We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing place. Dog heaven.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guemes Island Resort

Guemes Island Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anacortes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Guemes Island Resort
Save Saved
You added Guemes Island Resort to your Saves list
4268 Guemes Island Road, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel amenities
Alta, Wyoming
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing place. Dog heaven.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had friends tell us about this place for a rustic relaxing experience. We were for the most part, not disappointed. We arrived to a nice warm rustic cabin (#6) which they got a fire going ahead of time. (Be aware, that if you get one of the beachfront cabins, they are about 90% heated by woodstove- there are 2 radiant heat wall "pads" that help with the bathroom and living room).

The view outside the large windows is spectacular.. one of the best of the beachfront cabins, from my perspective. There is a large grassy area just outside the row of cabins that have chairs and picnic tables scattered around. Also, a good place for the pups to run around. The beach is only a few feet past this area... very close!

The cabin: Rustic... but overall, nice and fairly comfortable. We felt it could have used some touchups and adjustments without alot of effort/cost...

- The concrete "wall" beneath the windows looks unfinished. There is no wood siding along it like everywhere else in the cabin.

-The woodstove backing.. had writing all over it.. like construction board. Kinda tacky.

- water heater for the shower was about 4 minutes til it ran cold. Hard for 2 people to get clean in that amount of time. It did reheat rather quickly though.

-furniture... beds and linens were comfortable, but the couch was not. It was like a futon wood frame with uncomfortable cushions. . we liked they left a sheet to put down for the pups to use it. The two chairs were nice, but facing away from the window.. could have been designed a little better, as these places are all about the view.


Bathroom was tiny, but functional. sink was even tinier. Shower was concrete, and was OK.. but the bottom half looked to have quite a few mildew stains from over the years. Not a huge deal, but it could probably could use a deep scrub and/or painted to look better with a little effort.

Bring your dogs.. this place is very dog friendly, which is refreshing. The Recreation room was nice.. games, TV, ping pong... and a great view out the windows.

The check in has a small little store.. some good wines and beers, and a few other cool little items. People were friendly.. no problems.

Overall, very happy with our stay. The things listed above were pretty minor, and may seem a little petty.... but when added up I felt worth taking off 1 star for the price you are paying (which overall, isn't terribly high... but high enough that I felt the issues were worth mentioning).

Room Tip: bring your own food, and woodstove skills if staying in a cabin. Check the ferry schedule before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a ladies retreat weekend. It was wonderful! We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, outdoorsy place to spend our time. We were not disappointed. This resort was just what we were looking for. We stayed in one of the large main houses with a large kitchen-we needed space to cook for 15 people and plenty of cooking supplies. The main house had everything we needed. This house was right on the water-so close that sometimes it felt like we were on a boat! Holly, the resort manager was simply delightful-friendly, helpful, and a joy to converse with! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Guemes Island Resort is the kind of place you don't come across much any more: quiet, rustic, and incredibly scenic. When I'm stressed out and feeling spread too thin, I imagine that I'm back at the resort losing fishing gear in the surf and waiting for my homemade bread to rise back in the cabin. It's a place where time slows down and you can spend a whole day watching the clouds move over the water.

The cabins aren't cheap and they aren't particularly luxurious, but they come with some amazing amenities: water views, a private beach, a sauna, kayaks and rowboats, a recreation room with ping pong and foosball tables, a huge pile of firewood to burn in your fireplace. It's like summer camp for adults. The cabins all have decently outfitted kitchens, and if you forget something essential (beer, garlic for the marinade, balsamic vinegar), you will almost certainly be able to pick it up at Anderson's Store or the on-site market.

I had to laugh at another review that said there's nothing to do on Guemes. If you're looking for movie theaters and shopping malls and restaurants then no, you won't find much to do there. But if you enjoy walking on the beach, fishing, paddling, crabbing, ping pong, toasting marshmallows, or just curling up to the fire with a good book, then you're in luck ... you can do all of things without even leaving the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Manager Holly and all the staff were incredibly flexible and supportive at our three day family celebration at Guemes Island Resort. We warned our East Coast relatives ahead of time that this is not a cushy hotel, but a comfortable family environment, and they adapted! ( There are several new units that are, indeed, cushy, even with steam showers! The bride and groom occupied one of these! And the Salish house, which easily sleeps 8, was also spotless, lovely, modern with a dishwasher, too.) We reserved the whole resort for three days, and rented 5 other houses on the island, rented a van from U-Save Car and Truck Rental in Anacortes, port-a-potties from Wizards of Ooze, party tent and supplies from Pacific Party Canopies, and had an amazingly wonderful one-of-a-kind wedding celebration for 160 people! We used the resort's crab pots and row boats to catch the crabs for our paella, the straits of juan de fuca to soak our corn on the cob which we roasted on the resort's grills, the resort's crab cleaning station to prepare food, their activity room and freezer for extra prep space, their sauna and hot tub to relax in, the gorgeous views to inspire all. Wow! Thank you, Guemes Island Resort!

Room Tip: If you want a new cabin, pay a little more for beautifully built and furnished one bedroom spots. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our family has been going to Guemes Island practically every summer for years. It is a revamped rustic fishing camp turned into a family vacation spot. Part of the charm of Guemes is the laid back feel and the lack of urban amenities. It is more like very cushy camping than going to a five star hotel - but they let you know that up front and the prices reflect that. If you are looking for room service and urban amenities you will hate Guemes Island Resort. If you are looking for a beautiful, rural, peaceful escape with a lot of outdoor activities this is a great spot! Another reviewer complained about the lack of businesses on the island but that makes much of it's charm. As far as lack of hospitals, there is a helicopter on call 24 hours a day for emergencies to take you straight across the water to a hospital on the mainland. Plus, for less urgent emergencies the ferry is on-call 24 hours a day to get across to a hospital. I also saw someone said there is nothing fun for kids to do - our 8 year old daughter would argue with that! Kayaking, canoeing, fishing, ping-pong and other games in the recreation room, horse shoes, a kids play area at Schoolyard Park, biking, hiking playing on the beach, plus live music on weekends at the one general store. Our daughter likes to bring lots of books and art supplies and spread out on the outdoor picnic tables with a view of the water and mountains right in front of her too. There are no video arcades, movie theaters, theme park rides or malls for shopping so if that's your thing you and your kids will be incredibly bored.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is one of the best family retreats in the Pacific Northwest. We love the cozy cabins with real fireplaces, the long beach walks, the trips to the "mountain" up the great trail made by Skagit Land Trust, the kayak trips right off the beach, and most of all the the mornings and nights of quietness, stars, mist and fantastic views of the San Juans. The owners are kid and dog friendly and the price can't be beat. A one a kind place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Since visiting guemes island resort we are constantly telling other families from around the country to go there. It is my idea of a perfect family vacation. The experience harkens back to what I imagine the resorts in the Catskills to be in the '50's. The setting is breathtaking. The houses and cottages are nicely appointed with everything you need. The resort store has an amazing selection of wine, beer, chocolate, coffee, ice cream and cheese which pretty much covers all my needs! There are loads of games available for all ages, we often enjoyed a game of bocce or croquet with grown ups and children playing together. You can spend hours walking on the beach looking for agates. There are non-motorized boats available to use which is great fun, and ample hiking trails. The resort has a delightful building just for massage and if you ask one of the friendly staff they will set up an appointment to fit your schedule.

Overall Guemes Island Resort is just a great place to go and relax and get away to be with your family. it's the sort of place where my son goes out after breakfast and finds other kids to play with on the Beach or in the communal areas of the resort, checks back in for lunch, then heads out again until dark and I never have to worry about him. We often go during open crabbing season and get a license in anacortes, row one of the resort boats out and set a crab trap, then spend our afternoons picking crab and drinking wine on the porch while we chat and admire the views and listen to the kids play until dark. What more could you ask for from a vacation?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guemes Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guemes Island Resort

Address: 4268 Guemes Island Road, Anacortes, WA 98221
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Anacortes
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Guemes Island Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guemes Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.