We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ship House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ship House Bed and Breakfast
12876 Marine Drive, Anacortes, WA 98221   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Anacortes B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The Ship House Inn is a one of a kind B&B! The scenery and views from The Ship House Inn are breath taking to say the least. From the moment we arrived the nautical theme invited us in and made us feel at home. The Inn Captain Oggie greeted us as we arrived and made us feel like family. The accommodations were neat, clean and comfortable. Anacortes is absolutely beautiful with so many things to do and see. Our stay could not have gone any better. What a memorable experience!! Cannot wait to return!!
Thank You Oggie and everyone at The Ship House Inn

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

While the nautical themed rooms are quite nice, so many other things left a poor impression. The "Continental Breakfast" now consists of some fruit, cereal and then mostly frozen foods that one may microwave or toast. To add "insult to injury", half the frozen items listed on the menu were missing. The room (The Oar House), while quaint, was clammy and damp feeling (as were the bath towels). The view and hammock in the back yard was fantastic but the need to dodge the dog poop was discovered too late (yuck!).

This is NOT on par with other B&B's at this price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Ship House - and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in the Captain's cabin. It was clean, quiet, warm and very comfortable. The views are Amazing. Captain Kidd (Oggie) was very helpful and kind.

It is a short drive into town - we prefer to stay at a place that is away from a busy "downtown" (if you could call downtown Anacortes a busy downtown :) ) -- so the Ship House was perfect for what we enjoy on vacation; peace & quiet. And truly beautiful views.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We spent a night here in this wonderfully unique bed-and-breakfast on our anniversary. The decor was nautically themed and the view out the front window was spectacular. We had the Captain's Cabin with a large king bed - you could actually sit up in bed and see out the front window. There was even a set of binoculars there to gaze at passing boats! You couldn't have asked for nicer hosts - the captain Oggie and his wife and cook Maggie went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was homemade salmon quiche and homemade muffins. Coffee, tea and juice were available any time ... and there was also a fridge with frozen waffles and pancakes, etc... The only thing we didn't like was having to leave the cabin to walk to the Poop Deck (bathroom) but other than that the place was fantastic. A very fun and unique place. We would love to return there again in the summertime when we can sit out on the deck and enjoy a warm evening looking out at an incredible view.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

If you are looking for a stay with beautiful people, fantastic food, views to die for and great accommodations, then the Ship House is a must. Firstly we were greeted as if we were family, and the 'Captain' and his 'crew' couldn't do enough for us. We were either shown, or advised, on the best views of Anacortes, and were welcomed into their home so much so that we spent little time in our room. Our room, the Oar House, was large, comfortable and self contained. We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our 3 week road trip around Washington and didn't want to leave! The Inn looks out over the bay of the San Juan Islands and boasts stunning sunrises and sunsets. Check it out, because these people have so much to give it is a gift. Thanks Captain and all the crew. Andrew and Debbie from Australia

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettle Falls, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Needing to get away and tired of the same old blase hotels, my hubby and I chose this B & B after reviewing it online. Headed out and had car trouble. Called to inform host of delay only to be assured it was no problem. Very late arrival to find a gracious host, delicious cheese tray, and tasty bottle of wine to eradicate our bumpy start! The Oar house was beyond nice, it was inviting, cozy, comfortable, and phenomenally unique! Our host and his mates made this stay the most memorable, enjoyable stay we have experienced to date! We have stayed in 5 star facilities that may have pricier accomadations, but they could never match this B&B's ambiance!!! Leaving there was like leaving family and we will definitely return!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Evergreen State
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

What an exerience! Staying on a boat and enjoying the beautiful sunset! Everything was great, including the breakfast.

  • Liked — The views and the unique experience.
  • Disliked — Sleeping on a boat may not be for everyone.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12876 Marine Drive, Anacortes, WA 98221
Location: United States > Washington > Anacortes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Anacortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ship House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.