but it was good with a huge window overlooking the ocean.
I honestly would have given this place all 5 star reviews but our weekend was ruined by a group of people that pretty much dominated the whole resort! They were loud and had no respect for anyone else there nor did they care if anyone else enjoyed themselves! We came there to relax but this group was always directly in front of our house so we had NO peace and quiet nor could we enjoy the tranquility of the water! The first night this group decided to run around the resort naked at 1am with yelling and laughing that woke us up.
There was only one couple with 2 kids this weekend and they obviously wanted to play in the rec room which was equipped with fooze (sp) ball, ping pong, etc...well, it started sprinkling outside so that whole group (8-10 ppl) went in the rec room. The kids and their parents tried to go in there but that group was so loud and obnoxious and playing on the games that the kids had to leave!!! That was so sad seeing one if the little boys walking out if there with this sad face!! I was really taken aback that those people didn't see the kids and let them play!!
Then that night, we had to endure them
Partying at their house!! It was raining so the group stayed indoors but opened their windows so the rest of the guests had to listen to them partying!!! We were the "lucky" ones that were right beside them so, needless to say, our weekend was ruined and after paying nearly $200 a night and being kept up both nights, I am very disappointed!
We would have been frequent visitors there but after this weekend, I very much doubt it!
I have to mention the manager, Holly. Although nothing was done about that group, she is a non stop working machine!!! She was there both weekends and she does everything!! She runs the office, heats the sauna, hears the Dutch tub, prepares all the cabins for people's arrivals, gets wood for fire pit, takes boats out for people that want to get on the water, checks all hot tubs and does it all very professionally without ever interrupting your visit or annoying you! She is really super woman and I hope her boss knows what an amazing job she does!!!
I hate that we will not be coming back but after a weekend of not being able to relax and enjoy ourselves because of a group that was so rude & loud but they should have been kicked out after the first night! I definitely wouldn't have expected Holly to do it but the owner should have!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Wyoming
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had friends tell us about this place for a rustic relaxing experience. We were for the most part, not disappointed. We arrived to a nice warm rustic cabin (#6) which they got a fire going ahead of time. (Be aware, that if you get one of the beachfront cabins, they are about 90% heated by woodstove- there are 2 radiant heat wall "pads" that help with the bathroom and living room).

The view outside the large windows is spectacular.. one of the best of the beachfront cabins, from my perspective. There is a large grassy area just outside the row of cabins that have chairs and picnic tables scattered around. Also, a good place for the pups to run around. The beach is only a few feet past this area... very close!

The cabin: Rustic... but overall, nice and fairly comfortable. We felt it could have used some touchups and adjustments without alot of effort/cost...

- The concrete "wall" beneath the windows looks unfinished. There is no wood siding along it like everywhere else in the cabin.

-The woodstove backing.. had writing all over it.. like construction board. Kinda tacky.

- water heater for the shower was about 4 minutes til it ran cold. Hard for 2 people to get clean in that amount of time. It did reheat rather quickly though.

-furniture... beds and linens were comfortable, but the couch was not. It was like a futon wood frame with uncomfortable cushions. . we liked they left a sheet to put down for the pups to use it. The two chairs were nice, but facing away from the window.. could have been designed a little better, as these places are all about the view.


Bathroom was tiny, but functional. sink was even tinier. Shower was concrete, and was OK.. but the bottom half looked to have quite a few mildew stains from over the years. Not a huge deal, but it could probably could use a deep scrub and/or painted to look better with a little effort.

Bring your dogs.. this place is very dog friendly, which is refreshing. The Recreation room was nice.. games, TV, ping pong... and a great view out the windows.

The check in has a small little store.. some good wines and beers, and a few other cool little items. People were friendly.. no problems.

Overall, very happy with our stay. The things listed above were pretty minor, and may seem a little petty.... but when added up I felt worth taking off 1 star for the price you are paying (which overall, isn't terribly high... but high enough that I felt the issues were worth mentioning).

Room Tip: bring your own food, and woodstove skills if staying in a cabin. Check the ferry schedule before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a ladies retreat weekend. It was wonderful! We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, outdoorsy place to spend our time. We were not disappointed. This resort was just what we were looking for. We stayed in one of the large main houses with a large kitchen-we needed space to cook for 15 people and plenty of cooking supplies. The main house had everything we needed. This house was right on the water-so close that sometimes it felt like we were on a boat! Holly, the resort manager was simply delightful-friendly, helpful, and a joy to converse with! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Guemes Island Resort is the kind of place you don't come across much any more: quiet, rustic, and incredibly scenic. When I'm stressed out and feeling spread too thin, I imagine that I'm back at the resort losing fishing gear in the surf and waiting for my homemade bread to rise back in the cabin. It's a place where time slows down and you can spend a whole day watching the clouds move over the water.

The cabins aren't cheap and they aren't particularly luxurious, but they come with some amazing amenities: water views, a private beach, a sauna, kayaks and rowboats, a recreation room with ping pong and foosball tables, a huge pile of firewood to burn in your fireplace. It's like summer camp for adults. The cabins all have decently outfitted kitchens, and if you forget something essential (beer, garlic for the marinade, balsamic vinegar), you will almost certainly be able to pick it up at Anderson's Store or the on-site market.

I had to laugh at another review that said there's nothing to do on Guemes. If you're looking for movie theaters and shopping malls and restaurants then no, you won't find much to do there. But if you enjoy walking on the beach, fishing, paddling, crabbing, ping pong, toasting marshmallows, or just curling up to the fire with a good book, then you're in luck ... you can do all of things without even leaving the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Manager Holly and all the staff were incredibly flexible and supportive at our three day family celebration at Guemes Island Resort. We warned our East Coast relatives ahead of time that this is not a cushy hotel, but a comfortable family environment, and they adapted! ( There are several new units that are, indeed, cushy, even with steam showers! The bride and groom occupied one of these! And the Salish house, which easily sleeps 8, was also spotless, lovely, modern with a dishwasher, too.) We reserved the whole resort for three days, and rented 5 other houses on the island, rented a van from U-Save Car and Truck Rental in Anacortes, port-a-potties from Wizards of Ooze, party tent and supplies from Pacific Party Canopies, and had an amazingly wonderful one-of-a-kind wedding celebration for 160 people! We used the resort's crab pots and row boats to catch the crabs for our paella, the straits of juan de fuca to soak our corn on the cob which we roasted on the resort's grills, the resort's crab cleaning station to prepare food, their activity room and freezer for extra prep space, their sauna and hot tub to relax in, the gorgeous views to inspire all. Wow! Thank you, Guemes Island Resort!

Room Tip: If you want a new cabin, pay a little more for beautifully built and furnished one bedroom spots. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our family has been going to Guemes Island practically every summer for years. It is a revamped rustic fishing camp turned into a family vacation spot. Part of the charm of Guemes is the laid back feel and the lack of urban amenities. It is more like very cushy camping than going to a five star hotel - but they let you know that up front and the prices reflect that. If you are looking for room service and urban amenities you will hate Guemes Island Resort. If you are looking for a beautiful, rural, peaceful escape with a lot of outdoor activities this is a great spot! Another reviewer complained about the lack of businesses on the island but that makes much of it's charm. As far as lack of hospitals, there is a helicopter on call 24 hours a day for emergencies to take you straight across the water to a hospital on the mainland. Plus, for less urgent emergencies the ferry is on-call 24 hours a day to get across to a hospital. I also saw someone said there is nothing fun for kids to do - our 8 year old daughter would argue with that! Kayaking, canoeing, fishing, ping-pong and other games in the recreation room, horse shoes, a kids play area at Schoolyard Park, biking, hiking playing on the beach, plus live music on weekends at the one general store. Our daughter likes to bring lots of books and art supplies and spread out on the outdoor picnic tables with a view of the water and mountains right in front of her too. There are no video arcades, movie theaters, theme park rides or malls for shopping so if that's your thing you and your kids will be incredibly bored.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guemes Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guemes Island Resort

Also Known As:
Guemes Island Hotel
Guemes Island Hotel Anacortes
Address: 4268 Guemes Island Road, Anacortes, WA 98221
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guemes Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guemes Island Resort to your Saves list