We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's rare trip advisor lets us down but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites to your Saves list
Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   905 20th St, Anacortes, WA 98221 (Formerly Anaco Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Anacortes
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's rare trip advisor lets us down but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm afraid this time it did. We were torn on where to say in Anacortes. Both restaurants we we wanted to visit were near the Majestic, but the Anaco Inn had better reviews, so we stayed at the Anaco.

First huge negative - the area of town. It's about a mile from the area you'd want to actually be in. Think gas stations, grocery stores, and strip malls.

Second huge negative - the rooms. White washed, ancient furniture, barely there carpet, and obnoxiously loud air conditioning unit. Many doors open to the outside which is doubly negative given the neighborhood. I forfeited my hair clip to keep the curtains closed for fear weirdo neighbors would walk by and look in.

The good? It was clean, or as clean as I'd expect such an aged room to be. It did have a small refrigerator and microwave. The bathtub was actually nice 15-20 years ago when it was installed.

In short? Stay at the Majestic. Every local we ran into laughed when we told them we chose the Anaco instead. The Majestic's location is super, and I'm not sure how the rooms could be worse unless they are dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in our basic room. I am certain that you would have enjoyed the Suites a lot more. I don't think that you would like Majestic Inn either because there are a lot of bars near them and they can get quite rowdy at night. I don't know what locals you have spoken to but we have the best hotel in Anacortes. The only thing that the Majestic Inn has over us is the Spa. We have better everything else. We are centrally located in Anacortes. We have better restaurants and a grocery store just 2 block away. Also, we have a better "bang for the buck".

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    62
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
77
99
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

With no itinerary we just take a yearly road trip to where the wind takes us. We have stayed in every type / priced rooms across the U.S. , and this little gem will be remembered. We had no problems getting an unreserved room the day before the Fourth of July celebrations , and the clerk printed out an itinerary of the towns celebrations got us so we wouldn't miss anything. With the exception of the sprinklers going off at the park on everybody just before the fireworks, we enjoyed our three day stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are always glad to hear that a guest has enjoyed tier stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time. Sorry, about the sprinklers but that is beyond our control.

Thanks
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We only needed this room for one night before an early start on the ferry. The owner/manager stayed up to meet us upon our very late arrival to make sure everything was satisfactory. The room was very clean, bed comfortable...it was simple but perfect for our quick stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Basic Room. We look forward to seeing you again.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We live a ferry ride away and sometimes don't make it all the way home. This is our favorite no muss, no fuss place to stay. Very clean, comfortable beds, nice linens, comforters, quality shampoo/conditioner and soaps, and friendly. We are picky and travel with our own pillows and don't even take them in to this hotel. It is the best place to stay in Anacortes and a good value too! Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a couple of them -- all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you JJCasey for taking the time to put a review on TripAdvisor. It is always good to see you at our Inn. We will continue to do our best to replicate the excellent experience for others. We also look forward to seeing you next time.

Thanks
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Modest hotel with modest prices, a warm welcome, clean, with VERY comfortable beds with high quality cotton sheets and down comforters. I usually don't sleep well in hotel rooms but had a great nice sleep here. Would definitely stay here again if I needed to be in Anacortes. Great Greek restaurant nearby and the fab Adrift restaurant up the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean, comfortable inn near the historic area of Anacortes. The bedding and amenities were of a higher quality than most hotels at a higher price point. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for dinner and sightseeing. We were only in town one evening, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a great review on Tripadvisor. Our housekeeping staff does a great job keeping the rooms clean. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Room was clean and bathroom was spacious probably because it was wheelchair accessible. Things were a bit "dowdy" but again clean. Anacortes is a very small place and there is not a tremendous choice. We stayed 2 nights and left our "do not disturb" sign on the door. When we returned the sign was gone and the door had been left open! I was glad I had taken my purse and our passports etc. with us while we were gone most of the day. Front Desk advised there was a camera out back of the building where our room was located but there is an access alley right there as well. It was an unfortunate mistake by the cleaning staff, however could have resulted in a theft from our room. We would probably try another place or drive 30 minutes and stay in LaConner next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacoinn123, Manager at Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
This is the only negative review that we actually deserve. The do not disturb sign was found in the middle of the parking lot (which I told her) and yes the door was left slightly ajar. I had apologized profusely when the lady in the really nice corvette came and told me what happened and I told the new housekeeper to make sure she closes the door fully. During the 15 years we have been open we have never had anything stolen from our property. I personally don't think that our deluxe queen is old looking. It's the exact same thing as pictured on our website. I'm sure that SJ410 would have enjoyed one of our Suites or a Villa Unit a lot more. Anyway, once again I am sorry that the housekeeper left the door slightly open. I will make sure she doesn't do that again.

Daniel Crawford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites

Address: 905 20th St, Anacortes, WA 98221 (Formerly Anaco Inn)
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anacortes
#4 Family Hotel in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming inn on Fidalgo Island with great view and excellent locatin. AAA rated with Two dimonds. Located in the heart of Anacortes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaco Hotel Anacortes
Anaco Motel Anacortes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Inn Villas And Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.