We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Gem in Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Majestic Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Commercial Avenue, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Anacortes
Salem
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Renovated Gem in Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

A very nicely updated hotel in the old downtown area of Anacortes. The room was a little crowded, but nicely furnished. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was only muffins and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    64
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
106
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Unfortunately I have never stayed at the hotel. We called to reserve a room two months in advance of the upcoming jazz festival. The clerk took the reservation --"the last room available"-- and promised to e-mail a confirmation. No e-mail came, so we called again. The clerk confirmed the reservation. About a week later (still no e-mail) we received a call stating there was a mix up. The clerk said the hotel was book that night for a wedding party. To add insult to injury, a week later another hotel clerk called to cancel our reservation – a second time – apparently this time because the Ferrari Club booked the entire hotel. Apparently, there is a communication problem with the hotel staff. I called to talk with the manager – who never bothered to call me back. You call that customer service?

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Yes, this Inn is located right in the heart of the old downtown on the main street bordering several fine restaurants and large antique shops. Can't say where the photo of the Inn used in their website came from, probably 100 years ago because it is presently cheek to cheek surrounded with other commercial buildings and parking lots just as you would expect a downtown building to be.
Do you get what you paid for? No. At the per night rate of bordering $200, I personally was expecting more. First, let's get rid of a couple of reviewers comments one who states there was no parking. I agree the Inn's parking lot was barely adequate, but past that, there was plenty of street parking available within less than a block and right across the street. Although the Inn appeared to be full. we did not have a problem finding a space on their lot. Next, the claim the elevator did not reach the top floor. Quite untrue. There are 4 floors and the elevator went to the top.
POSITIVES
Very clean and orderly, excellent decor throughout with vaulted ceilings, comfortable bed and sheets, plush towels, large modern TV and DVD player both which worked well, friendly desk staff, restaurant and spa on premises, modern bathroom, quiet during the daytime, comfortable small charming lounge area doubles as service for their continental breakfast, very small lounge.
NEGATIVES
In our experience, even the most modest hotels with continental breakfast were feasts compared to the Majestic Inn & Spa. Coffee, tea and blueberry muffins. I heard they had fruit, but there was none at the table. That was it, and if the small coffee pump pot was empty, you would have to notify the single desk clerk who would then vacate her post to take the pot for a refill in another area and return, about a 5 minute delay in our case. If you crave more than this very meager selection, you will not be satisfied at the Inn as their on-premises restaurant does not open for breakfast. We did not eat at the Majestic on-premises restaurant as we found the prices to be expensive and the selections to be limited. The lunch and dinner menus for the restaurant were never available until exactly before opening for seating. Much too tedious and time constraining for us. You can find excellent breakfast and dinner choices outside of the Inn on the main street. For dinner,we discovered the Greek Islands Restaurant about a mile down the street which was incredible with beautiful decor, adequate seating, the most friendly staff, and great tasting selections at an average $14 price tag per person. Get there early to miss the line of hungry folks waiting for seating often going out the door. We would visit that restaurant often if we lived in the area.
As for our room at the Inn, it was small with just enough room to walk around the king size bed. There was no sofa or upholstered easy chair, but there was a plain cane chair without cushions that lacked for comfort and a padded desk chair. We can't remember the last time we were in a hotel without a coffee maker. No coffee maker, but there were 2 coffee cups on a small tray. Very disappointing. There were no beverage glasses to be found anywhere in the room. There was no air conditioning but a ceiling fan and portable fan found in the closet would be helpful on a hot evening. There was no mini refrigerator in the room. There were no beverage or snack dispensing machines to be found so plan on bringing your own. We hardly slept a wink with the noise level during the night. We had a main street side room and encountered the shouting of obscenities of apparently drunk young men on the street until 2AM. It was very loud even though we were on the 3rd floor. At 2:15AM, an obvious Harley Davidson cycle rider revving up his engine below our window. At 2:30AM we realized how thin the walls were when our next door occupant returned to his room slamming the door behind him, and turning on the shower or bathtub for the next 20 minutes which was as audible as if we had turned ours on.
The bottom line here is I feel we paid the posh rate for standard fare and I was disappointed. With so many amenities lacking, this room should have cost far less.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My partner and I booked a 2 night stay at the Majestic Spa and Inn for R&R. We sure found it there. We had a cute but small room on the 4th floor over looking Commerical Street. Our room was clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We found out there is a super lounge area on the top floor of the hotel that guests could use. Wish we had known this so we could of shared a glass of wine in the evening up there. There's no bar fridge in our room but the hotel had shared freezer in the hallway for guests to use. We didn't eat at the restaurant or try the Spa but both looked very inviting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

My husband and I had booked a room here for 4 nights and we're so looking forward to a beautiful view and a restful stay. We were so bummed. The room had a sliver of a view of the water which was way in the distance and the room was very small. I would have spent much of my time sitting on the bed facing the bathroom and that just wasn't going to happen. We immediately booked another hotel in Lynnwood that had much better accomodations and for half the price! Also, they had some band playing that night that was so loud that we had to shut our windows and balcony door just to get some peace and quiet...if you are a partier you might have enjoyed that noise. The clue that this is a regular event is when you go into the bathroom and they have ear plugs for you to use. Ooops...not what I would consider a pleasant stay. We did, however, very much enjoy walking through the town the next morning before heading out...it was very quaint.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Island, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Stayed one night at this lovely hotel in downtown Anacortes. Our room was small but very comfortable. We had 2 queen beds, small frig, sink, and a small but clean bathroom. Beds were very comfortable with nice linens. Easy walk to many restaurants, bars, shops, galleries. Best part of the stay was the staff. Front desk personnel went above and beyond. Service from every emlpoyee was great. Did not like that there is no real breakfast available. They had a plate of tiny muffins with coffee, that was it for breakfast. No fruit, etc. I would stay here again just because of the atmosphere and location.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Ca
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My family of 5 arrived around 10:00 PM to check in. Our confirmation letter noted 2 adults and 3 children. We hauled our luggage up 1 flight of stairs ( the elevator doesn't go to the top floor). The room had 1 king bed. No roll-away available. Only 1 extra blanket available in the whole hotel. All they would say is "I'm sorry". No manager was available. When pressed that there had to be a manager we were told "not at this time of night. I'm sorry" We ended up getting the last 2 rooms at the Anacortes Ship Harbor Inn whose staff was exceptionally helpful and kind.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Inn and Spa

Address: 419 Commercial Avenue, Anacortes, WA 98221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
#2 Family Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Inn and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Majestic Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.